Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2006, 12:20 AM   #1
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default I've always wondered....

why is it that on commercials of electronic items it always says "screen image simulated"? why cant they show the real screen?
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2006, 12:58 AM   #2
Daemon Poster
 
BigLu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,140
Send a message via AIM to BigLu
Default Re: I've always wondered....

because cameras for tv record at lower frame rates than whatever they're recording, usually monitors, so there usually appears big bars moving down the monitor because it's catching only some of the vertical refreshes of the monitor, and looks bad.
__________________

__________________
E8400
HD 4870
4GB DDR2
BigLu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2006, 01:01 AM   #3
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: I've always wondered....

Yup. Haven't you ever watched the news on TV and when they show someone with a computer monitor or TV on behind them and you see bars moving down? That's why. You can hardly see the intended stuff and it looks detracting. That's why they put in simulated images instead.
alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2006, 01:02 AM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 1
Posts: 2,525
Default Re: I've always wondered....

good example is the news. when you watch the news and they have a story about computers or something they always have the huge bars running through the monitors...that and because electronic commercials are nazis.

damn you alvino, same though different post time lol

btw congratz on double bars john
Ronco Rox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2006, 01:23 AM   #5
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: I've always wondered....

HAH! I beat you.
alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2006, 03:23 AM   #6
Golden Master
 
Brookfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: I've always wondered....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronco Rox
Because electronic commercials are nazis.
Why "Nazi's" ??
Brookfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2006, 03:29 AM   #7
Golden Master
 
mammikoura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,459
Send a message via MSN to mammikoura
Default Re: I've always wondered....

if you want to check for yourself, just take a digital camera and watch your pc screen through it.
__________________
0_o
mammikoura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2006, 04:31 PM   #8
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: I've always wondered....

Quote:
Originally Posted by alvino
Yup. Haven't you ever watched the news on TV and when they show someone with a computer monitor or TV on behind them and you see bars moving down? That's why. You can hardly see the intended stuff and it looks detracting. That's why they put in simulated images instead.
Rep point, Alvino. I always wondered about that.
LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2006, 04:33 PM   #9
Site Team
 
David Lindon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 15,233
Default Re: I've always wondered....

Quote:
Originally Posted by borat_sagdiyev
why is it that on commercials of electronic items it always says "screen image simulated"? why cant they show the real screen?
They would have to sync the refresh rate of the screen and the camera or it would flicker. Plus its an excuse to show a much sharper image than in real life
__________________
[url=http://www.LNXPS.NET]LNXPS.NET - The XPS Library]
David Lindon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2006, 07:59 PM   #10
Golden Master
 
Tommy Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 8,463
Send a message via Yahoo to Tommy Boy
Default Re: I've always wondered....

lol...I couldn't imagine a pc commercial with the huge bars running down the screen....yeah that would make me want to buy the pc....lol
__________________

__________________
When all else fails...Ham Radio!

I still have the same old HP DV9700T laptop I've had for years...still kickin'
Tommy Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0