Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2019, 01:26 PM   #1
Golden Master
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5,404
Default My Boom Box Project

I noticed that we are talking about my project on two threads so the rest of the project will be done here.

Pics and all starting May.

Instant replay:

The Plan:



Raw material:



Tools from Harbor Freight Tools:



Rough cuts with the jig saw:



Block sanding and lots of elbow grease for custom fits:



Bad assembly which was corrected later:





Looking much better:



Paper cut outs for sizing:

__________________

__________________
I came on a Celeron and now my PC has Ryzen!
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2019, 11:57 AM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
strollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 2,334
Default Re: My Boom Box Project

Yeah, I asked a question about your project in a different thread. Sorry 'bout that.


With a 240W power supply, if you actually use all that power, you will be generating some heat. Have you thought about ventilation? I would drill some holes in either the top of the box or along the top of the back panel. Might even consider putting in a muffin fan to exhaust some heat.
__________________

__________________
strollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2019, 04:44 PM   #3
Golden Master
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5,404
Default Re: My Boom Box Project

I don't know how many amps it'll pull but 20 A is just overkill.
__________________
I came on a Celeron and now my PC has Ryzen!
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2019, 07:09 PM   #4
Golden Master
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5,404
Default Re: My Boom Box Project

C'mon Wednesday, hurry up and get here!
__________________
I came on a Celeron and now my PC has Ryzen!
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2019, 01:40 AM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
strollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 2,334
Default Re: My Boom Box Project

Well, that unit you listed is supposed to be 60W x 4 which is 240W which just happens to coincide with your power supply which is 12V x 20A or 240W.


Whether you ever use all that power is questionable. Most likely you will only ever use 2 of the 4 channels so that should halve your power requirements right there.
__________________
strollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2019, 04:12 AM   #6
Golden Master
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5,404
Default Re: My Boom Box Project

The channels will be bridged (4 into 2) and 240 watts is at full volume. I doubt I'll crank it that much, maybe half at most.
__________________
I came on a Celeron and now my PC has Ryzen!
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2019, 12:55 PM   #7
Fully Optimized
 
strollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 2,334
Default Re: My Boom Box Project

I don't think you'll be able to bridge those channels unless you use an external amp.

I did some current measurements with mine when I first got it and with the volume cranked as high as I was willing to listen, my unit only drew about 1.1A from my bench supply.

On these cheap little units, the power specs they state are laughable. On my unit, they claim 30W perchannel but it can really only produce about 13W per channel cleanly, after that the distortion is so bad a normal person couldn't stand to listen to it.

They don't say what impedance they used either which makes a big difference. An amp that can produce 60W with a 4 ohm speaker, can only produce 30W with an 8 ohm speaker.
__________________
strollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2019, 01:19 PM   #8
Golden Master
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5,404
Default Re: My Boom Box Project

I understand all that. The unit I have on the list was going to be 18/channel RMS but I'm not getting that unit as they sold out and resupply uncertain.

However I called Walmart because I haven't heard about the return and they told me they got it and are in the process of sending me the unit I ordered in the first place. I don't really want that unit anymore but I'm going have to change my list of the speakers to cheaper speakers.

When will I receive the unit? No idea. The project is at a stalemate now.
__________________
I came on a Celeron and now my PC has Ryzen!
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2019, 02:31 PM   #9
Golden Master
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5,404
Default Re: My Boom Box Project

Never mind, I cancelled it. Now I can pick a better unit.

Amazon search is weird. If I use the link that's not my prime link I get a different list. I found the unit with 100% positive reviews and under $30.
__________________
I came on a Celeron and now my PC has Ryzen!
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2019, 06:19 PM   #10
Fully Optimized
 
Wallaby Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 2,869
Default Re: My Boom Box Project

How about this one Celery?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Car-Bluetoo...S7uFUDgys-mJBQ
__________________

__________________
Then the train was gone,and there was nothing but rails, the earth, the moon, the river and strong silence-and the haunting and immortal visage of America by night
Thomas Wolfe
Wallaby Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0