Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2006, 04:47 PM   #1
BSOD
 
Computergen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,175
Default Jurassic Park...

Anyone think it could happen in real life? LIke if we had dinosaur DNA do you think we could replicate dinosaurs like in Jurassic park?
__________________

Computergen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 04:49 PM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
Paradox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,913
Send a message via AIM to Paradox Send a message via MSN to Paradox Send a message via Yahoo to Paradox
Default Re: Jurassic Park...

No because the onedna molecule of a living organism does not tell how every single of the billions of cells that make up that organism are formed.

Also, You can't recreate life from a dead creature.
__________________

__________________
ROW ROW FIGHT THE POWAH

Xbox Live: Error Lord
Personal Email: HunterMRose[at]gmail.com
Aim: Error Lord
Paradox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 05:08 PM   #3
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: Jurassic Park...

I'm sure there is some way.

But not with dinosaurs.

They can though do it with bacteria, etc, but not in the same way. For instance, reviving them. Same with plants.
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 05:21 PM   #4
Daemon Poster
 
Feircepc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,241
Default Re: Jurassic Park...

well i think they will be some day. they've already cloned a sheept wats stopping from a dinasaur?
__________________
I'm Back!
Feircepc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 05:22 PM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
Paradox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,913
Send a message via AIM to Paradox Send a message via MSN to Paradox Send a message via Yahoo to Paradox
Default Re: Jurassic Park...

because the sheep was alive, and the dinosaur isn't
__________________
ROW ROW FIGHT THE POWAH

Xbox Live: Error Lord
Personal Email: HunterMRose[at]gmail.com
Aim: Error Lord
Paradox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 05:57 PM   #6
Daemon Poster
 
Lac3y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,110
Send a message via MSN to Lac3y
Default Re: Jurassic Park...

But they have preserved dinosour blood aswell. It is inside insects that have been trapped in tree sap (amber) for millions of years.

All they have to is extract the blood and there you go, dinosaur DNA.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 3.7GHz
4GB OCZ PC-6400 RAM
Samsung Spinpoint 1TB HDD
ATI Radeon HD4890 with VoltageTweak
OCZ Stealth XStream 600w PSU
Lac3y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 06:04 PM   #7
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: Jurassic Park...

Yeah but did you see on Jurrasic Park that they sued frog DNA to finish the sequence? i doubt that'd work in real life. Not every sequence would be in a drop of blood. Not everything thats needed anyway.
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 06:15 PM   #8
Daemon Poster
 
Lac3y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,110
Send a message via MSN to Lac3y
Default Re: Jurassic Park...

It's been a while since I saw Jurrasic Park, why did they need frog's dna?

Doesn't every single cell in any one organism contain complete DNA?

And where did they grow the dinosaur?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 3.7GHz
4GB OCZ PC-6400 RAM
Samsung Spinpoint 1TB HDD
ATI Radeon HD4890 with VoltageTweak
OCZ Stealth XStream 600w PSU
Lac3y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 06:34 PM   #9
Daemon Poster
 
GlasseyeUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,208
Send a message via MSN to GlasseyeUK
Default Re: Jurassic Park...

They are currently carrying out work on recreating the geonome of the Woolly Mammoth and are almost half completed, it is easier to do this then with something like T Rex etc, as there are closer living relatives such as the elephant...

See link below....

Woolley Mammoth
__________________
AMD Athlon 64, 2200 (11x200) 3700+,ASRock 939S56-M, SiS 756 AMD Hammer,NVIDIA GeForce 6600LE, 2048(DDR SDRAM), Maxtor 5A300J0 300GB 5400RPM, Ultra ATA/133)

Time tells all, but if the moment in time passes and you miss it, then you will remember it for ever!!
GlasseyeUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 08:16 PM   #10
BSOD
 
JustinMcG67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,519
Send a message via AIM to JustinMcG67 Send a message via MSN to JustinMcG67 Send a message via Yahoo to JustinMcG67
Default Re: Jurassic Park...

No, the DNA structure would have to be nearly completely intact. They wanted to do this on that Mammoth, but the DNA wasn;t good enough. You need almost perfect DNA to clone somethign. I read this in Popular Science last week. Was interesting.
__________________

JustinMcG67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0