Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2007, 01:39 PM   #11
Fully Optimized
 
BrynF_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,574
Send a message via MSN to BrynF_UK
Default Re: overclocking a pentium II

through the bios just using the clock multiplier thingy and changing the fsb thingy
__________________

__________________
`

Visit today! ---> www.smouch.net/lol <---

_______________________________________________
BrynF_UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 01:47 PM   #12
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 878
Default Re: overclocking a pentium II

All I have right now is a P3 with a 1.2 Ghz CPU, oh man I hate this thing, it's so embarassing. I'm surprised your college still uses a P2 though lol that's bad, 10 years old now.
__________________

Thrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 04:38 PM   #13
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: overclocking a pentium II

I pushed my 366 to a 550MHz. I'll get that PC back and I'll try a 1200. I'll try it to 2000.
lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 04:53 PM   #14
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: overclocking a pentium II

what kinda cooling would i need to get a p3 800 to like 1.5-2ghz
__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 04:54 PM   #15
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: overclocking a pentium II

A S370/462 heatsink...and prayers.
lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 04:56 PM   #16
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: overclocking a pentium II

Quote:
Originally Posted by borat_sagdiyev View Post
what kinda cooling would i need to get a p3 800 to like 1.5-2ghz
dry ice
__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 04:59 PM   #17
Fully Optimized
 
bullzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: US
Posts: 3,283
Send a message via Yahoo to bullzi Send a message via Skype™ to bullzi
Default Re: overclocking a pentium II

Quote:
Originally Posted by borat_sagdiyev View Post
that pentium 4 looking thing is called the chipset :P
haha yea, that'd be the northbridge chip of your chipset, it gets everything from all the ports to the processor, the speed of your chipset can in some cases be just as important if not more important than the speed of your processor
__________________
-Desktop- Dual Monitor, Q8200 2.34Ghz, 8GB, 1TB, XFX 6850, 7 Ultimate
-ASUS UL50- SU7300, 4GB, 500GB, G210M, 7 Home Premium 64, XP Pro
-HP NC6400- Core Duo 1.86Ghz, 2.5GB, 64GB SSD, x1300, XP Pro
bullzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 05:31 PM   #18
Fully Optimized
 
Jesusfrk611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: US
Posts: 2,193
Default Re: overclocking a pentium II

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrynF_UK View Post
hehe, just overclocked a Pentium II from 133MHz to 465MHz

gotta love college computers lol only the best will do for us
What kinda college you go to? College of the 20th century? The worst systems at my high school are P4 2.8GHz systems...best, Athlon X2's 2Ghz. I wouldn't even go to a college that only had P2 systems... I can even get plenty of free P3 systems for myself, at least that beats a P2 233Mhz. I thought P2's were made so that you couldn't overclock them or something... I know Celerons of that age could overclock well.
Jesusfrk611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 05:40 PM   #19
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: overclocking a pentium II

LIked I said, I OCed the Celeron.

You know something? Our school uses Pentium 200 and 133. Some Celeron 433 and very VERY few P4 2GHZ.
lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 06:38 PM   #20
Fully Optimized
 
Jesusfrk611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: US
Posts: 2,193
Default Re: overclocking a pentium II

Quote:
Originally Posted by lhuser View Post
LIked I said, I OCed the Celeron.

You know something? Our school uses Pentium 200 and 133. Some Celeron 433 and very VERY few P4 2GHZ.
Wow, do all your schools have no money? It's a pain in the butt to even surf the net on 233Mhz systems... My school is low on money, but it's probably b/c they get quite a few new systems every year. I'd be content if all we had were P4 systems. The oldest P4's we got really aren't that bad. We may still have a few P3's, but I think most of them were replaced by this year.
__________________

Jesusfrk611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0