Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2008, 08:41 PM   #1
Daemon Poster
 
NEED WOW NOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,315
Send a message via AIM to NEED WOW NOW
Default New Monitor!

I just ordered a new monitor on Sat.
Well, I thought I was screwed because I wasn't here when they dropped it off, but thankfully my UPS guy came back to check if anyone was home. Well, it's a 21.5 inch ASUS 2ms response time and full 1080p HD

I moved from a Samsung 17" monitor and god, this one is big! Thankfully I measured it before I got it as it barely fits!
Here's a pic and some links:



http://i212.photobucket.com/albums/c...0/DSC00350.jpg
http://i212.photobucket.com/albums/c...0/DSC00352.jpg

Newegg link:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824236051

Sadly, Farcry 2 doesn't play that great at this resolution on just one 4870 and a 5600+ @ 3Ghz

It's really bad though. High graphics with physics on low, trees on medium, fire on medium, I get horrible stutter frames from 0-45 . . .
Now I have to get a new Motherboard and CPU and probably another video card later on T_T
__________________

__________________
AMD is Happy!
Intel is Pissed!
Europe is $1.45 Billion Dollar's Richer!
NEED WOW NOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 10:14 PM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,744
Default Re: New Monitor!

It looks like a good monitor, nice choice!
__________________

StratosP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 10:33 PM   #3
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: New Monitor!

You ordered it on Saturday and got it today?
__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 10:47 PM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,744
Default Re: New Monitor!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 01001010 View Post
You ordered it on Saturday and got it today?
What's so surprising 'bout that?
StratosP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 11:15 PM   #5
Daemon Poster
 
NEED WOW NOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,315
Send a message via AIM to NEED WOW NOW
Default Re: New Monitor!

Lol, it was free shipping from Newegg so I got the standard three day shipping. Plus, it shipped right out of NJ - Where I live

I'm still trying to get over how big it is though. I could probably make a huge sig is it's based on the size!

The picture I posted up only takes up half the size of the monitor!


But I seem to have a hateful relationship with my left front speaker now. It fell on my head when I was plugging it in, leaving a nice gash T_T
__________________
AMD is Happy!
Intel is Pissed!
Europe is $1.45 Billion Dollar's Richer!
NEED WOW NOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 11:39 PM   #6
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: New Monitor!

nice. i also just got myself a second monitor to add to my 22 inch lcd. So awesome having dual monitors.
__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 11:50 PM   #7
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: New Monitor!

nice monitor, looks pretty nice for the price.

im assuming its you CPU thats ruining your FPS for Far Cry 2, But then again, it could be another part instead.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 12:19 AM   #8
Daemon Poster
 
NEED WOW NOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,315
Send a message via AIM to NEED WOW NOW
Default Re: New Monitor!

Yea, it's my CPU
It's OC to 3Ghz and my Ram is set to 430Mhz so I doubt that's the problem.
__________________
AMD is Happy!
Intel is Pissed!
Europe is $1.45 Billion Dollar's Richer!
NEED WOW NOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 02:05 AM   #9
Golden Master
 
ArrizX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16,073
Send a message via MSN to ArrizX
Default Re: New Monitor!

If your other monitor is a 17'' I want it.
__________________
. ()()()()
./l ,[_\_\ ],
l---L ()lllllll()-
()_) ()_)--o-)_)
ArrizX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 04:17 AM   #10
Daemon Poster
 
Szat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 625
Default Re: New Monitor!

nice screen, I just hope you are a former WoW addict like myself.
__________________

__________________
Intel Quad 6600, Asus P5N-E SLI, GeForce GTX 560 1GB, 6GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Zalman 9700NT, X-Fi Xtreme Gamer, 650 watt PSU
Szat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0