Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2007, 07:15 AM   #11
Fully Optimized
 
spywarebanisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,135
Default Re: Just got Verizon FIOS!!!

drool. its too bad cuz i cant use more than 20 bucks on interent monthly
__________________

__________________
amd athlon x2 4800+ 2.5ghz / 4gb ddr2 800mhz mushkin/ ZOTAC 8600gt 256mb / 320gb HDD 7200RPM / 250 watt psu
spywarebanisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 07:33 AM   #12
Golden Master
 
superman22x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to superman22x Send a message via Yahoo to superman22x
Default Re: Just got Verizon FIOS!!!

Man, your internet costs $10 less than mine, and I get 800kbs down, and about 600kbs up. Sprint mobile broadband, but once they upgrade to wimax, and evdo Rev B, I will pass a lot of people up.
You are really lucky tho, I wish we had even cable out here. maybe in 5 years, if the subdivision goes in a mile down the road.
__________________

__________________
“Adults are just obsolete children and the hell with them.” - Dr. Suess
superman22x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 09:37 AM   #13
Fully Optimized
 
esa193's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,210
Send a message via AIM to esa193
Default Re: Just got Verizon FIOS!!!

my net is awesome
and version suxs out here on long island
all my friends are constantly have conectivity problems
dropped service
i got optimum online
best internet ever
i pay 25bucks a month for 2mb download(forgot the upload) then 25 bucks for phone with unlimited calling to all of norther America
and 25 bucks for cable plus like 10 bucks more for all these extra movie channels
__________________
antec 900, q6600, 4G, 500G, 160G, 9800gtx, 780i, 47in 1080ptv, 5.1 surround sound

MacArthur wrestling pwns!
esa193 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 11:37 AM   #14
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: Just got Verizon FIOS!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ISOwner View Post
Oh, I've got Resident Evil Extinction on standby now. ETA 1h 10m. Then the movie is mine.
I heard that movie bombed. Just like all the other RE movies.

At least it wasn't directed by Uwe Boll.
alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 11:39 AM   #15
Fully Optimized
 
MooseMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,627
Send a message via AIM to MooseMan
Default Re: Just got Verizon FIOS!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ISOwner View Post
This thing is fast. Much faster than my cable internet I had before. Check out these blistering speeds!!



I mean, I downloaded a 10MB file in less than 5 seconds, lol. Can you imagine if I were to get movies?!? Then again, the weakest link is the slowest network on the other end. We just got the FIOS upgrade today. The crew from Verizon was working outside for nearly 4 hours before it was ready to go. We were all very impressed by the instant boost in speed. It was at least 5x faster than our previous network!!! I've run series of tests and some even showed near T2 speeds but definitely smoked a T1 connection.
I hate you.....
__________________
.::The top folder on the CF F@H team::.
http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/...&teamnum=42655
MooseMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 11:43 AM   #16
Daemon Poster
 
NEED WOW NOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,315
Send a message via AIM to NEED WOW NOW
Default Re: Just got Verizon FIOS!!!

Gratz Now you and me can brag about how fast our Internet speeds are.
I love Fios. ^-^
__________________
AMD is Happy!
Intel is Pissed!
Europe is $1.45 Billion Dollar's Richer!
NEED WOW NOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 11:48 AM   #17
Golden Master
 
ISOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12,208
Default Re: Just got Verizon FIOS!!!

You have FIOS too? I think we're the only two people on here that have this new service. We have a lot of people in this household that use the Internet, especially when it comes to downloading stuff so this is nice to have. I can't imagine the thought of using dial up, let alone DSL, lol.
__________________
*Fact: Microsoft Window's Blue Screen of Death vs Computerforums.org's White Screen of Death. Which is worse?
ISOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 11:51 AM   #18
Fully Optimized
 
MooseMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,627
Send a message via AIM to MooseMan
Default Re: Just got Verizon FIOS!!!

I have COX's medium sevice, which equals 5MB download and 1.5MB upload. It's not bad but i've used a similar speed to FIOS and it's flaming fast.
__________________
.::The top folder on the CF F@H team::.
http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/...&teamnum=42655
MooseMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 12:00 PM   #19
Golden Master
 
ISOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12,208
Default Re: Just got Verizon FIOS!!!

Cox is cable right? Imagine downloading 3x faster for the same price. Man, it's awesome. When I use to be downloading tons of stuff, I couldn't browse the Internet because everything's allocated to those downloads. Now it seems like I can do both now which is what I'm doing right now. Have four huge files being downloaded now and surfing at the same time. I was laughing when I was downloading Apple Quicktime last night. Man, that sucker moved. The green bar was zipping across like it was installing an appilcation instead of downloading one!!!

Upload seems to always be the same everywhere. Slow.
__________________
*Fact: Microsoft Window's Blue Screen of Death vs Computerforums.org's White Screen of Death. Which is worse?
ISOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 12:01 PM   #20
Fully Optimized
 
MooseMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,627
Send a message via AIM to MooseMan
Default Re: Just got Verizon FIOS!!!

lol. Yes Cox is cable. It is fast, but FIOS is much faster. Hopefully they will offer it in my area soon and I could convince my parents to buy it
__________________

__________________
.::The top folder on the CF F@H team::.
http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/...&teamnum=42655
MooseMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0