Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2007, 09:12 AM   #11
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Re: NTL/Virgin to lose Sky One

Quote:
Originally Posted by lhuser
BTW, what does AFAIK mean?
As Far As I Know
__________________

Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 04:45 PM   #12
Site Team
 
David Lindon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 15,233
Default Re: NTL/Virgin to lose Sky One

So its definate now is it?
__________________

__________________
[url=http://www.LNXPS.NET]LNXPS.NET - The XPS Library]
David Lindon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 05:54 PM   #13
Daemon Poster
 
GlasseyeUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,208
Send a message via MSN to GlasseyeUK
Default Re: NTL/Virgin to lose Sky One

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Lindon
So its definate now is it?
Yeah it is apparently, I haven't heard anything in email or on the website yet, but there is an article about this on DigitalSpy

Virgin Media to lose Sky Channels

Its a shame, because I had been quite happy with my package from NTL, the broadband never quite reaches its 4 meg speed, but 99% of the time it works well and fine (touch wood and no puns please) the telephone is a good deal, and well the tv although varied, and having 100+ channels with nothing to watch is a good thing, the pay on demand works well.

The real problem is that I love Sky One, and its one of the main reasons for me having cable, well that and the football, but I pay extra for that anyway, so its pissing me off a bit, I will have to consider keeping NTL or switching to sky, I don't really want to but needs must and all that.

Plus their package deal is not bad right at the moment.

EDIT: Additional Information

Apparently Virgin Media have been sending this email to people

"Dear customer,

Let’s face it. Things would be pretty boring if choice didn’t exist. There’d be just one kind of airline to fly with. One type of car to drive. And if Sky had their way, there’d only be one place to get TV.

We thought we’d let you in on a few tricks they’ve been trying to get their way.

While we’ve continued to make Virgin Media channels like Living, Bravo and Challenge available to all Sky customers, Sky may withdraw their non-premium channels from Virgin Media’s service – in order to force you into switching service.

Virgin Media were willing to pay an increase in costs in order to get the complete range of Sky content and channels.

However, Sky have consistently demanded an increase that bears no relation to the channels’ market value.

We have refused to accept this increase, since it would mean absorbing significant costs ourselves, and passing the kind of price increase on to our customers that is simply unfair. We are not prepared to rip off our customers.

So Sky have picked up their ball and gone home.

As a Virgin company, we’re well used to the attempts of large corporations trying to manipulate markets, stifle competition and rip off consumers.

Luckily, we don’t think Sky’s the limit.

We think the future’s full of fresh entertainment and communication possibilities. And we’re looking forward to bringing them to you. With all the freedom and choice you deserve.

We’ve launched Virgin Central, a revolutionary type of TV channel, where programmes start and stop when you say so. This is only available on Virgin Media, since Sky don’t have the technology to be able to transmit it. What’s more, it’s available to every single one of our digital TV customers.

And there’s our unique on demand library. A giant collection of over 500 films, 1000 music videos, 100s of TV shows – all at your beck and call. You can access them at any time.

We’re not scared of competition, we welcome it.

To find out more, visit virginmedia.com/fairplay."
__________________
AMD Athlon 64, 2200 (11x200) 3700+,ASRock 939S56-M, SiS 756 AMD Hammer,NVIDIA GeForce 6600LE, 2048(DDR SDRAM), Maxtor 5A300J0 300GB 5400RPM, Ultra ATA/133)

Time tells all, but if the moment in time passes and you miss it, then you will remember it for ever!!
GlasseyeUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 06:04 PM   #14
Fully Optimized
 
UK31337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,776
Default Re: NTL/Virgin to lose Sky One

Erm... last time I looked at Sky, they were charging extra for the package which included Sky One. Their flagship channel, and you have to get an upgraded package to watch it.

Actually, I'm glad my new house didn't have cable, because all reason for having it would now be gone, and Sky is too expensive. Freeview FTW. I had Telewest at my old place and they were great, really great.
UK31337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 02:32 PM   #15
Golden Master
 
Brookfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: NTL/Virgin to lose Sky One

I live in southern England & expected that I wouldn't be able to access Sky One etc today, but it's there, & I've been able to access it all day, with the usual rock-steady reception.
Brookfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 02:37 PM   #16
Daemon Poster
 
GlasseyeUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,208
Send a message via MSN to GlasseyeUK
Default Re: NTL/Virgin to lose Sky One

Sky One has now been taken off Virgin Media, as well Sky News and Sky Sports News (Arrrrrrrrrghhhhhhhh!!) We phoned up and they said they are currently looking at the available options and hoping to resolve the issue, in the meantime they have given us a £10 a month discount on our package
__________________
AMD Athlon 64, 2200 (11x200) 3700+,ASRock 939S56-M, SiS 756 AMD Hammer,NVIDIA GeForce 6600LE, 2048(DDR SDRAM), Maxtor 5A300J0 300GB 5400RPM, Ultra ATA/133)

Time tells all, but if the moment in time passes and you miss it, then you will remember it for ever!!
GlasseyeUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 02:50 PM   #17
Fully Optimized
 
macbook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,468
Send a message via MSN to macbook
Default Re: NTL/Virgin to lose Sky One

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffaz
I got rid of sky years ago, i will never get it back unless they bring their prices down, and i mean right down. Its a waste of money to me. Who needs 10+ film channels anyway, you can only watch one at a time. Their prices are getting better, but its the principal, and im a stubborn git

there are 10 movie channels so you have a choice, maybe you dont like 9/10 of the movies, they are putting the content there for everyone!
__________________
4GB Intel Core Duo - 1.25 GB DDR2 SDRAM
macbook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 03:31 PM   #18
Golden Master
 
Brookfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: NTL/Virgin to lose Sky One

Quote:
Originally Posted by UK31337
Erm... last time I looked at Sky, they were charging extra for the package which included Sky One. Their flagship channel, and you have to get an upgraded package to watch it.

Actually, I'm glad my new house didn't have cable, because all reason for having it would now be gone, and Sky is too expensive. Freeview FTW. I had Telewest at my old place and they were great, really great.
I have the small package at £21 a month, which has loads of interest programmes, National Geographic etc, I didn't go for the full package as I'm not a lover of sport, & todays films are either too violent & noisy, or vague, they do nothing for me. my film era is the 60's 70's & 80's.
Brookfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 04:05 PM   #19
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: NTL/Virgin to lose Sky One

We've never had the movie channels either. No point in my opinion, as they seem to just repeat all over the place.

I haven't checked to see if Sky One's gone yet...
E4's slowly replacing Sky One in this house hold anyway. It tends to have the same type of television.

Just 24 I'm worried about, but at least we can get that elsewhere.
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 04:27 PM   #20
Golden Master
 
Brookfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: NTL/Virgin to lose Sky One

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kage
I haven't checked to see if Sky One's gone yet.
I just checked, yep, still there, a friend said we won't lose it, if you're getting it via a Sky digibox, which I have, & you?
__________________

Brookfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0