Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2008, 12:50 AM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
mongoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to mongoman
Default new 1 gig stick of ram :P

so yea i bought a stick which will bring my pathetic computer to a 1.2gig ram total . anyone know what kind of performance boost i can expect?specs:

1.8ghz cpu socket 478
1.2ghz ram ddr 1 300mhz
256mb radeon 9550
2x 250 gig 7200rpm western digital

i no its weak but its all i got and i dont really want a new computer now, i've becaume obsessed with the garage(cars, small engines and metal working)

EDIT: i havent installed yet, would ssay why but im typeing on a crap keyboard that annoys me, will later when i re-hook up my G11, its a pretty interesting story

crap, tried it and i think its been magnetized, i tried it nd it hung, moniter didnt come on(along side a 256mb stick) tried swiching them, nope tried taking the 256 out and than tried it in both slots still didnt work are my fears correct?
__________________

__________________
||Intel Core i5 @ 4.1ghz||Intel DP55KG||Corsair 750w psu||8gb G. Skill ram||120gb intel ssd 2x 1.5tb WD Green||MSI Gtx 970||
mongoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 02:18 AM   #2
Omnipotent One
 
Atomic Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 11,161
Send a message via AIM to Atomic Rooster Send a message via Yahoo to Atomic Rooster
Default Re: new 1 gig stick of ram :P

I wouldn't say your computer is going to run faster, but it will run better. It will be more able to handle the load that the operating system and programs put on it.
__________________

Atomic Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 02:35 AM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
Prodigy146's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,751
Send a message via AIM to Prodigy146 Send a message via MSN to Prodigy146 Send a message via Yahoo to Prodigy146
Default Re: new 1 gig stick of ram :P

Quote:
Originally Posted by mongoman View Post

crap, tried it and i think its been magnetized, i tried it nd it hung, moniter didnt come on(along side a 256mb stick) tried swiching them, nope tried taking the 256 out and than tried it in both slots still didnt work are my fears correct?
What is your motherboard? Maybe the ram you got is the wrong pin or you have too much ram for your mobo.
__________________
[Proc: Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3.6ghz] [Motherboard: Asus 870 M4A87TD EVO]
[GPU: Asus 5770 Crossfire] [PSU: Corsair 650 12v53a] [Cooler: Scythe Mugen 2]
[RAM: Patriot 4GB DDR3 1600] [Case: Antec 300 Illusion] [HDD: 2x WD 640GB Raid 0]
Prodigy146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 05:57 AM   #4
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: new 1 gig stick of ram :P

1.2ghz ram?
you mean gb?
if you only had 256mb? before then this will speed it up alot
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 10:40 AM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
LukaszR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,833
Send a message via MSN to LukaszR
Default Re: new 1 gig stick of ram :P

check to make sure your motherboard is compatible with that new stick. I'm sure its not magnitized...you just might have bought the wrong type of ram. Like i said, check your motherboard compatibility.

GoodLuck Mate!
LukaszR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 10:47 AM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
mongoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to mongoman
Default Re: new 1 gig stick of ram :P

well i dont think my mobo can handle it was pc2700 and the max on my mobo is pc2100 wich is 80 dollars for a 1 gig stick and im not paying
__________________
||Intel Core i5 @ 4.1ghz||Intel DP55KG||Corsair 750w psu||8gb G. Skill ram||120gb intel ssd 2x 1.5tb WD Green||MSI Gtx 970||
mongoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 10:59 AM   #7
Fully Optimized
 
LukaszR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,833
Send a message via MSN to LukaszR
Default Re: new 1 gig stick of ram :P

well then problem solved YAY! :P
LukaszR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 11:02 AM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
mongoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to mongoman
Default Re: new 1 gig stick of ram :P

how does that solve it? it just makes me more pissed, lol
__________________
||Intel Core i5 @ 4.1ghz||Intel DP55KG||Corsair 750w psu||8gb G. Skill ram||120gb intel ssd 2x 1.5tb WD Green||MSI Gtx 970||
mongoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 11:09 AM   #9
Fully Optimized
 
LukaszR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,833
Send a message via MSN to LukaszR
Default Re: new 1 gig stick of ram :P

well atleast now you know that stick isn't broken...and now you don't have to be so frustrated trying it in all the slots...nor do you have to call the place. Now you know what you need to buy so i think we can say the problem is solved :P.

Look around online, i'm sure you can find a good deal on a 1gig stick.
LukaszR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 02:38 PM   #10
Fully Optimized
 
mongoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to mongoman
Default Re: new 1 gig stick of ram :P

mabye but it gets old and expensive then you cant find it at all thats the problem
__________________

__________________
||Intel Core i5 @ 4.1ghz||Intel DP55KG||Corsair 750w psu||8gb G. Skill ram||120gb intel ssd 2x 1.5tb WD Green||MSI Gtx 970||
mongoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0