Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2006, 10:09 PM   #1
In Runtime
 
Impruv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 374
Default Normal to Portable

Anyone know how to get programs to be a 'portable' version of itself? Like I've seen many people make like say photoshop into a portable version; no serial; no install etc... I have this program and I wanna learn or get someone to make it a 'portable version' ... any ideas?
__________________

__________________
Intel E8400 (3.7 ghz) w/ CM 212+ | Palit HD4850 512mb | 2x2gb OCZ Vista Performance Platinum | Corsair TX650W | Asus P5Q | Lancool K-62BW
Impruv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 10:12 PM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
Bahawolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,604
Default Re: Normal to Portable

I don't understand your question..
Is it cracking software, or allowing software to run without the need of installing it to the computer, like CPU-Z?
__________________

Bahawolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 10:13 PM   #3
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: Normal to Portable

why not just burn the whole folder that contains photoshop to a cd?
__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 10:15 PM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
Bahawolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,604
Default Re: Normal to Portable

Quote:
Originally Posted by john123
why not just burn the whole folder that contains photoshop to a cd?
I don't think thats so much his question.. perhaps, I'm wrong though.

If you were to run Adobe Photoshop for instance, the installation process makes registry and file edits, so you'd need to run through the installation, rather than just copying the directory and running it (I believe, anyhow).
Bahawolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 10:17 PM   #5
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: Normal to Portable

yeah, let me try burning it to a cd and see if it runs on another computer.
__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 10:32 PM   #6
In Runtime
 
Impruv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 374
Default Re: Normal to Portable

yea programs like photoshop have files inputted into the computer like registry files like baha said...but ppl have made a version where no registry files or installation is required...just double click the EXE and the program works...it's usually for running programs of ur USB (thumbdrives) .
__________________
Intel E8400 (3.7 ghz) w/ CM 212+ | Palit HD4850 512mb | 2x2gb OCZ Vista Performance Platinum | Corsair TX650W | Asus P5Q | Lancool K-62BW
Impruv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 10:34 PM   #7
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: Normal to Portable

thats how most mac programs work, where you install it, and it only gives you 1 file (the exe)
__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 07:17 PM   #8
In Runtime
 
Impruv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 374
Default Re: Normal to Portable

too bad I have a PC; so anymore ideas ?
__________________

__________________
Intel E8400 (3.7 ghz) w/ CM 212+ | Palit HD4850 512mb | 2x2gb OCZ Vista Performance Platinum | Corsair TX650W | Asus P5Q | Lancool K-62BW
Impruv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0