Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2009, 03:56 PM   #21
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: Internet Speed Test Time!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ-CHRIS View Post


And I have one of the best residential Internet connections available in Canada
I redid my speed test and chose a different server. Due to my ISP being absolutely f*cking retarded, my ISP routes all it's traffic through Chicago, IL, so even if I connect to a neighbours computer on a different ISP, that traffic goes into a whole different country to reach them

__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 04:55 PM   #22
Site Team
 
David Lindon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 15,233
Default Re: Internet Speed Test Time!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronspc View Post
why is mine so low but our bill is so high haha

isnt it abnormal to have upload speed faster then download too wtf.
Is your download throttled/capped or something?
__________________

__________________
[url=http://www.LNXPS.NET]LNXPS.NET - The XPS Library]
David Lindon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 09:28 PM   #23
In Runtime
 
ErdricK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 326
Default Re: Internet Speed Test Time!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ-CHRIS View Post


And I have one of the best residential Internet connections available in Canada
lol I am Canadian and I get an awesome connection, almost 25Mbps baby...I find that Shaw Cable is one of the fastest out there and I only pay $29.99 a month
__________________
Say what you will about the Ten Commandments, you must always come back to the pleasant fact that there are only ten of them.
ErdricK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 09:37 PM   #24
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Internet Speed Test Time!!



Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronspc View Post
why is mine so low but our bill is so high haha

isnt it abnormal to have upload speed faster then download too wtf.
Isnt Comcast more of an Neighborhood type of thing? Where if your whole Neighborhood started to DL, then you wouldnt go fast, but if no one was DL, then you would go the full speed of what you paid for. I always find it annoying DL things from my friends house with cable, my speed goes up and down and randomly. When it goes fast, I'm like YAY! but when it goes slow, I'm like WTF?
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 09:42 PM   #25
Fully Optimized
 
vampist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,404
Default Re: Internet Speed Test Time!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post




Isnt Comcast more of an Neighborhood type of thing? Where if your whole Neighborhood started to DL, then you wouldnt go fast, but if no one was DL, then you would go the full speed of what you paid for. I always find it annoying DL things from my friends house with cable, my speed goes up and down and randomly. When it goes fast, I'm like YAY! but when it goes slow, I'm like WTF?
I think a lot of them are like that.. Unless you order a private line.
__________________
Everyone's Favorite Turd xD
ET: "Phone home!"
Geek: "ping 127.0.0.1"

"If that guy knew half the $h*t that I know, his fuzzy little head would explode. " - Matthew Farrell
vampist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 09:47 PM   #26
In Runtime
 
ErdricK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 326
Default Re: Internet Speed Test Time!!

DSL speeds are affected by distance from you to the data centers.......

Cable speeds are affected by the number of users on in one particular area at the same time.

BTW I would love to see someone with an SDSL connection do a speed test....SDSL is awesome but very rare.
__________________
Say what you will about the Ten Commandments, you must always come back to the pleasant fact that there are only ten of them.
ErdricK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 11:10 PM   #27
Baseband Member
 
SeverusSnape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 67
Default Re: Internet Speed Test Time!!

4.5Mbps down
256Kbps up

pitiful.
SeverusSnape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 11:25 PM   #28
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: Internet Speed Test Time!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post




Isnt Comcast more of an Neighborhood type of thing? Where if your whole Neighborhood started to DL, then you wouldnt go fast, but if no one was DL, then you would go the full speed of what you paid for. I always find it annoying DL things from my friends house with cable, my speed goes up and down and randomly. When it goes fast, I'm like YAY! but when it goes slow, I'm like WTF?
All cable is "neighbourhood" based. Theirs a single line that supports 38Mbps of bandwidth that's shared between multiple houses.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ErdricK View Post
lol I am Canadian and I get an awesome connection, almost 25Mbps baby...I find that Shaw Cable is one of the fastest out there and I only pay $29.99 a month
Shaw cable isn't available to nearly all Canadians, it would only be available to 1/6th? Half or more of Canada is stuck with Bell owned DSL or Rogers cable, which are both evil and horrid.
DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 11:29 PM   #29
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Internet Speed Test Time!!

When I say Comcast, I usually refer to cable to0. I guess since Comcast is the only cable provider I hear all the time, I associate Comcast with cable.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 11:32 PM   #30
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: Internet Speed Test Time!!



Any idea as to why my internet is so slow?
__________________

__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0