Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2007, 04:22 PM   #1
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default New UPS's

I'm sure you can all remeber my old fairly custom UPS which I posted when I first made it

http://img157.imageshack.us/img157/1682/upswx0.jpg

I just skillfully acquired 9 of these new UPS
http://www.frontierpc.com/ProductDet...ctID=950018496
I've not heard much about the company at all, wondering what people thought. I won't get more than 10 min runtime on those with my PC unfortunately.

I had this idea, with the "surge only" ports to cut off the leads to them, and solder the leads directly to the 12 volt line. This way I could use my old battery packs, and get 3-6 hours runtime off the UPS. This is fairly safe, I blew up my old UPS when the wall jack came off the side and shorted out.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 05:55 PM   #2
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Re: New UPS's

get a PSU with a very high efficiency rating first, that way there is as little wasted energy as possible, then i would look into arranging those batteries(im pretty sure they are arent they) into a series and you should get a lot of run time. if you could get away with ~450 watts needed for your computer then you could get just under 9 hours of run time with all of the the UPS's
__________________

Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 06:16 PM   #3
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: New UPS's

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudster816 View Post
get a PSU with a very high efficiency rating first, that way there is as little wasted energy as possible, then i would look into arranging those batteries(im pretty sure they are arent they) into a series and you should get a lot of run time. if you could get away with ~450 watts needed for your computer then you could get just under 9 hours of run time with all of the the UPS's
I have a high efficiency power supply, computer draws alot less than 450 watts, so I should be good. And yes the black things are battery's, 4 X 6 volts. I put two in a series, and than i hook both pairs up in parallel.
DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 06:31 PM   #4
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Re: New UPS's

see if you can hook 3 up in a series and hook those 2 sets up.

it would also be cool to have a switch, have lets say 3 sets of 3 batteries and have a switch to control which one was being used
Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 06:51 PM   #5
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: New UPS's

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudster816 View Post
see if you can hook 3 up in a series and hook those 2 sets up.

it would also be cool to have a switch, have lets say 3 sets of 3 batteries and have a switch to control which one was being used
3 in series would would be 18 volts

I can only run two of those cells in series ever, rest need to be in parallel.

I'd need massive massive relay's to do switching as well, and having a switch is pointless, all battery's equally drained at the same rate. Only thing was the UPS took a full 3 days to fully charge them from dead.

I may get more battery's, those are the battery's that are used to backup phone line's in Canada. After 5 years they get scrapped, and they are for the main part still in great condition. 200 were thrown out a few months ago, when the next batch comes may pickup another 4 or so.




I consume
158 watts while idle,
190 watts using 50% CPU,
220 watts while using 100% CPU,
253 watts peak while booting

450 is fine
DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 07:20 PM   #6
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: New UPS's

oops, delete this please.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0