Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2009, 01:35 PM   #11
Daemon Poster
 
vaio-fx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 515
Default Re: Plug two speakers into one socket on amp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 01001010 View Post
Those aren't professional speakers. You need to stop looking at inflated ratings, because they don't mean jack squat.

If you know what's good for your receiver, you would stay away from those speakers.
I never said they were professional. They work fine with my amp and sound great, they sound so much louder than the Sony ones. I wasn't sking for your opinion on how good they were, I was just asking if I could plug two speakers into the one socket.
__________________

__________________
DESKTOP: Custom Build - HAF 932: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit / Samsung 2433 24" LCD 1920x1200/ 6144 MB RAM DDR3 1600MHz Corsair Dominator/ XFX GTX 260 XXX Edition 896MB/ Intel Core i7 950 @ 4.01GHz/ 500GB Sata II 7200 RPM & 320GB 7200RPM/ 700W Jeantech Storm Modular PSU
vaio-fx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 01:39 PM   #12
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: Plug two speakers into one socket on amp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vaio-fx View Post
I wasn't sking for your opinion on how good they were, I was just asking if I could plug two speakers into the one socket.
Yeah, go ahead. Don't come crying back if your receiver starts to fry.

Quote:
Also it wouldn't be parallel on this amp! it would be series!
Are you not hooking up two speakers to the same output like this?

__________________

__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 01:44 PM   #13
Daemon Poster
 
vaio-fx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 515
Default Re: Plug two speakers into one socket on amp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 01001010 View Post
Yeah, go ahead. Don't come crying back if your receiver starts to fry.



Are you not hooking up two speakers to the same output like this?

What reasoning do you have that suggests these speakers would fry and amplifier? Have you done some reasearch on them on them which demontrates that this particular model of speakers goes around frying amp's? I took them to a party and had the amp on 3/4 - full volume for 6 hours straight - no frying occured, I have also been using them for days, still no frying.

As for the connection, IF I go ahead and plug my Sony ones back in aswel as the proSound ones then I would just plug both bare wires into the same plug.
__________________
DESKTOP: Custom Build - HAF 932: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit / Samsung 2433 24" LCD 1920x1200/ 6144 MB RAM DDR3 1600MHz Corsair Dominator/ XFX GTX 260 XXX Edition 896MB/ Intel Core i7 950 @ 4.01GHz/ 500GB Sata II 7200 RPM & 320GB 7200RPM/ 700W Jeantech Storm Modular PSU
vaio-fx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 01:49 PM   #14
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: Plug two speakers into one socket on amp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vaio-fx View Post
What reasoning do you have that these speakers would fry and amplifier?
From your past threads, you seem to be bent up on getting the loudest speakers possible. You also described a burnt smell coming from your speakers after playing them on full volume.

Quote:
As for the connection, IF I go ahead and plug my Sony ones back in aswel as the proSound ones then I would just plug both bare wires into the same plug.
That's hooking them up in parallel.
__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 01:51 PM   #15
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: Plug two speakers into one socket on amp?

Knowing nothing about your amp or speakers specs here
its nothing to do with the speaker its to do with the fact that if you put 2 spekers in parallell with the same impedance you half the total impedance which then puts a lot more strain on your amplifier

And the way you describd plugging the sony ones in the same connector is paralell
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 01:54 PM   #16
Daemon Poster
 
vaio-fx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 515
Default Re: Plug two speakers into one socket on amp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 01001010 View Post
From your past threads, you seem to be bent up on getting the loudest speakers possible. You also described a burnt smell coming from your speakers after playing them on full volume.



That's hooking them up in parallel.
Ok, sorry about series/parallel, I got confused. I didn't descibe a burning smell though, I clearly stated that it was NOT a burning smell, some sort of weird chemical smell and that was on the Sony speakers, not these ProSound ones, I had the Prosound ones on at that party, no smell, the amp was slightly warm after 5-6 hours or so, so I don't see how these prosound speakers could burn an amp out. Also what is wrong with wanting loud speakers? It is my choice. Also if they are 80hms each then it will be fine, but if 8 per set then it won't be by the looks of it.
__________________
DESKTOP: Custom Build - HAF 932: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit / Samsung 2433 24" LCD 1920x1200/ 6144 MB RAM DDR3 1600MHz Corsair Dominator/ XFX GTX 260 XXX Edition 896MB/ Intel Core i7 950 @ 4.01GHz/ 500GB Sata II 7200 RPM & 320GB 7200RPM/ 700W Jeantech Storm Modular PSU
vaio-fx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 01:55 PM   #17
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: Plug two speakers into one socket on amp?

Quote:
Also what is wrong with wanting loud speakers? It is my choice.
You're right. It's your choice. I apologize. Do as you wish.
__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 02:41 PM   #18
Daemon Poster
 
vaio-fx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 515
Default Re: Plug two speakers into one socket on amp?

Wired it up now (I spoke o a friend who know quite a lot about speakers ad he saidit would be fine), it is working fine at the moment, just need to keep an eye on the heat!
__________________
DESKTOP: Custom Build - HAF 932: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit / Samsung 2433 24" LCD 1920x1200/ 6144 MB RAM DDR3 1600MHz Corsair Dominator/ XFX GTX 260 XXX Edition 896MB/ Intel Core i7 950 @ 4.01GHz/ 500GB Sata II 7200 RPM & 320GB 7200RPM/ 700W Jeantech Storm Modular PSU
vaio-fx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 03:03 PM   #19
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: Plug two speakers into one socket on amp?

Hmm
j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 03:16 PM   #20
Daemon Poster
 
Fanatic4Christ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,351
Default Re: Plug two speakers into one socket on amp?

lol i have about 4 speakers hooked up to one of my channels on my surround sound and it never gets got.. i also have 4 subwoofers hooked up to the subwoofer (cut the wire ect ect) but i got lucky so how that it doesnt get hot... if yours doesnt overheat, then good, go for it! but know that if you lower the ohm load its more likely that your going to fry your stuff... but i dont think 4 ohms will be bad for it
__________________

__________________
Jesus died for me and you.
AMD Athlon II 250 3.6ghz | ASRock N68C-S | Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 3850 PCI-E 512MB | SteelSeries Siberia USB Soundcard | Western Digital 250GB | LOGISYS 575watt PSU | Crucial 2GB ram DDR3
Fanatic4Christ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0