Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2007, 10:01 PM   #11
Site Team
 
celegorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,713
Send a message via AIM to celegorm
Default Re: Offered a Geeksquad job!

Congrats on the job, too bad it's geek squad though. I've seen them eff things up majorly. On my friends house (this was before I got decent at networking) his family had geeksquad come over and put a wireless printer onto their exisiting network. The dummy installed a new wireless driver on my friends computer for a card that wasn't there! His old card was still installed, and still working. The problem, the new drivers blue-screened the system at startup, and the guy left it like that. Real professional...
__________________

__________________
"as a fanboy i refuse to admit it and will pull countless things out of my butt to disprove it"

Team Thelegorm! Total Kills: 21 (i iz in uor profile, editsing your sigz)
celegorm is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 10:05 PM   #12
BSOD
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 508
Send a message via AIM to BF2player
Default Re: Offered a Geeksquad job!

Congrats. Finally, someone that has a clue what the hell they are talking about in Geeksquad.
__________________

BF2player is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 10:09 PM   #13
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: Offered a Geeksquad job!

Quote:
Originally Posted by celegorm View Post
Congrats on the job, too bad it's geek squad though. I've seen them eff things up majorly. On my friends house (this was before I got decent at networking) his family had geeksquad come over and put a wireless printer onto their exisiting network. The dummy installed a new wireless driver on my friends computer for a card that wasn't there! His old card was still installed, and still working. The problem, the new drivers blue-screened the system at startup, and the guy left it like that. Real professional...
You know why that is tho , its cos they think the setup process is the same on every single machine you go to , from my experience every computer is different , users have different setting so you have to take this into consideration before adding or removing anything from the system
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 10:15 PM   #14
Daemon Poster
 
sek3o1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,150
Default Re: Offered a Geeksquad job!

i think geek squad lies because they get commision so they say w/e they have to say to make the sell.the mighty green doller speaks
__________________
dell xps 700 pent d 3.8 ghz duel 7900 gtx
4gigs 800 ram
sony vaio core 2 duo t7600 radon mobility x1600
2 gigs of ram
sek3o1 is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 10:21 PM   #15
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: Offered a Geeksquad job!

yeah, geek squad sucks ($70 to copy and paste, setup widgets and change the friggen background!!!) but if ou take the job, then you might give them a kinda good name. remember, just always say 'ask for bahawof'
__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 10:31 PM   #16
Fully Optimized
 
Bahawolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,604
Default Re: Offered a Geeksquad job!

That'd be nice if I changed the entire reputation of Geeksquad.. :-p

Do Geeksquad employees really make a commission of each sale?
Bahawolf is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 10:40 PM   #17
Site Team
 
celegorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,713
Send a message via AIM to celegorm
Default Re: Offered a Geeksquad job!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bahawolf View Post
That'd be nice if I changed the entire reputation of Geeksquad.. :-p

Do Geeksquad employees really make a commission of each sale?
I believe so, but I haven't seen proof. I know I don't get commission, so I like to help out the nice customers with discounts.

And Muz is right, every computer is different. Even if the parts are exactly the same, the way they behave isn't. That is something that geeksquad tends to over-look.
__________________
"as a fanboy i refuse to admit it and will pull countless things out of my butt to disprove it"

Team Thelegorm! Total Kills: 21 (i iz in uor profile, editsing your sigz)
celegorm is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 10:43 PM   #18
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: Offered a Geeksquad job!

Quote:
Originally Posted by celegorm View Post
I believe so, but I haven't seen proof. I know I don't get commission, so I like to help out the nice customers with discounts.

And Muz is right, every computer is different. Even if the parts are exactly the same, the way they behave isn't. That is something that geeksquad tends to over-look.
Yeah say i built exactly the same rig as yours they would both still behave differently depending on how i configured mine and you configured yours , of course overclckability may be different
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 10:44 PM   #19
Site Team
 
celegorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,713
Send a message via AIM to celegorm
Default Re: Offered a Geeksquad job!

Quote:
Originally Posted by muz View Post
Yeah say i built exactly the same rig as yours they would both still behave differently depending on how i configured mine and you configured yours , of course overclckability may be different
Even if we configured ours the same, yours could be better at OC'ing than mine. Just more proof that no two comptuers are alike. Good example. I like the way you think
__________________
"as a fanboy i refuse to admit it and will pull countless things out of my butt to disprove it"

Team Thelegorm! Total Kills: 21 (i iz in uor profile, editsing your sigz)
celegorm is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 10:47 PM   #20
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: Offered a Geeksquad job!

but you do need a jetpack.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0