Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2007, 08:25 PM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
Bahawolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,604
Default Offered a Geeksquad job!

So I was offered a Geeksquad job.. ;-)
I can't wait to work there.

Does anyone have any experience with them?
I'm 18 years old and I'm a college student, so the extra income would be nice.

Any idea on average wages in New York, or anything at all?
__________________

Bahawolf is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 08:28 PM   #2
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: Offered a Geeksquad job!

Minimum wage.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 08:28 PM   #3
Daemon Poster
 
Istonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,469
Send a message via AIM to Istonian Send a message via MSN to Istonian
Default Re: Offered a Geeksquad job!

I just do everything myself. Geeksquad doesnt have a good track record with me. Good to see they are getting some knoledgeable people though, people from CF. Good luck!
__________________
Linux > Windows
Istonian is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 08:35 PM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
Bahawolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,604
Default Re: Offered a Geeksquad job!

Yeah, they asked what kind of experience I had, and I told them..
Linux+
Server+
A+
Net+
MCSE

and the woman was like.. :-O "Wow.. thats a lot".

Haha.
Bahawolf is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 08:40 PM   #5
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: Offered a Geeksquad job!

Hmm just dont let them make you feed BS to customers , Even if your boss says you should say somehting if you know without a shaddow of a doubt its BS then just tell the customer the truth , but good luck in the job
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 08:44 PM   #6
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: Offered a Geeksquad job!

yh i hate being given bs in shops.
anyway congrats
good achievement
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 08:45 PM   #7
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: Offered a Geeksquad job!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bahawolf View Post
Yeah, they asked what kind of experience I had, and I told them..
Linux+
Server+
A+
Net+
MCSE

and the woman was like.. :-O "Wow.. thats a lot".

Haha.
You're MCSE and working at that job? Why?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 08:47 PM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
FlightSimBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,114
Send a message via AIM to FlightSimBoy
Default Re: Offered a Geeksquad job!

Quote:
Originally Posted by muz View Post
Hmm just dont let them make you feed BS to customers , Even if your boss says you should say somehting if you know without a shaddow of a doubt its BS then just tell the customer the truth , but good luck in the job
yeah, that is always a problem.... if, say, the power switch went bad and you know damn well that that is the problem, don't let the head geek dude make you tell the customer it is their power supply. Trust me, I've seen crap like that happen, and it was only to make the customer spend more money. It wasn't Geek Squad, I've just heard stories from friends and family about some other company.

It's good that they get someone who knows what they are doing. Also, I hope you are willing to help people who are complete n00bs with computers and probably only know how to play solitaire, if that. Good luck and I hope you can get somewhere with this job. Most people in the computer field do if they can actually find a place to work. It's a crowded field to work in in some areas.
__________________
My Computer: eMachines T5226 - Intel Pentium D Dual Core @ 3 GHz - Diamond Viper Radeon HD3870 OC Edition with 1 GB GDDR3 VRAM - 4 GB PQi Turbo DDR2-533 RAM - Corsair 650W PSU with 52A on single rail - TSSTcorp DVD-DL+-RW combo drive - Lite-on 52x CD-RW burner - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeGamer - Logitech z5300e speakers - WinFast TV Tuner - Vista Ultimate 64-Bit. eBay name: Flightsimboy304
FlightSimBoy is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 08:53 PM   #9
Fully Optimized
 
Bahawolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,604
Default Re: Offered a Geeksquad job!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ-CHRIS View Post
You're MCSE and working at that job? Why?
As a college student, and being 18 years old, it is difficult to be taken seriously or be considered by other corporations in the field. I'm sure I could get a job at like CompUSA, but it'd probably be on the same lines as Geek-squad in that aspect.

I also have an interview tomorrow at a local WalMart, for a position in the electronics section, possibly as a supervisor (considering I have management experience, somewhat, at two previous jobs). I'll have to consider the wages and such, and then continue..

I know Walmart will pay me over minimum wage, somewhere around 14/hour.. but I heard Bestbuy pays somewhere between 15-20/hour. I'll have to get specific facts down and see what I'm going to pursue, but this is all just a temporary job and 'extra income' so to speak.
Bahawolf is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 09:31 PM   #10
Fully Optimized
 
troy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 2,410
Default Re: Offered a Geeksquad job!

Honestly I can't stand geek squad. They're snake oil salesmen. They'll tell you anything to get you to buy a PC, then charge you astronomical rates to fix it if something need service. If you're going to work there, be honest and state the facts, not what best buy wants you to say to sell a PC.
__________________

__________________
Desktop: Dell Dimension E510, 2.5GB RAM, Intel P4 3.0GHZ, 250GB HDD, Windows Vista Premium. Might not be the best, but the old girl is still running good.
troy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0