Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-24-2008, 02:21 PM   #11
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 810
Default Re: Paramount busted me..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post
you could do those file sharing sites like what i do.
Pain in the ass when you DL too much, and the site tells you to wait for a certain amount of time.
But from what i have heard, its safer than torrenting since most ISPs dont/cant see what you are downloading, they can only see what you are uploading.
It wasnt my ISP that caught me, it was paramount. Paramount then turned it into my ISP.
__________________

__________________
MSI K9N2GM-FIH motherboard AMD Phenom Agena 9600(2) Crucial Ballistix Tracer 1GB PC2 6400 Thermaltake 430W PSU
160GB Segate Barracuda HDD 19" Wide Screen Hanns-G
Raidmax Tornado ATX Case OS- Gentoo
Toshiba A135 -Vista Pentium Dual Core 1.6 ghz. 1.5gb ram
www.localtechnet.net - Support me, click the ads!!
Austinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2008, 02:23 PM   #12
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: Paramount busted me..

Quote:
Originally Posted by UK31337 View Post
Is that even legal? I wouldn't hand it over without speaking to a lawyer first.
quite honestly even if it isn't they could probably find a way to bring lawsuit about if you didn't.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2008, 02:26 PM   #13
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 810
Default Re: Paramount busted me..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubber314Chicken View Post
quite honestly even if it isn't they could probably find a way to bring lawsuit about if you didn't.
My thoughts exactly.
__________________
MSI K9N2GM-FIH motherboard AMD Phenom Agena 9600(2) Crucial Ballistix Tracer 1GB PC2 6400 Thermaltake 430W PSU
160GB Segate Barracuda HDD 19" Wide Screen Hanns-G
Raidmax Tornado ATX Case OS- Gentoo
Toshiba A135 -Vista Pentium Dual Core 1.6 ghz. 1.5gb ram
www.localtechnet.net - Support me, click the ads!!
Austinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2008, 02:27 PM   #14
Golden Master
 
Cabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,912
Send a message via AIM to Cabbs
Default Re: Paramount busted me..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Austinn View Post
Ive only downloaded like 3 movies in my lifetime, and I get caught. but I have GB's and GB's of music. And I never got caught with that.
As far as I know, they keep a closer eye on movies than music.
__________________
=Like anime? Come to AnimeAppeal.com!=
||DFI UT P35||Q9550@3400 Mhz||Geil 4GB RAM||Radeon 5770||
Cabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2008, 02:28 PM   #15
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: Paramount busted me..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post
were you torrenting?
Good thing the RIAA decided to give a few warnings out before suing people now.
RIAA has nothing to do with movies.
__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2008, 02:31 PM   #16
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 810
Default Re: Paramount busted me..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cabbs View Post
As far as I know, they keep a closer eye on movies than music.
I think so too Cabbs. But, I dont know if my ISP is monitoring me now. I cant take chances, ill do my downloading at my dads house now. Haha, he can deal with it this time.
__________________
MSI K9N2GM-FIH motherboard AMD Phenom Agena 9600(2) Crucial Ballistix Tracer 1GB PC2 6400 Thermaltake 430W PSU
160GB Segate Barracuda HDD 19" Wide Screen Hanns-G
Raidmax Tornado ATX Case OS- Gentoo
Toshiba A135 -Vista Pentium Dual Core 1.6 ghz. 1.5gb ram
www.localtechnet.net - Support me, click the ads!!
Austinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2008, 02:33 PM   #17
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Paramount busted me..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Austinn View Post
It wasnt my ISP that caught me, it was paramount. Paramount then turned it into my ISP.
i know, but when you upload, you are seeding it off to people that can see your IP, and Paramount found your IP.
While if you were downloading from those file sharing sites, Paramount cant see/know what you are DL, mainly because the people that upload them doesnt put the actual name, like for example.
Resident Evil Degeneration (Great Movie BTW, recommended for RE fans), the uploader named it something like ****-RED.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 01001010 View Post
RIAA has nothing to do with movies.
I know, but cabbs mentioned the RIAA.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2008, 02:45 PM   #18
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: Paramount busted me..

how much did you have to pay
__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2008, 02:58 PM   #19
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 810
Default Re: Paramount busted me..

$60
__________________
MSI K9N2GM-FIH motherboard AMD Phenom Agena 9600(2) Crucial Ballistix Tracer 1GB PC2 6400 Thermaltake 430W PSU
160GB Segate Barracuda HDD 19" Wide Screen Hanns-G
Raidmax Tornado ATX Case OS- Gentoo
Toshiba A135 -Vista Pentium Dual Core 1.6 ghz. 1.5gb ram
www.localtechnet.net - Support me, click the ads!!
Austinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2008, 03:02 PM   #20
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Paramount busted me..

hmm, thats not much.

But are you sure its Paramount, and not some thief tricking you?
__________________

__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0