Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2006, 07:39 AM   #1
Golden Master
 
mammikoura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,459
Send a message via MSN to mammikoura
Default No wonder it took long to get Vista ready for release

http://moishelettvin.blogspot.com/20...-crapfest.html

now if I understood that correctly, microsoft had a team of 8 people designing just the shutdown menu for Vista, + 16 people to help them with it. So a total of 24 people involved in doing the shutdown menu! Now the best part, took them 1 year...
__________________

__________________
0_o
mammikoura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 07:59 AM   #2
In Runtime
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 360
Default Re: No wonder it took long to get Vista ready for release

Lol?
__________________

Pyromaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 09:33 AM   #3
Site Team
 
root's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,999
Default Re: No wonder it took long to get Vista ready for release

well.. no wonder it's so expensive either!!!
__________________
I didn’t fight my way to the top of the food chain to be a vegetarian…
Im sick of people saying 'dont waste paper'. If trees wanted to live, they'd all carry guns.
"The inherent vice of capitalism is the unequal sharing of blessings; The inherent vice of socialism is the equal sharing of miseries."
root is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 10:18 AM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
LambOfGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,783
Send a message via MSN to LambOfGod
Default Re: No wonder it took long to get Vista ready for release

thats crazy
__________________
LambOfGod- Q6600 g0 @ 3.06 Ghz * DFI LANPARTY DK X48-T2RS * Antec 1200 * Rosewill RP550 PSU * EVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked *WD 74GB Raptor * 2 X Seagate 1TB 7200.11 (RAID 1) * 4 GB DDR2 1022 GSKILL 5-5-5-13 * Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit/Windows XP 64 Bit
LambOfGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 12:05 PM   #5
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: No wonder it took long to get Vista ready for release

It does take a lot of hardwork to create Windows considering how much code is put into it. As for being expensive, I'm not suprised. Windows XP was just as expensive when it released back in 2001.
alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 12:32 PM   #6
Golden Master
 
mammikoura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,459
Send a message via MSN to mammikoura
Default Re: No wonder it took long to get Vista ready for release

Quote:
Originally Posted by alvino
It does take a lot of hardwork to create Windows considering how much code is put into it. As for being expensive, I'm not suprised. Windows XP was just as expensive when it released back in 2001.
yeah, but one year and 24 people to create the shutdown menu? Now I don't know anything about programming, but seems to me that the shutdown menu is quite a small job compared to the rest of the OS.
__________________
0_o
mammikoura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 12:33 PM   #7
Fully Optimized
 
Nik00117's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,025
Send a message via AIM to Nik00117 Send a message via MSN to Nik00117 Send a message via Yahoo to Nik00117
Default Re: No wonder it took long to get Vista ready for release

If I ever ran MS, i'd say this code the damn thing and stop groofing about.
__________________
Main Rig: I7 920 CPU, 6 Gigs ram 5870 GPU
M17X Laptop 2.8 Ghz Dual Core, 4870 Radeon
Nik00117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 12:42 PM   #8
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: No wonder it took long to get Vista ready for release

the start menu wasnt working properly sometimes in some of the betas
__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 12:45 PM   #9
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: No wonder it took long to get Vista ready for release

It's a beta. Things are supposed to be glitchy in beta software. If it didn't have glitches, then it wouldn't be in beta testing. It would be the final release.
alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 04:57 PM   #10
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: No wonder it took long to get Vista ready for release

Quote:
Originally Posted by alvino
It's a beta. Things are supposed to be glitchy in beta software. If it didn't have glitches, then it wouldn't be in beta testing. It would be the final release.
yeah people would just run the beta instead of paying for the final version
__________________

__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0