Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2008, 09:05 AM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
drumthrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,606
Send a message via AIM to drumthrasher Send a message via MSN to drumthrasher Send a message via Yahoo to drumthrasher
Default My School is STUPID

My school has this "new computer lab", I mean theres TONS of boxes still sitting there.

ANYWAY, they have all these new little dell computers with AMD "Business Class" X2 5200 (or similar) CPU's with 1GB of RAM. Now, they came preinstalled with Windows Vista Business 32-bit SP1, then they stupid formatted the HD and put XP Pro SP2 on there. Now most of you will think that is smart but I think that is the dumbest thing you could do! Vista is better than XP so why downgrade??

Here come the Vista bashers .
__________________

__________________
Gateway GT4016 Desktop | CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3700+ @ 2.2GHz | RAM: 2GB (4x512MB) | HDD: 1x200GB, 1x120GB | Video: ATI HD Radeon 4850 512MB | OS: Vista Home Premium x86 SP1, Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.6
drumthrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 09:10 AM   #2
Site Team
 
celegorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,713
Send a message via AIM to celegorm
Default Re: My School is STUPID

If your school is anything like my old highschool the answer could be one (or two) things:

1) The techs simply don't know vista well enough to support it if something happens


2) While unlikely at this time, it is still possible that what ever programs they use to monitor your computers is not compatible with vista. I would have thought that it would be easier/cheaper to just buy new monitoring software over a whole new volume license from MS.
__________________

__________________
"as a fanboy i refuse to admit it and will pull countless things out of my butt to disprove it"

Team Thelegorm! Total Kills: 21 (i iz in uor profile, editsing your sigz)
celegorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 09:54 AM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
Jesusfrk611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: US
Posts: 2,193
Default Re: My School is STUPID

When XP was new my school did the same thing with Windows 2000. They bought brand new systems with XP, then downgraded them all to 2k Pro... The reason is probably what Celegorm said, the techs just don't know it well enough, or the software wasn't compatible. It seemed stupid at the time to me as well, but makes more sense now. We are getting brand new systems in some labs this year, so we will see if they actually left Vista on them or not. Last year we got brand new systems and it was still XP.
Jesusfrk611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 11:17 AM   #4
Golden Master
 
freestyler105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,883
Default Re: My School is STUPID

I bet they just mass deployed a disk image to all of them with all the software and settings already set up. That way, they wouldn't have to go through configuring Vista.
__________________
C2D E6600 | 4GB DDR2-800 | 9800GTX+ | Asus P5B-E | 150GB Raptor | 320GB 7200.10 | 750W Xigmatek PSU
freestyler105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 11:33 AM   #5
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: My School is STUPID

yea i agree. its not that vista is worse, its that they will be running server 03 or something simular and having a vista machine may cause issues/they dont know the os as well.
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 12:54 PM   #6
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: My School is STUPID

Quote:
Originally Posted by freestyler105 View Post
I bet they just mass deployed a disk image to all of them with all the software and settings already set up. That way, they wouldn't have to go through configuring Vista.
yep, I knolw my school uses ghost, and I'm sure many others do too. Don't wanna have to mess with making new discs, and xp is better on those specs.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 12:55 PM   #7
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: My School is STUPID

Quote:
Originally Posted by freestyler105 View Post
I bet they just mass deployed a disk image to all of them with all the software and settings already set up. That way, they wouldn't have to go through configuring Vista.
XP Images are hardware specific.

They are deploying XP so they can keep the same OS across all computers for support purposes. It's the smart move to do, moving to an OS like vista in a network enviroment is a big change.
DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 12:58 PM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
ace777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,110
Default Re: My School is STUPID

only thing i have a prob with is they spent al the extra money lcinces aren't cheap your school should have just keep them as is.
__________________
2.4 Ghz celeron, 1.25 PNY pc 2700 RAM,PNY VERTIGO 5200 FX , 40 GB HDD
900Mhz 256 RAM , MX 4000, 30 GB HDD
1.9Ghz dual core AMD Athlon 2 GB 384 VRAM 320 Gb HD
2.3 tricore phenom,2 GB RAM , EVGA 9600 GSO,250 GB SSD
2.6 X4 620, 4GB RAM, 9600 GSO, 500 GB HDD/I'm part of The Project
ace777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 01:34 PM   #9
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: My School is STUPID

Quote:
Originally Posted by ace777 View Post
only thing i have a prob with is they spent al the extra money lcinces aren't cheap your school should have just keep them as is.
Licenses are cheap. 5$ per PC
DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 01:49 PM   #10
Golden Master
 
freestyler105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,883
Default Re: My School is STUPID

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ-CHRIS View Post
XP Images are hardware specific.

They are deploying XP so they can keep the same OS across all computers for support purposes. It's the smart move to do, moving to an OS like vista in a network enviroment is a big change.
I know that, what I meant is that way they wouldn't have to go through reconfiguring everything to be compatible with Vista. They install everything to one machine, make an image, and deploy it to all the other machines.
__________________

__________________
C2D E6600 | 4GB DDR2-800 | 9800GTX+ | Asus P5B-E | 150GB Raptor | 320GB 7200.10 | 750W Xigmatek PSU
freestyler105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0