Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2006, 01:41 AM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
Paradox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,913
Send a message via AIM to Paradox Send a message via MSN to Paradox Send a message via Yahoo to Paradox
Default Just feel like braggin

I just conned a Webcam and a Microphone out of my mum and pop lmao It's great, The thing only cost 35 dollars and Its as if watching an avi or an mpg or something, Its great ^_^

Only problem is I bought it to use with my friends, but none of my friends have been on all day XD
__________________

__________________
ROW ROW FIGHT THE POWAH

Xbox Live: Error Lord
Personal Email: HunterMRose[at]gmail.com
Aim: Error Lord
Paradox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 11:30 AM   #2
Daemon Poster
 
thebigdintx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,272
Default Re: Just feel like braggin

congrats on the webcam....should be fun. i am lagging behind here, and just got a microphone finally. webcam is next for me too.......
__________________

__________________
Antec 300 Case, Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @ 3GHz, Gigabyte GA-EP43-UD3L, PNY 4GB PC6400 800MHz DDR2 RAM, XFX Radeon HD 5550 1GB DDR3 Ram, 1TB Western Digital Black 7200 32MB cache, 64-bit Windows 7 Ultimate SP1, Antec Earthwatts 500 Watts
thebigdintx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 11:35 AM   #3
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: Just feel like braggin

I have a webcam, but don't yet have a microphone.

I might get a new webcam soon though with a microphone built in.

Its kewl though huh?
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 11:42 AM   #4
Wizard of Wires
 
setishock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Not sure
Posts: 10,030
Default Re: Just feel like braggin

I have a LogiTech 3000 Pro. Ran about $40USD new. As for the pic, I would take the CreativeLabs little $25USD over it. The CL cam has better low light level sensitivity. Doesn't have a mic built in like the logitech but that's a minor problem. They do include a mic with a l-o-n-g cord.
setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 11:53 AM   #5
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: Just feel like braggin

Kewl

My webcam I have is a cheap one I got in a 2 for one deal I did with a mate. Its okay, but doesn't offer excellent quality but its okay for talking on the web.

It only allows for instance 640x480 viewing at 20 frames per second, compared to when at a smaller size, 30 frames per second, so could be better built. Plus, you tend to see alot of artifcacts on still images, like too much sharpness, etc.

So basically with a webcam, you get what you pay for really.
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 12:04 PM   #6
Wizard of Wires
 
setishock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Not sure
Posts: 10,030
Default Re: Just feel like braggin

Not really. The cheaper of the two I have is the better one.
Now I have a suggestion. All you need to make the cam work is the usb drivers located on the install cd. Right click on the cd icon and select explore. Find the folder that has the usb drivers and load them. Don't load the other garbage on the cd. It's just junk.
Since you have the cam already loaded just uninstall it. EVERYTHING. Then just put the drivers on. When you get on to yahoo or msn the chat software will control the cam. I use mine on skype. Lurks says it looks great. And all I have is the drivers.
Also if you want to make movies or take stills try movie maker 2 or media encoder 9. Both are free from M$. Media encoder 9 has a lot of setting and adjustments you can make. Takes a little playing around to find what works.
setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 01:06 PM   #7
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: Just feel like braggin

I have Movie Maker 2. Thats quite a good program for simple editing, and is also excellent at compression too.

Though I'll look into Media Encoder 9. Thanks Seti
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 08:51 PM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
mikee286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,130
Default Re: Just feel like braggin

I have a logitech quickcam messenger and it has a built in mic but the pictiure quality is kinda bad but meh its good enough for me
__________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz, 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram, crucial M500 240GB SSD, 500GB WD
1.5 TB Seagate, XFX Radeon 6670 1Gb GDDR5, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
mikee286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 10:55 PM   #9
Daemon Poster
 
connchri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,019
Send a message via MSN to connchri
Default Re: Just feel like braggin

Hmm, Have they got any Monitors with a Webcam built in yet - like the new Macs? I like everything neat and tidy. I've put my iBook on eBay and the auction starts the moro if anyones interested. I'll post a thread in sales and wants the moro night when it's alive....
__________________
Delta: "What's wrong Chris?? Chris: "I miss my old Cyrix"
connchri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 11:06 PM   #10
Fully Optimized
 
Paradox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,913
Send a message via AIM to Paradox Send a message via MSN to Paradox Send a message via Yahoo to Paradox
Default Re: Just feel like braggin

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikee286
I have a logitech quickcam messenger and it has a built in mic but the pictiure quality is kinda bad but meh its good enough for me
mine is the logitech quickcam IM, is that what you have? cuz my quality sucked too, just ajust the focus (by turning the circle on the front) and it should get better

(some people dont know that you can adjust that on a webcam)
__________________

__________________
ROW ROW FIGHT THE POWAH

Xbox Live: Error Lord
Personal Email: HunterMRose[at]gmail.com
Aim: Error Lord
Paradox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0