Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2005, 03:59 PM   #11
Dan
In Runtime
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 177
Send a message via AIM to Dan Send a message via MSN to Dan Send a message via Yahoo to Dan
Default Re: Noooooo!!!!

w00t. Dad got a new modem! I knew he couldnt last long without his Cable. lol
__________________

__________________
Dell Dimension 3000
Windows XP Home - 17" LCD
Pentium 4, 2.8 GHz - 512 MB Ram
40GB HDD - 80GB WD HDD
Creative Sound - CD-Rw/DVD+/-RW Dual Layer
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2005, 05:08 PM   #12
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,690
Default Re: Noooooo!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by elmonomalo
This may be off topic but i hate it when people say they have *.* megaBYTES per second... can you even imagine that? i mean if they had 5 megaBYTES for example that would be 5000+ kb per sec...
good point!

Mbps

Mbps is not to be confused with MBps (megabytes per second). Mbps stands for millions of bits per second or megabits per second and is a measure of bandwidth (the total information flow over a given time) on a telecommunications medium. Depending on the medium and the transmission method, bandwidth is also sometimes measured in the Kbps (thousands of bits or kilobits per second) range or the Gbps (billions of bits or gigabits per second) range.
__________________

lurkswithin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2005, 07:19 PM   #13
BSOD
 
mikee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 83
Send a message via MSN to mikee
Default Re: Noooooo!!!!

you think you got it bad, I have 28.8 kbps dialup shared over 3 computers in my home network and it gets really slow when everyone in my family is on the internet at the same time.
mikee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2005, 07:30 PM   #14
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: Noooooo!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Computergen
Haha! How would you know if he lived so close....weird. Feel bad about the dial up when I'm cruising back on 5.1MBPS
I envy you for your T1 or T3 connection
lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2005, 11:37 PM   #15
Dan
In Runtime
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 177
Send a message via AIM to Dan Send a message via MSN to Dan Send a message via Yahoo to Dan
Default Re: Noooooo!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikee
you think you got it bad, I have 28.8 kbps dialup shared over 3 computers in my home network and it gets really slow when everyone in my family is on the internet at the same time.

lol.. actually.. I use to do that too.. lmao
__________________
Dell Dimension 3000
Windows XP Home - 17" LCD
Pentium 4, 2.8 GHz - 512 MB Ram
40GB HDD - 80GB WD HDD
Creative Sound - CD-Rw/DVD+/-RW Dual Layer
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2005, 11:48 PM   #16
Daemon Poster
 
jcon89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 734
Default Re: Noooooo!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ACDC ROX 999
y would u downgrade? 8MBps to 1.5?

o it cost too much ok
ya, im only 16 and my dad says that if i want something that expensive, then i'd have to buy it myself. but o well , 1.5 is better than 56k
__________________
www.patientjoe.com - Computer Repairs in Warwick, Rhode Island
QuadCore AMD Phenom II X4 920, 2800 MHz (14 x 200), Asus M3A76-CM, 4GB DDR2 Corsair RAM, Geforce 7900GTX, Windows 7 Ultimate (64-bit)
time for an upgrade!!!
jcon89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2005, 01:56 AM   #17
Fully Optimized
 
Kalgatha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,102
Send a message via AIM to Kalgatha Send a message via Yahoo to Kalgatha
Default

question...now i havent read the whole thread so if this is allready answered just dont' answer ... but how do you tell how fast your internet is goin?
Kalgatha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2005, 02:05 AM   #18
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,855
Default Re: Noooooo!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kalgatha
question...now i havent read the whole thread so if this is allready answered just dont' answer ... but how do you tell how fast your internet is goin?
Go here and test your connection...
http://test.lvcm.com/
__________________
Wombats do it in the dark.
Wombät is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2005, 02:08 AM   #19
Fully Optimized
 
Kalgatha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,102
Send a message via AIM to Kalgatha Send a message via Yahoo to Kalgatha
Default

thanks abunch wombat my download speed is 1.3 Mbps and upload speek is 315 Kbps is this good? were paying 25$ per month ... i think supposedly dsl
Kalgatha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2005, 02:12 AM   #20
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,855
Default

Sounds good to me for that price...
__________________

__________________
Wombats do it in the dark.
Wombät is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0