Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2007, 11:35 PM   #11
BSOD
 
Jenox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,156
Default Re: My Thoughts on Vista

Funny thing is, the laptop, Core 2 Duo, 2GBs of Ram, Go7800, and it's a 'compatibility' issue. I laugh at you Microsoft...I laugh at you...
__________________

Jenox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 11:42 PM   #12
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: My Thoughts on Vista

I do have Vista Ntream that takes as low as 256MB, without all that additional stuff. Harder, but smoother. I didn't bother...but I'm planning, once my room gets an "upgrade", to try it on a Dell PII, before I upgrade it to a Celeron 1.0
__________________

lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 12:06 AM   #13
Fully Optimized
 
D-Lew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,793
Send a message via AIM to D-Lew
Default Re: My Thoughts on Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffaz
Its in the list above mate
It "works" but my buddy and I had pretty much identical code, one line of code worked on my machine and the same line did not work for him for some reason. Moved the program over to my PC and it worked no problem.
D-Lew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 08:29 AM   #14
Fully Optimized
 
UK31337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,776
Default Re: My Thoughts on Vista

I think it's good on the whole, but UAC pisses me off, as well as having to run Command Prompt in Administrator mode to do simple things like renew my IP.
It ran really well until I installed AVG Free which absolutely slowed it down to nothing, which it didn't do on XP incidentally. I've never used any AntiVirus other than Windows Defender, and Windows Firewall, and everything's ship-shape. I also find it looks nicer than Mac OSX, which is just a brushed metal hell with annoying effects that don't help your productivity one jot.

Oh yeah, one other thing. Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 Pro throws up a big "This program has compatibility issues..." etc when I start it. One of MS's own flagship products, nothing else I've tried produced the same thing.
UK31337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 08:53 AM   #15
Fully Optimized
 
blackjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,945
Send a message via MSN to blackjack
Default Re: My Thoughts on Vista

Did it not bother you that you have to keep using the adminstater setting to install prorams, it wound me up that i couldnt install norton internet security 2005 or nod 32 av, i couldnt get win rar going either, then i tried the burning dvd option, talk about drawn out, i thought vista was going to be easier not harder, i tried the film encoding option in windows media that failed miserabley., so in my opinion it sucks, i have xp on with the vista inspirat upgrade on and that works fine, il keep it that way aswell.
oh sorry i forgot to mention i tried vista ultimate
__________________
Compaq Presario CQ5305K-m Intel® Pentium® Dual Core E5300 (2.6 GHz), Windows® 7 Home Premium 64 bit, 2048 MB , Hard drive: 320 Gb, with 18.5 Widescreen
SPURS TILL I DIE (DIAMONDS ARE FOREVER SO ARE SPURS)
TO DARE IS TO DO
blackjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 10:27 AM   #16
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: My Thoughts on Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jenox
Funny thing is, the laptop, Core 2 Duo, 2GBs of Ram, Go7800, and it's a 'compatibility' issue. I laugh at you Microsoft...I laugh at you...
Everything works fine on my Toshiba with a dual-core processor with 1GB of RAM.



Quote:
Originally Posted by UK31337
I think it's good on the whole, but UAC pisses me off, as well as having to run Command Prompt in Administrator mode to do simple things like renew my IP.
It ran really well until I installed AVG Free which absolutely slowed it down to nothing, which it didn't do on XP incidentally. I've never used any AntiVirus other than Windows Defender, and Windows Firewall, and everything's ship-shape. I also find it looks nicer than Mac OSX, which is just a brushed metal hell with annoying effects that don't help your productivity one jot.

Oh yeah, one other thing. Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 Pro throws up a big "This program has compatibility issues..." etc when I start it. One of MS's own flagship products, nothing else I've tried produced the same thing.
You can always disable User Account Control (I have it enabled, though). AVG Free didn't really slow it down for me. I like Vista over OS X too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackjack
Did it not bother you that you have to keep using the adminstater setting to install prorams, it wound me up that i couldnt install norton internet security 2005 or nod 32 av, i couldnt get win rar going either, then i tried the burning dvd option, talk about drawn out, i thought vista was going to be easier not harder, i tried the film encoding option in windows media that failed miserabley., so in my opinion it sucks, i have xp on with the vista inspirat upgrade on and that works fine, il keep it that way aswell.
oh sorry i forgot to mention i tried vista ultimate
I never experienced anything like that. Windows allows me to install whatever I want on my account.
LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 11:11 AM   #17
Golden Master
 
mark thorpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7,366
Send a message via MSN to mark thorpe Send a message via Yahoo to mark thorpe
Default Re: My Thoughts on Vista

vista is working fine on my pc at home, and tahts got 512 ram.. there have been no problems with it, i even played command and conquer generals on it the other day no problems whatsoever

the people who say that it is a memory hog, and you cant run it on anything other than 2GB ram are total liars, im running it fine on 512.. and have been for a month or so..
__________________
'I may be drunk, Miss, but in the morning I will be sober and you will still be ugly.'

Winston Churchill, 11/30/1874 - 01/24/1965
mark thorpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 11:18 AM   #18
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: My Thoughts on Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark thorpe
vista is working fine on my pc at home, and tahts got 512 ram.. there have been no problems with it, i even played command and conquer generals on it the other day no problems whatsoever

the people who say that it is a memory hog, and you cant run it on anything other than 2GB ram are total liars, im running it fine on 512.. and have been for a month or so..
Yeah, I run it smoothly with 1GB too.
LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 11:36 AM   #19
Golden Master
 
ISOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12,208
Default Re: My Thoughts on Vista

From my experience, it's been pretty positive with the migration over to Vista. I had some compatibility errors, but you can work around it by finding patches from manufacturer's website or just doing a search online for hot fixes and patch. SP1 is coming out soon so that should clear things up a bunch. A lot of companies aren't making the jump to Vista until SP1 is out anyways.

I've been monitoring the performance on my PC using the "Resource Monitor" built into Vista Business. My CPU is the bottleneck on my system. At times, it peaks like a mother. Actually, my index score for Vista is from my CPU rating, lol which is a 4.2. (Vista takes the lowest rating from the hardware test and use that index number for overall performance rating). 1GB is just fine to run normal applications and do regular things and all the aero goodies Vista throws at you. Boy, when you start playing games or running intense apps--like with any OS, more RAM is better.
__________________
*Fact: Microsoft Window's Blue Screen of Death vs Computerforums.org's White Screen of Death. Which is worse?
ISOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 12:16 PM   #20
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: My Thoughts on Vista

Service Pack 1 already?
__________________

LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0