Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2005, 07:14 AM   #1
Dan
In Runtime
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 177
Send a message via AIM to Dan Send a message via MSN to Dan Send a message via Yahoo to Dan
Default Noooooo!!!!

Ahh!! Last night, we had HORRIBLE thunderstorms.. and I was at work @ Arby's.. so I couldn't go home to unplug anything. My dang cable modem got zapped! Ah! Now I'm using my grandma's dial-up *shrug* (says in irish voice I hope me dad gets me new cable mow-dem sewn.


This dialup just ain't cuttin it.

I spent part of the night (from 10 pm until 3 am) with a guy friend of mine. He's awesome, I can't believe I met someone just like myself! We were talkin on myspace for 3 days.. and I met him the third night... he invited me over.. and who would know.. he lives 3 minutes from me.

Anywho.. again.. this... sucks without... cable!!

Actually.. I'm connected at 50.2Kbps.. I use to only get 30kbps or so back when I had dialup a year or so ago.. So it could be worse.. lol
__________________

__________________
Dell Dimension 3000
Windows XP Home - 17" LCD
Pentium 4, 2.8 GHz - 512 MB Ram
40GB HDD - 80GB WD HDD
Creative Sound - CD-Rw/DVD+/-RW Dual Layer
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2005, 07:20 AM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
99nasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,995
Default

My heart gos out for you
__________________

99nasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2005, 08:34 AM   #3
BSOD
 
Computergen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,175
Default Re: Noooooo!!!!

Haha! How would you know if he lived so close....weird. Feel bad about the dial up when I'm cruising back on 5.1MBPS
Computergen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2005, 08:43 AM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
dyserq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,281
Default Re: Noooooo!!!!

Lol everybody says that if you get broadband you would never want to go back to dial up
And who would blame them? Hope you get broadband again soon
dyserq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2005, 09:15 AM   #5
BSOD
 
ACDC ROX 999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to ACDC ROX 999
Default Re: Noooooo!!!!

ya i am at 3MBps. dial up sucks
ACDC ROX 999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2005, 09:34 AM   #6
Daemon Poster
 
jcon89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 734
Default Re: Noooooo!!!!

dialup was the worst 7 years of my life. i now have like 1.5 Mbps but that is after downgrading from 5 Mbps
__________________
www.patientjoe.com - Computer Repairs in Warwick, Rhode Island
QuadCore AMD Phenom II X4 920, 2800 MHz (14 x 200), Asus M3A76-CM, 4GB DDR2 Corsair RAM, Geforce 7900GTX, Windows 7 Ultimate (64-bit)
time for an upgrade!!!
jcon89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2005, 11:18 AM   #7
BSOD
 
ACDC ROX 999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to ACDC ROX 999
Default

y would u downgrade? 8MBps to 1.5?

o it cost too much ok
ACDC ROX 999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2005, 12:26 PM   #8
Dan
In Runtime
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 177
Send a message via AIM to Dan Send a message via MSN to Dan Send a message via Yahoo to Dan
Default Re: Noooooo!!!!

I'm usually about 4mbps on my cable.. *shrug*

I think I had dialup for about.. 7 years too... I got cable about a year and a half or so.. ago... I cannot stand dialup... but hey.. at least i got internet.. and it works..
__________________
Dell Dimension 3000
Windows XP Home - 17" LCD
Pentium 4, 2.8 GHz - 512 MB Ram
40GB HDD - 80GB WD HDD
Creative Sound - CD-Rw/DVD+/-RW Dual Layer
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2005, 01:27 PM   #9
Golden Master
 
ISOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12,208
Default Re: Noooooo!!!!

At least the cable modem can be replaced easily. I use to have dial up with Netzero and it bugged me how websites that use Flash load so slow. With cable, you don't notice the lag at all. I can't see myself going back to dial up. People insist I save some money by going back to Netzero because I've been having some financial problems lately. I said, "no way". I rather pay $56 a month to get broadband access than dial up anyday.
__________________
*Fact: Microsoft Window's Blue Screen of Death vs Computerforums.org's White Screen of Death. Which is worse?
ISOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2005, 01:44 PM   #10
In Runtime
 
elmonomalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 307
Default

This may be off topic but i hate it when people say they have *.* megaBYTES per second... can you even imagine that? i mean if they had 5 megaBYTES for example that would be 5000+ kb per sec...
__________________

__________________
"Power never takes a back step - only in the face of more power
-Malcolm X
elmonomalo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0