Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2005, 07:57 PM   #11
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: Please enlight me

Yeah, i got a boot changer, and most of them aren't brilliant anyway. Theres also no way of easily making your own...so its not exactly personal.

When I did install one, it wouldnt boot. I ended up having to go into safe mode and un-installing the program to have it set to normal... Talk about a mess

XPUser - Your PC will be going into hibernation when you turn it off. No bios screens would show, and if you had a fast PC, you wouldn't even notice the small load windows has when it goes back to the desktop

You could also be using Suspend to RAM which would do the whole thing much faster - though un-plugging the PC would stop this from working since RAM would wipe.
__________________

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 07:58 PM   #12
Daemon Poster
 
wiktorek01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,089
Default Re: Please enlight me

how do you make it so fast???
__________________

__________________
-Pentium 4 @ 2.4GHz -Intel Mobo
-2X 512 MB DDR RAM
-Geforce FX 5700LE 256MB -SoundBlaster 24 bit
-Samsung 80GB hdd - Western Digital 160GB hdd
wiktorek01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 08:00 PM   #13
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: Please enlight me

Look at my above post Thats the only way XPUser could do it ^
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 08:35 PM   #14
In Runtime
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 124
Default Re: Please enlight me

Nope its not the way I do it. Here's my secret:

Turn on the PC and go to the restroom or kitchen for coffee. When you return, the desktop's waiting for you.
XPUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 08:36 PM   #15
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: Please enlight me

haha so thats why you don't see it? very funny....

Though hiberate would do the same thing, and would only take 5 seconds to boot up...approx
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 08:45 PM   #16
In Runtime
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 124
Default Re: Please enlight me

Yes it would as long as the desktop's completely free of hardware and software problems. I never use these power options other than through the power schemes - turn off monitor and HD when PC is inactive.
XPUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 08:52 PM   #17
In Runtime
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 124
Default Re: Please enlight me

I almost forgot to add that Hibernation and Standby were meant for the laptops only, never the desktops. Somehow Microsoft included these features as standard tools of XP.
XPUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 10:30 PM   #18
Daemon Poster
 
wiktorek01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,089
Default Re: Please enlight me

hahaha, this is my routine when i get home from school. turn on my computer, change outa my uniform, sign in on the computer, then take a wizz, and viola, my rig is all set up and ready to go. lol
__________________
-Pentium 4 @ 2.4GHz -Intel Mobo
-2X 512 MB DDR RAM
-Geforce FX 5700LE 256MB -SoundBlaster 24 bit
-Samsung 80GB hdd - Western Digital 160GB hdd
wiktorek01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 10:36 PM   #19
Golden Master
 
ISOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12,208
Default Re: Please enlight me

Quote:
Originally Posted by XPUser
Why do some people want to change the boot screen (BIOS and Windows)?

What's the benefit?

For me, getting Windows to load up to a stable state is more important, isn't it?

What prompted me to ask this question is this thread
http://www.computerforums.org/showthread.php?t=15591
There is no beneficial upgrade by doing this. It's just for looks. I'm doing it because it looks pretty cool to have the "24" computer interface intializing the OS startup. It's just like how most people customize their Desktop wallpaper or change the Windows Themes by use of WindowBlinds. It's fun to do and brings a unique look to your computer.
__________________
*Fact: Microsoft Window's Blue Screen of Death vs Computerforums.org's White Screen of Death. Which is worse?
ISOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2005, 12:57 AM   #20
Fully Optimized
 
Dishdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,801
Default Re: Please enlight me

Quote:
Originally Posted by XPUser
Nope its not the way I do it. Here's my secret:

Turn on the PC and go to the restroom or kitchen for coffee. When you return, the desktop's waiting for you.
That is beautiful,lol.
__________________

__________________
CPU-Intel Pentium 4 630 3.0Ghz / 2MB Cache ~~OS Windows XP SP2
MOBO-Gigabyte 8I915P Duo Pro Intel Socket 775 (PCI-E)~~HDD-Western Digital 160GB(SATA)
PSU-Aspire 500W ATX~~RAM-1GB PC3200 DDR SDRAM (512x2 Dual Channel)
GPU-MSI GeForce 6600 GT(PCI Express)~~Monitor Viewsonic VA902B 19" 8ms~~ ATI TV Wonder Pro (TV Tuner)
~~Still to come~~: eVGA e-GeForce 7800 GT
Dishdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0