Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2007, 01:21 AM   #11
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: New computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by lhuser
You're gonna laugh, because that board isn't OCable
Haha, theres always Solitaire...
__________________

alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 07:52 AM   #12
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: New computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by lhuser
You're gonna laugh, because that board isn't OCable
such a shame , i have a 1,1ghz duron thunderbird and i managed to oc mine to 1.5ghz without probs , looking for a good cooler for it then i may try higher

also i had a 1.4ghz celeron and this dueon kicked the celeron even at 1.1ghz ,

my duron is actuialy similar spec to that except mine has 640mb ram and i have put a 32mb gpu in mine
__________________

__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 04:54 PM   #13
Site Team
 
David Lindon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 15,233
Default Re: New computer

Not bad for experimenting, perhaps trying out a few linux type
__________________
[url=http://www.LNXPS.NET]LNXPS.NET - The XPS Library]
David Lindon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:07 PM   #14
Fully Optimized
 
^Mike^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,958
Send a message via ICQ to ^Mike^ Send a message via AIM to ^Mike^ Send a message via MSN to ^Mike^ Send a message via Yahoo to ^Mike^
Default Re: New computer

Nice, free stuff is awsome no matter how powerful it is!
^Mike^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:11 PM   #15
Golden Master
 
joxley1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,846
Send a message via AIM to joxley1990 Send a message via MSN to joxley1990
Default Re: New computer

Linux, server, folding box.. endless possibilites!

Or.. all three!
joxley1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:16 PM   #16
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: New computer

Actually, it's intended for LAN parties, but also, I could use it for a proper Linux machine. All I need is a PCI VGA, a 9250 like (Doesn't need to be high end) and I should be set. a PCI audio card is also on target. My favorite second hand computer shop is there 5 bucks for a PCI VGA card that is 16MB+ and a sound card for the same price. They have DVI AGP card for 5 bucks!

The only drawback is that the CPU is soldered in, and that sucks, but I won't die.
lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:40 PM   #17
Golden Master
 
joxley1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,846
Send a message via AIM to joxley1990 Send a message via MSN to joxley1990
Default Re: New computer

Can you overclock it?
joxley1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:53 PM   #18
Fully Optimized
 
CompMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,323
Send a message via AIM to CompMan
Default Re: New computer

Lan parties?? lol, what are you guys going to be playing? StarCraft??

lol, have fun w. it though, free is awesome.
__________________
|Intel Q6600@3.0ghz||ASUS MAXIMUS FORMULA||2GiG Corsair XM2 DDR2 800||EvGa 8800GTS||36gig Western Digital Raptor 10,000 rpm||Ultra X2 connect 550W modular psu||Thermaltake Tsunami Case|Vista 64bit|
Windows has Blue screens, Mac has grey screens, and CF has White screens!!
2004 Mazda RX-8 GT Titanium Grey, Greddy Exhaust, AEM cold air intake
--objects in rearview get smaller with each shift--
CompMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 09:40 PM   #19
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: New computer

That thing, with a PCI card, could run UT2004.
Quote:
Originally Posted by joxley1990
Can you overclock it?
Nope. It's locked. BIOS flashes are impossible to find. PC Chips is an ass with my board. That's the second onboard CPU I have and that's the second board they don't have in archives.
lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 09:46 PM   #20
Fully Optimized
 
troy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 2,410
Default Re: New computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by joxley1990
folding box..
hmm.... that actually gives me a good idea for a weekend project, I might turn my old PII dell optiplex into a folding box. Sure it won't be fast but it'll put the computer to good use
__________________

__________________
Desktop: Dell Dimension E510, 2.5GB RAM, Intel P4 3.0GHZ, 250GB HDD, Windows Vista Premium. Might not be the best, but the old girl is still running good.
troy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0