Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2009, 09:34 PM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to ߧ∩H♠H䎀
Default PC Voip setups?

Does anyone here have a VOIP account anywhere? I'm going to college online and I've got team projects with members spread out across the US.

My cell doesn't get very good service in my house so I was thinking about setting up a VOIP account if the price is right. Calls over my landline across the country will add up fast.

Just looking for suggestions on hardware and software. I'm thinking Skype but is there a better client? Would I be better off to just get one of those landline style VOIP phones that connect to my router via ethernet?
__________________

ߧ∩H♠H䎀 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 11:29 PM   #2
Daemon Poster
 
jo5h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,030
Default Re: PC Voip setups?

If you are looking for something free I have used Peerme or like you suggested skype is also a good one
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 X2 Dual Core 3800+
Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe
Corsair CM2 X 512 x 2 A-6400
Nvidia 7600 GS 256 MB PCI-E 16x
jo5h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 11:38 PM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to ߧ∩H♠H䎀
Default Re: PC Voip setups?

Thanks for the response but I got everything taken care of.

I'm using Fringe on my iPhone with a Skype Unlimited US calling plan to dial out for $2.95 a month unlimited. That's a pretty good freaking deal.

I did a test call a few minutes ago and the voice quality seems pretty decent.
ߧ∩H♠H䎀 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 12:53 AM   #4
Daemon Poster
 
jo5h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,030
Default Re: PC Voip setups?

that is a good deal, which provider do you go through?
__________________
AMD 64 X2 Dual Core 3800+
Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe
Corsair CM2 X 512 x 2 A-6400
Nvidia 7600 GS 256 MB PCI-E 16x
jo5h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 10:46 AM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to ߧ∩H♠H䎀
Default Re: PC Voip setups?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jo5h View Post
that is a good deal, which provider do you go through?
I ended up with Skype. Here is a list of their subscription packages.

http://www.skype.com/allfeatures/sub...ubscriptionTab

The program I'm using on my phone is called fringe. I just enter my account info in then use that dialer to dial out through skype. Since my account info is entered now when I launch the app it automatically logs me into my skype account. Plus fringe syncs all your contacts into that app for easy dialing also.

I figured this was the easiest solution since I've already got the phone so I wouldn't have to worry about getting any PC stuff plus I'll be able to use it throughout my house and outside since its connected via Wifi.
ߧ∩H♠H䎀 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0