Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2007, 02:24 PM   #21
Golden Master
 
freestyler105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,883
Default Re: New ratchet and clank!

Quote:
Originally Posted by spywarebanisher View Post
im sure there are roms
You can easily get the games on torrents, but they're for modded PS2s. The emulators are just not advanced enough to run commercial games.
__________________

__________________
C2D E6600 | 4GB DDR2-800 | 9800GTX+ | Asus P5B-E | 150GB Raptor | 320GB 7200.10 | 750W Xigmatek PSU
freestyler105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 02:27 PM   #22
Golden Master
 
superman22x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to superman22x Send a message via Yahoo to superman22x
Default Re: New ratchet and clank!

my friend said there was an emulator, where you put the game in the disk drive and you can play it that way. Is that true, and is there something like that for xbox?
__________________

__________________
“Adults are just obsolete children and the hell with them.” - Dr. Suess
superman22x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 02:30 PM   #23
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: New ratchet and clank!

I'm sure with the Xbox you can modify the console and the hard drive so that you can just copy games into the hard drive and play it from there.
alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 02:31 PM   #24
Golden Master
 
freestyler105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,883
Default Re: New ratchet and clank!

Quote:
Originally Posted by superman22x View Post
my friend said there was an emulator, where you put the game in the disk drive and you can play it that way. Is that true, and is there something like that for xbox?
No, that's completely false. It's basically impossible to emulate a current gen console practically. You might get 4 FPS with the thing crashing all the time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alvino View Post
I'm sure with the Xbox you can modify the console and the hard drive so that you can just copy games into the hard drive and play it from there.
Yes, you can do that, I've done it. You put in a modchip or use a softmod, and install an alternate dashboard like EvolutionX. This allows you to FTP into your Xbox's hard drive. You can also put in a new hard drive to hold more games. Xbox Media Center is another dashboard you can use, it's great, you can store DVDs and pictures and music on your Xbox.

The other way is to rip Xbox games / DVDs. This works great if you rent lots of games/movies.
__________________
C2D E6600 | 4GB DDR2-800 | 9800GTX+ | Asus P5B-E | 150GB Raptor | 320GB 7200.10 | 750W Xigmatek PSU
freestyler105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 02:40 PM   #25
Golden Master
 
superman22x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to superman22x Send a message via Yahoo to superman22x
Default Re: New ratchet and clank!

I didnt mean xbox 360. But I didnt think you could do that. I've looked for emulators, and couldnt find any. I kind of want to play xbox on my lcd, but just yesterday I found VGA cable boxes for xbox, so I might get one of those.
__________________
“Adults are just obsolete children and the hell with them.” - Dr. Suess
superman22x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 02:50 PM   #26
Golden Master
 
freestyler105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,883
Default Re: New ratchet and clank!

Quote:
Originally Posted by superman22x View Post
I didnt mean xbox 360. But I didnt think you could do that. I've looked for emulators, and couldnt find any. I kind of want to play xbox on my lcd, but just yesterday I found VGA cable boxes for xbox, so I might get one of those.
Xbox 360 is considered a next gen console. I was talking about the regular Xbox.

It's not worth playing on your LCD. The resolution of a regular TV is 720x480. That's the resolution you'll be playing at, the regular Xbox doesn't do HD resolutions. So it'll look really bad on your monitor with a native resolution of 1280x1024 or more.
__________________
C2D E6600 | 4GB DDR2-800 | 9800GTX+ | Asus P5B-E | 150GB Raptor | 320GB 7200.10 | 750W Xigmatek PSU
freestyler105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 02:56 PM   #27
Golden Master
 
superman22x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to superman22x Send a message via Yahoo to superman22x
Default Re: New ratchet and clank!

O, I didnt know the xbox was considered a current gen still. Why isnt the 360 considered current gen instead of next gen?
Something that I wonder, is what are the next line of consoles going to be like? The PS4, or xbox 1080(idk what it will be called) or the next nintendo? The wii can improove in graphics, but the 360 doesnt have much more space to go graphics wise, and the PS3, well, it needs a lot of improovement, they coud probably use the same processor in the PS4 tho, lol.
__________________
“Adults are just obsolete children and the hell with them.” - Dr. Suess
superman22x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 03:21 PM   #28
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: New ratchet and clank!

Quote:
Originally Posted by freestyler105 View Post
Xbox 360 is considered a next gen console. I was talking about the regular Xbox.

It's not worth playing on your LCD. The resolution of a regular TV is 720x480. That's the resolution you'll be playing at, the regular Xbox doesn't do HD resolutions. So it'll look really bad on your monitor with a native resolution of 1280x1024 or more.
Technically the Xbox 360 is current-gen since all the "next-gen" consoles have been out for a while now.

As for the Xbox on a LCD, its' decent. I'm using a VGA box with my 20.1" monitor and the resolution is a bit off (considering it's 480p), but it's not bad. Still looks pretty good actually.

If you have the money, buy one of the VDigi or Neoya ones. Those actually up the resolution as it's being displayed so it looks really nice. They're a bit expensive and they run out of stock quite often, but they're well worth it if you can get your hands on one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by superman22x View Post
O, I didnt know the xbox was considered a current gen still. Why isnt the 360 considered current gen instead of next gen?
Something that I wonder, is what are the next line of consoles going to be like? The PS4, or xbox 1080(idk what it will be called) or the next nintendo? The wii can improove in graphics, but the 360 doesnt have much more space to go graphics wise, and the PS3, well, it needs a lot of improovement, they coud probably use the same processor in the PS4 tho, lol.
The Xbox 360 still has tons of potential. Don't think for one moment that the Xbox 360's graphical capabilities are towards the end.

Look at Gears of War...one of the best looking games ever and it doesn't even use half of the 360's power (yes, Epic even stated that).
alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 03:24 PM   #29
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: New ratchet and clank!

Whoops. Double posted.

My apologies.
__________________

alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0