Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2007, 06:31 PM   #1
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default modifying lawnmower engine...

does anyone know what is a standard rpm that lawnmowers run at? and the little thingie on the carburetor (like a pentagon on the top) adjusts rpm, right, not the mixture (that is a screw, right)
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 06:33 PM   #2
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: modifying lawnmower engine...

Reduce the size of the sprocket on the engine and this will increase the rpm's of the transmission input shaft

found that on some website
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 06:48 PM   #3
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: modifying lawnmower engine...

Yeah, I know that, but I want to be able to have a throttle control (a pedal), becuase me and my friend are making a go cart...
__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 06:59 PM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
bullzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: US
Posts: 3,283
Send a message via Yahoo to bullzi Send a message via Skype™ to bullzi
Default Re: modifying lawnmower engine...

lawn mower engines are the exact same as gocart engines, the only thing is that lawnmower engines are vertical not horizontal, if you are going to run a lawnmower engine on its side, it will not work, the oil will not flow right in the engine,

im no trying to be a fag by saying this, but if you dont know where the throttle adjustment is on the carb, maybe a little more research would be better before building one, because if you dont know this chances are there are more things you dont know..., just somethin to think about, but if you ever have any questions about gocarts let me know, my dad and i have built 10, 5 of which are racing and go 65mph (clocked with a radar gun)

as far as this carburetor goes, i need to know who makes the engine, should be briggs and stratton, robin, tecumseh or something like that, also, was it vertical? (meaning was it mounted in the lawnmower with the shaft pointing down, horizontal is when the shaft is horizontal) i need to know this so i can help you out
__________________
-Desktop- Dual Monitor, Q8200 2.34Ghz, 8GB, 1TB, XFX 6850, 7 Ultimate
-ASUS UL50- SU7300, 4GB, 500GB, G210M, 7 Home Premium 64, XP Pro
-HP NC6400- Core Duo 1.86Ghz, 2.5GB, 64GB SSD, x1300, XP Pro
bullzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 07:01 PM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
bullzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: US
Posts: 3,283
Send a message via Yahoo to bullzi Send a message via Skype™ to bullzi
Default Re: modifying lawnmower engine...

Quote:
Originally Posted by borat_sagdiyev View Post
Reduce the size of the sprocket on the engine and this will increase the rpm's of the transmission input shaft

found that on some website
wow, that website is wrong.. you would want the sprocket on the transmission smaller, and the sprocket on the engine bigger, but that wouldnt work for a gocart
__________________
-Desktop- Dual Monitor, Q8200 2.34Ghz, 8GB, 1TB, XFX 6850, 7 Ultimate
-ASUS UL50- SU7300, 4GB, 500GB, G210M, 7 Home Premium 64, XP Pro
-HP NC6400- Core Duo 1.86Ghz, 2.5GB, 64GB SSD, x1300, XP Pro
bullzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 07:22 PM   #6
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: modifying lawnmower engine...

Yeah, I know that the engine wouldn't work right on its side (but my friend nor my dad don't)

Here is some info off the side of the engine:
Sears Roebuck, And Co.
Model #: 143.986002
Family: STP185ULGIRA
Displacement: 186
D.O.M. 8103D


There is a little spring loaded torx screw on the side of the carb, I'm guessing that is the mixture, and the pentagon spring loaded thing is the throttle, becuase it has holes to attach cables and such.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 07:24 PM   #7
Fully Optimized
 
bullzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: US
Posts: 3,283
Send a message via Yahoo to bullzi Send a message via Skype™ to bullzi
Default Re: modifying lawnmower engine...

ya, and if you can take the air filter off and look inside, try moving the one that you think is the throttle and see if you can see the little metal disc inside the carb opening up or not, if not, then its somethin else on the carb
__________________
-Desktop- Dual Monitor, Q8200 2.34Ghz, 8GB, 1TB, XFX 6850, 7 Ultimate
-ASUS UL50- SU7300, 4GB, 500GB, G210M, 7 Home Premium 64, XP Pro
-HP NC6400- Core Duo 1.86Ghz, 2.5GB, 64GB SSD, x1300, XP Pro
bullzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 07:35 PM   #8
BSOD
 
Furby123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 491
Default Re: modifying lawnmower engine...

Sounds like a fun thing to do.
Furby123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 07:52 PM   #9
Fully Optimized
 
CompMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,323
Send a message via AIM to CompMan
Default Re: modifying lawnmower engine...

Cut the muffler off lol.
__________________
|Intel Q6600@3.0ghz||ASUS MAXIMUS FORMULA||2GiG Corsair XM2 DDR2 800||EvGa 8800GTS||36gig Western Digital Raptor 10,000 rpm||Ultra X2 connect 550W modular psu||Thermaltake Tsunami Case|Vista 64bit|
Windows has Blue screens, Mac has grey screens, and CF has White screens!!
2004 Mazda RX-8 GT Titanium Grey, Greddy Exhaust, AEM cold air intake
--objects in rearview get smaller with each shift--
CompMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 08:59 PM   #10
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: modifying lawnmower engine...

Quote:
Originally Posted by CompMan View Post
Cut the muffler off lol.
yeah, its a bolt on directly to the exhaust valve, so that would create issues with crap getting in the engine, but we might rig something...


edit- and yeah that is the throttle and the scree is the idle adjust. any idea what the rpm could be?
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0