Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2009, 08:49 PM   #11
Golden Master
 
freestyler105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,883
Default Re: New ISP

Always use PeerGuardian and make sure it is up to date.
Make sure encryption is enabled.
Change which the ports you use from the default setting.
__________________

__________________
C2D E6600 | 4GB DDR2-800 | 9800GTX+ | Asus P5B-E | 150GB Raptor | 320GB 7200.10 | 750W Xigmatek PSU
freestyler105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 09:35 PM   #12
In Runtime
 
Equinox1354's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 255
Default Re: New ISP

I've torrented so many things its crazy from Adobe CS4 to GTA 3. I use Cox and they ahven't even warned me at all.
__________________

Equinox1354 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 11:01 PM   #13
In Runtime
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 154
Default Re: New ISP

Switch to FIOS they dont give a shit.
__________________
CPU: AMD Phenom X4 II 940 :: PSU: RAIDMAX 700W :: HDD 1 WD Caviar 1TB:: HDD2 WD Caviar 320GB ::: HDD3 Seagate 200GB :: HDD 4 Toshiba 150GB ::: GPU ATI HIS Radeon HD 4850::: Mobo: ASUS M3N78-EM :: Ram: ADATA 2x2GB PC3200
newjacksm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 01:01 AM   #14
Fully Optimized
 
dude_56013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: New ISP

Quote:
Originally Posted by freestyler105 View Post
Always use PeerGuardian and make sure it is up to date.
Make sure encryption is enabled.
Change which the ports you use from the default setting.
You know, I've been wondering this for a long time...what do you do to change the ports? I mean, like, what does it affect? Does it affect bandwidth or anything? Or is it just an extra security precaution. Any linkies to help me understand...granted, my ISP could care less...but I'd still like to have my own back. I'm definitely looking into P.G. though.
__________________
Intel Core i7-2600K @ 3.4GHz || GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3P-B3 || Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR3-1600 || EVGA GeForce GTX 480 || Samsung EVO 256GB SSD
my feet get cold and that gives me diarrhea sometimes - Smart_Guy
dude_56013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 01:55 AM   #15
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: New ISP

I got an warning from Qwest, after the warning, they never sent another email or anything.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 04:20 PM   #16
Fully Optimized
 
_-..zKiLLA..-_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,952
Send a message via AIM to _-..zKiLLA..-_
Default Re: New ISP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post
I got an warning from Qwest, after the warning, they never sent another email or anything.
really? wow i was told they didnt give a hoot so i didnt do anything about it and i've download at least 30 gigs of music and movies and i was never warned or nothing
__________________
My beast lappy: Acer netbook, 1.6ghz atom dual core, 2gb ddr3
My PSN: Kalikid_420
_-..zKiLLA..-_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 12:37 AM   #17
Golden Master
 
freestyler105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,883
Default Re: New ISP

Quote:
Originally Posted by dude_56013 View Post
You know, I've been wondering this for a long time...what do you do to change the ports? I mean, like, what does it affect? Does it affect bandwidth or anything? Or is it just an extra security precaution. Any linkies to help me understand...granted, my ISP could care less...but I'd still like to have my own back. I'm definitely looking into P.G. though.
It's just in the settings of whatever client you use...uTorrent is Options>Preferences>Connection.

Basically, ISPs will know which ports torrent clients use by default, and they might throttle bandwidth on that port or monitor it for copyright infringement or something.
__________________
C2D E6600 | 4GB DDR2-800 | 9800GTX+ | Asus P5B-E | 150GB Raptor | 320GB 7200.10 | 750W Xigmatek PSU
freestyler105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 01:18 PM   #18
Fully Optimized
 
_-..zKiLLA..-_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,952
Send a message via AIM to _-..zKiLLA..-_
Default Re: New ISP

Theres an option to have the port randomized every start up too
__________________
My beast lappy: Acer netbook, 1.6ghz atom dual core, 2gb ddr3
My PSN: Kalikid_420
_-..zKiLLA..-_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 10:39 PM   #19
Golden Master
 
freestyler105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,883
Default Re: New ISP

Quote:
Originally Posted by _-..zKiLLA..-_ View Post
Theres an option to have the port randomized every start up too
Problem with that is if you have a router and need port forwarding, you'd have to change that every time.
__________________
C2D E6600 | 4GB DDR2-800 | 9800GTX+ | Asus P5B-E | 150GB Raptor | 320GB 7200.10 | 750W Xigmatek PSU
freestyler105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 11:02 PM   #20
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: New ISP

Quote:
Originally Posted by freestyler105 View Post
Problem with that is if you have a router and need port forwarding, you'd have to change that every time.
Solution is most consumer routers support uPnP and uTorrent does as well.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0