Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2009, 01:34 AM   #1
In Runtime
 
50mobber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 189
Default Most Overclockable system

I was bored and wondering if you could build the most overclockable system, what would it be? Budget or not
__________________

__________________
Asus P5Q Pro | Intel Q6600 @3.2ghz | G. Skills 4gb DDR2 1066 | 2x Velociraptor 150gb (Raid 0) | Velociraptor 300gb | Sapphire HD4870 512MB | Antec 900 | Coolmax 1200watts | Vista Home Premium 64bit

Asus PK5 Deluxe | Intel E8400 @ 3.8ghz | 4gb | XP Pro
50mobber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 02:06 AM   #2
Golden Master
 
Cabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,912
Send a message via AIM to Cabbs
Default Re: Most Overclockable system

I would probably build an AMD Phenom II DDR3 system, just for a little variety. What specific components? I don't know, I don't know much about newer motherboards on Intel's or AMD's side.
__________________

__________________
=Like anime? Come to AnimeAppeal.com!=
||DFI UT P35||Q9550@3400 Mhz||Geil 4GB RAM||Radeon 5770||
Cabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 03:14 AM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
Prodigy146's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,751
Send a message via AIM to Prodigy146 Send a message via MSN to Prodigy146 Send a message via Yahoo to Prodigy146
Default Re: Most Overclockable system

you gotta give a budget man
Prodigy146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 10:19 AM   #4
Golden Master
 
Tommy Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 8,463
Send a message via Yahoo to Tommy Boy
Default Re: Most Overclockable system

Quote:
Originally Posted by 50mobber View Post
I was bored and wondering if you could build the most overclockable system, what would it be? Budget or not
The most overclockable system is not going to be a budget system. You will have to use high end parts and that will cost a lot of money.
__________________
When all else fails...Ham Radio!

I still have the same old HP DV9700T laptop I've had for years...still kickin'
Tommy Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 04:00 PM   #5
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: Most Overclockable system

The most overclockable system is proberbly a P4/Celeron/Pentium D (I cant remember which) on LN2.

That doesn't mean it will have the highest clock speed, I mean in terms of increase...
j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 05:32 PM   #6
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: Most Overclockable system

Mine:


Mobo
EVGA 132-BL-E758-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813188039
$299.99

CPU
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115202

RAM
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145224

HDD
Western Digital Caviar Green WD10EADS 1TB 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM x2
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136317

GPU
EVGA 896-P3-1258-A1 GeForce GTX 260
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130443

Case
Antec Twelve Hundred
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129043
Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 05:46 PM   #7
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: Most Overclockable system

AFAIK, the Multiplier on that CPU is Locked, Thelis?
j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 06:00 PM   #8
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: Most Overclockable system

Yes, the multiplier is upwardly locked- however, you can achieve the same results simply by raising the base clock or FSB.

http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/articl...50aHVzaWFzdA==

http://hothardware.com/Articles/Over...cessor/?page=4
Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 06:11 PM   #9
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: Most Overclockable system

Hmm.. I heard that for EPAC results, you needed an unlocked multiplier. MY SOURCES WHERE INCORRECT :O
j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 06:16 PM   #10
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: Most Overclockable system

Well, the thing is- I will probably get my 920 to 4.1Ghz+ with my WC set up. Even if I stick to 4.0Ghz, I am still beating Intel's current leading processor (965XE at 3.2Ghz and a whopping $1,000) by .8Ghz. I'd call that EPAC.

i7 920
1600MHz ram x2 = "3200/16=200" can use 200bclk max "21x200=4200mhz"

1866MHz ram x2 = "3732/16=233" can use 233bclk max "21x233= all the way up to 4893mhz"

As you see, if I use the Dominator RAM and get serious about my cooling, the limit is VERY high.
__________________

Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0