Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2007, 10:16 AM   #1
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default NTL/Virgin to lose Sky One

Has anyone got NTL as a digital TV subscriber, that has now been taken over by Virgin? We have...

Guess what Sky are doing to knock them down? They are charging extra for the Sky One channel (a channel with 24, and Lost (something I'm not bothered about)).

Virgin are saying they won't pay it, and it has been officially announced that we are now going to lose that channel. Virgin says it is unfair, since they'd have to increase the price more, in which case, no one would want the service anyway, and Sky, are obviously doing it to get people to move over.

I think this is really mad, but since we love 24 here, it seems we may be forced to switch to Sky. We do get a lot of problems with NTL... At least with Sky now, you can get some kind of broadband package, like we have with NTL now.

Some of me is saying to leave Sky in the dust though, and not bother doing anything, since its just a win for them.
__________________

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 10:21 AM   #2
Golden Master
 
joxley1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,846
Send a message via AIM to joxley1990 Send a message via MSN to joxley1990
Default Re: NTL/Virgin to lose Sky One

Haha yeah, we have NTL, which is now damned Virgin Media! Yeah, we're switching to Sky, with that phone, broadband and sky box package for £26!
__________________

joxley1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 10:23 AM   #3
Daemon Poster
 
Steff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,435
Send a message via MSN to Steff
Default Re: NTL/Virgin to lose Sky One

Do you guys keep getting internet connection problems? Ever since the switch I get d/c every now and again?
Steff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 11:03 AM   #4
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: NTL/Virgin to lose Sky One

The switch from what? NTL to Sky? Or to NTL? (Or Virgin Media as its now called...)

NTL has never been to good with Internet, with problems occurring at least once a month. Most problems can be fixed by disconnecting power to the NTL box, and putting it back, resetting it.

I think we may end up switching to Sky...
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 02:49 PM   #5
Site Team
 
root's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8,007
Default Re: NTL/Virgin to lose Sky One

well that's crappy... I'm a Telewest customer, (now Virgin media) and I've had no notification of this AFAIK.
still it won't bother me cause I'm moving at the end of next month anyway!
__________________
I didn’t fight my way to the top of the food chain to be a vegetarian…
Im sick of people saying 'dont waste paper'. If trees wanted to live, they'd all carry guns.
"The inherent vice of capitalism is the unequal sharing of blessings; The inherent vice of socialism is the equal sharing of miseries."
root is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 04:20 PM   #6
Daemon Poster
 
Anubis1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,308
Send a message via MSN to Anubis1980 Send a message via Yahoo to Anubis1980
Default Re: NTL/Virgin to lose Sky One

Clever ploy by sky really. I had the NTL package in the UK last year when i was there, 9.99 for 1mb broadband download limit of 3gb i got bout 80 a month and they never complained lol. I think Sky r overpriced...
__________________
Intel C2D E6750 (1333fsb) 2.66 @3.5ghz |EVGA 680i SLI Mobo | 2GB Twin XMS ddr800 @ 875 | Leadtek 7950 GX2 Core@601 Mem@1600
500GB IBM/HITACHI Sata2 7200/16MB | 160GB 7200rpm 8mb UDMA133 Maxtor | XION 600w dual 12v 44A total SLI PSU | X-fi Xtreme Music | 22" Widescreen Acer LCD
Anubis1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 04:21 PM   #7
Site Team
 
David Lindon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 15,233
Default Re: NTL/Virgin to lose Sky One

Yeah its really annoying. I used to really Admire Richard Branson but it seems he is trying to buy into a monopoly here, I would really like to switch to sky myself
__________________
[url=http://www.LNXPS.NET]LNXPS.NET - The XPS Library]
David Lindon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 03:18 AM   #8
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: NTL/Virgin to lose Sky One

I don't know if we are switching now.

The last of the 24 series, were having taped by someone with Sky, so we won't miss that. It'd be really stupid to switch for one channel because of them.

I don't believe there are many programs I tend to watch on it.
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 05:15 AM   #9
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Re: NTL/Virgin to lose Sky One

I got rid of sky years ago, i will never get it back unless they bring their prices down, and i mean right down. Its a waste of money to me. Who needs 10+ film channels anyway, you can only watch one at a time. Their prices are getting better, but its the principal, and im a stubborn git
Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 09:08 AM   #10
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: NTL/Virgin to lose Sky One

IS Virgin Media that bad or somthing?

BTW, what does AFAIK mean?
__________________

lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0