Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2013, 06:13 AM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
ssc456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,279
Send a message via MSN to ssc456
Default Microphone Volume?

Hey guys,

I need a little not computing advice that i'm hoping someone here can help me with.

I have a hands free kit in my car, but I've never been able to use it because someone snipped the microphone off?

I've never bothered with it until recently my Mrs was in a car accident and tried phoning me but I was driving so couldn't answer! So figured i'd try to fix it.

My experiment stage was I nipped to the local Pound shop and bought myself a PC headset, I ripped off the headphones leaving just the microphone bit, I stripped down the wires headed to my car to twist them together and bingo it works (in principal). It only works if I shout extremely loudly lol.

So my question is how do I make it louder, I've checked the handsfree box on the car and the mic volume is up as loud as it can go.

So i'm thinking the microphone I used was a cheap nasty 1 headset microphone so i'm thinking 1, it's cheap and 2 as it's a headset microphone the actual microphone component usually sits less than an inch away from your mouth whereas in my car it's a good 12 - 18 inches away.

Would buying a more expensive "desk" microphone, one that's designed to pick your voice up from a further distance help do you think?

Obviously i'm looking at doing the same thing in stripping it down and wiring it up and I don't want to go out and buy a 20 or so microphone to take it apart and for it to still not work?

Any advice?
__________________

__________________
He who has never failed has never attempted anything worth succeeding at.

Dont Eat Animals, Its Not Good For Them And They Dont Like It!
ssc456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 01:53 PM   #2
Wizard of Wires
 
setishock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Not sure
Posts: 10,030
Default Re: Microphone Volume?

Most likely it was a electric condenser mic. They don't need a preamp and pretty sensitive. And they're inexpensive. But they are polarity sensitive.
__________________

setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 03:58 AM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
ssc456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,279
Send a message via MSN to ssc456
Default Re: Microphone Volume?

OK so do you think if I bought one of these: TINY TIE CLIP MIC LAPEL VOICE RECORDER LAVALIER ELECTRET CONDENSER MICROPHONE | eBay

Stripped the wires down and soldered them together it would work and be louder?
__________________
He who has never failed has never attempted anything worth succeeding at.

Dont Eat Animals, Its Not Good For Them And They Dont Like It!
ssc456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0