Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2008, 08:05 PM   #11
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: my car amp thread :D

16 and 18 is 34 amps. that gives you 408 watts, so if you did splice them together to use I would not put the amp over 8, but I doubt you would want that much bass anyways.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 09:11 PM   #12
Golden Master
 
ArrizX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16,073
Send a message via MSN to ArrizX
Default Re: my car amp thread :D

Ive wanted to do this forever. But I keep cycling thru the amps in my car, none ever make it to my room LOL!

Ill be honest though. To do the power he says (900wrms), he has LESS Then half the amps required to do it. Voltage drops are not normal like he says, and they can hurt an amplifier, and most usually amps do rated power at 14.4v because that is what the charging system in your car puts out at the alternator and thats what these amps are mad for. You dont get the RMS wattage at 12.7v unless it states so.

For 1000rms watts contentious you need about 60 amps. Like my amp in my car, I need like 72 amps because its a 1300wrms amp. I personally wouldnt think about using any high end stuff with any cheapo supply like he says. Use nice things so you dont burn down your house when either or fail.
__________________

__________________
. ()()()()
./l ,[_\_\ ],
l---L ()lllllll()-
()_) ()_)--o-)_)
ArrizX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 09:42 PM   #13
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: my car amp thread :D

1) ArrizX knows his stuff about amps
2) he said he is using a 400 watt amp, not a 900 watt amp.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 09:53 PM   #14
Fully Optimized
 
_-..zKiLLA..-_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,952
Send a message via AIM to _-..zKiLLA..-_
Default Re: my car amp thread :D

okay so if i was to use the 18amp PSU then it would work out for a 400watt amp? im not gonna be cranking it high and its only gonna be pushin my sub that can only handle up to ~300watts at the most.
__________________
My beast lappy: Acer netbook, 1.6ghz atom dual core, 2gb ddr3
My PSN: Kalikid_420
_-..zKiLLA..-_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 10:03 PM   #15
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: my car amp thread :D

I think that if you put them together (spliced the two psu's) then it should work.

just have a fire extinguisher nearby.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 10:06 PM   #16
Golden Master
 
ArrizX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16,073
Send a message via MSN to ArrizX
Default Re: my car amp thread :D

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubber314Chicken View Post
1) ArrizX knows his stuff about amps
2) he said he is using a 400 watt amp, not a 900 watt amp.
I know. Im disproving the guy in the video.
__________________
. ()()()()
./l ,[_\_\ ],
l---L ()lllllll()-
()_) ()_)--o-)_)
ArrizX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 10:39 PM   #17
Fully Optimized
 
_-..zKiLLA..-_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,952
Send a message via AIM to _-..zKiLLA..-_
Default Re: my car amp thread :D

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubber314Chicken View Post
just have a fire extinguisher nearby.
are u being serious? lol
__________________
My beast lappy: Acer netbook, 1.6ghz atom dual core, 2gb ddr3
My PSN: Kalikid_420
_-..zKiLLA..-_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 10:42 PM   #18
Golden Master
 
ArrizX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16,073
Send a message via MSN to ArrizX
Default Re: my car amp thread :D

I dont think he was serious. Honestly though i'm not sure how smart it would be to run two different ones together on the sam amp at the same time.

I personally have never even heard of two of the same ones being run at the same time. But then again, i've never looked into this very hard.



BTW I would use the bottom on out of your picture.
__________________
. ()()()()
./l ,[_\_\ ],
l---L ()lllllll()-
()_) ()_)--o-)_)
ArrizX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 11:43 PM   #19
Fully Optimized
 
_-..zKiLLA..-_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,952
Send a message via AIM to _-..zKiLLA..-_
Default Re: my car amp thread :D

can someone tell me how i would go about wiring this thing
__________________
My beast lappy: Acer netbook, 1.6ghz atom dual core, 2gb ddr3
My PSN: Kalikid_420
_-..zKiLLA..-_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 11:49 PM   #20
Golden Master
 
ArrizX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16,073
Send a message via MSN to ArrizX
Default Re: my car amp thread :D

Pretty much in the video.

Since you wont have it powered off a battery you can always have it on depending on the amp and how hot it gets. But what you do is you take the power wire from the PSU and use a jumper cable (DO NOTTTT!!!! use a freaking small ass metal wire like he did)and connect the two. You put that in the 12+ constant on the amp. You ground it like so, and you run a jumper cable from the 12+ on the amp over to the remote turn on. There it will always be turned on, waiting to receive a signal.

From there on you just plug in the RCAs and run speaker wire as needed.

I have never done this, so dont quote me. If you dont feel that i'm right, verify with someone else before attempting.
__________________

__________________
. ()()()()
./l ,[_\_\ ],
l---L ()lllllll()-
()_) ()_)--o-)_)
ArrizX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0