Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2005, 09:08 PM   #1
Daemon Poster
 
AmericanSensei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,144
Default Photshop and Pictures

I find a picture that I like, but it's rather small, So I take it to the Photoshop in attempts to resize it, but it ALWAYS turns out a blur. How do you resize without the blur. Do I have to enhance? Or another one of the options? To be exact, I want the picture 1280x1024. Any help would be greatly appreciated guys.

AmericanSensei
__________________

AmericanSensei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 09:37 PM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,855
Default

You do not say how small your picture is. If it's to small it's going to get blurry or blocky enlarging it.

By the looks of your post you want to use it as a wallpaper. Give IrfanView a try, it does a reasonable job on pix. It's free as well.


http://www.irfanview.com/

Edit: Link fixed...
__________________

__________________
Wombats do it in the dark.
Wombät is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2005, 02:46 AM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,690
Default Re: Photshop and Pictures

dead link...maybe the wombat should turn on the lights before doing it
lurkswithin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2005, 02:56 AM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,855
Default Re: Photshop and Pictures

Quote:
Originally Posted by lurkswithin
dead link...maybe the wombat should turn on the lights before doing it
Do it in the dark, touchy feely...
__________________
Wombats do it in the dark.
Wombät is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2005, 10:51 AM   #5
Golden Master
 
Tommy Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 8,463
Send a message via Yahoo to Tommy Boy
Default Re: Photshop and Pictures

depending on the size and resolution of the pic you are trying to resize it will come up blurry or grainy when you try to resize it. where did you get the pic from? is it from a digital camera or a website?.....I'd look for a bigger picture to start with. or if it's a pic from a digicam, get a digicam with higher megapixels so you can resize it without the blurryness
__________________
When all else fails...Ham Radio!

I still have the same old HP DV9700T laptop I've had for years...still kickin'
Tommy Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2005, 03:04 AM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
NOFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,797
Default Re: Photshop and Pictures

At School we have Adobe Photoshop 8 so this may not work if you have an earlier version. What you do is get your pic, go to EDIT->RESIZE, then hold down the shift key as you drag it out so it does not lose its shape, then when your done hit enter and it depixilates the image. Try that and tell me if it works, because my instructions are from memory.
__________________
3.0GHZ INTEL PRESCOTT CPU
1 GIG KINGSTON RAM
200 GB WESTERN DIGITAL HD
RADEON X800 PRO
JOIN RG Forums its Hella Good!!!
NOFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2005, 05:19 AM   #7
Site Team
 
David Lindon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 15,233
Default Re: Photshop and Pictures

I'm no good with graphics, can never get those programs to work!
__________________
[url=http://www.LNXPS.NET]LNXPS.NET - The XPS Library]
David Lindon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2005, 05:51 AM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
99nasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,995
Default

Is infran veiw any good? Can you clone and edit pictures etc?
99nasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2005, 12:49 PM   #9
Daemon Poster
 
AmericanSensei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,144
Default

I use PhotoExplosion Deluxe. It's just pictures I find on the net and would like as Wallpapers....Some of the pictures are literally 3 inch by 3 inch.

AmericanSensei
AmericanSensei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2005, 01:40 PM   #10
Wizard of Wires
 
setishock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Not sure
Posts: 10,030
Default Hmmm...

When a pic is reduced it throws out portions of un-needed data. Other programs such JPeg cleaner95 strip out text data thus reducing the size of the picture. But that's for another day. The problem here is what compression format was used and how it went about compressing the picture. I use a picture program call fotoalbum from fototime. A function in fotoalbum shows the buried technical data about the picture. Some pics I have say something like >>>> compressed with or altered by adobe photoshop. With that I can select the program to use to uncompress with minimal loss. When I got my copy of fotoalbum it was a freebie. I don't know if they started charging for it but you can look at>>>
www.fototime.com
__________________

setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0