Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2008, 09:12 PM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
esa193's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,210
Send a message via AIM to esa193
Default intel is 32nm

Quote:
Intel has completed the development phase of its next-generation manufacturing process that shrinks chip circuitry to 32 nanometers, the chipmaker said Tuesday night
Intel processors are currently made on a 45nm process. Generally, smaller geometries result in faster and more power-efficient processors.
"The company is on track for production readiness of this future generation (of transistors)...in the fourth quarter of 2009," the chipmaker said in a statement.
Intel said it will provide technical details about the 32nm process technology at the International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM) next week in San Francisco.
Finishing the development phase for 32nm process technology keeps Intel on track with its "tick-tock" strategy. Tick-tock is intended to introduce either a new processor microarchitecture or cutting-edge manufacturing process about every 12 months.
"Producing 32nm chips next year would mark the fourth consecutive year that Intel has met its goal," the company said.
The 32nm paper and presentation "describe a logic technology that incorporates second-generation high-k + metal gate technology, 193nm immersion lithography for critical patterning layers, and enhanced transistor strain techniques," Intel said.
Other Intel IEDM papers will "describe a low power system on chip version of Intel's 45nm process, transistors based on compound semiconductors, substrate engineering to improve performance of 45nm transistors, integrating chemical mechanical polish for the 45nm node and beyond; and, integrating an array of silicon photonics modulators," according to the company's statement.
Intel will also participate in a short course on 22nm CMOS technology.
http://news.cnet.com/8301-13924_3-10119970-64.html

i see 6ghz in my future
__________________

__________________
antec 900, q6600, 4G, 500G, 160G, 9800gtx, 780i, 47in 1080ptv, 5.1 surround sound

MacArthur wrestling pwns!
esa193 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 09:20 PM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
_-..zKiLLA..-_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,952
Send a message via AIM to _-..zKiLLA..-_
Default Re: intel is 32nm

k AMD is officially in the dust
__________________

__________________
My beast lappy: Acer netbook, 1.6ghz atom dual core, 2gb ddr3
My PSN: Kalikid_420
_-..zKiLLA..-_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 09:30 PM   #3
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: intel is 32nm

Man....I have faith in AMD. They gotta stay in the race. I don't want a monopoly.
JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 09:33 PM   #4
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: intel is 32nm

Excactly,But 32nm?!?!?!

Holy Freakin crap.
__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 10:04 PM   #5
Daemon Poster
 
NEED WOW NOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,315
Send a message via AIM to NEED WOW NOW
Default Re: intel is 32nm

Yea . . . .
I love AMD a lot, but there slow as hell!

Look at the Athlon Line! When did that first come out! There still selling them and they came out around 2006!

AMD isn't delivering in the power range of processing! There new Deneb is supposed to fight the i7 in our minds but they are saying there still fighting the C2D!

What they really have to do is speed things up! I really hope that new Chip manufacturing building will help a lot! AMD is really going down the drain. I don't want a cheap ass computer, I want a cheap and powerful computer!
__________________
AMD is Happy!
Intel is Pissed!
Europe is $1.45 Billion Dollar's Richer!
NEED WOW NOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 10:07 PM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
_-..zKiLLA..-_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,952
Send a message via AIM to _-..zKiLLA..-_
Default Re: intel is 32nm

Quote:
Originally Posted by JogaBonito1502 View Post
I don't want a monopoly.
haha i know what that is!!!! man do i feel special
__________________
My beast lappy: Acer netbook, 1.6ghz atom dual core, 2gb ddr3
My PSN: Kalikid_420
_-..zKiLLA..-_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 10:16 PM   #7
Golden Master
 
superman22x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to superman22x Send a message via Yahoo to superman22x
Default Re: intel is 32nm

Quote:
Originally Posted by NEED WOW NOW View Post
Yea . . . .
I love AMD a lot, but there slow as hell!

Look at the Athlon Line! When did that first come out! There still selling them and they came out around 2006!

AMD isn't delivering in the power range of processing! There new Deneb is supposed to fight the i7 in our minds but they are saying there still fighting the C2D!

What they really have to do is speed things up! I really hope that new Chip manufacturing building will help a lot! AMD is really going down the drain. I don't want a cheap ass computer, I want a cheap and powerful computer!
Well, I think it all started with the C2D line... They were so cheap, and so fast, it blew the old P4 that a ton of computers had out of the water. Intel made a huge profit from it. They then have a huge amount of money for research, to produce yet another processor that blows the old away, and out comes the C2Q. Then the next one they become cheap, more energy efficient, and cool... AMD, is forced to lower their prices, and they loose research money then. It's a chain reaction.
__________________
“Adults are just obsolete children and the hell with them.” - Dr. Suess
superman22x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 10:17 PM   #8
In Runtime
 
Sinonymous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 424
Send a message via AIM to Sinonymous
Default Re: intel is 32nm

My AMD experiences umm... were bad. They overheat for the same speed intel can preform very cooly.
Sinonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 10:18 PM   #9
Fully Optimized
 
LukaszR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,833
Send a message via MSN to LukaszR
Default Re: intel is 32nm

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neodude112320 View Post
Excactly,But 32nm?!?!?!

Holy Freakin crap.
same reaction i got! thats amazing. amd is going to have to really come up with something to stay in this race.
__________________
Desktop - DualBoot: Fedora 15/Windows 7 64bit
Netbook - Windows 7 Professional

www.Cyber-Talk.ca League of Legends and Gaming Community
LukaszR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 10:54 PM   #10
Daemon Poster
 
NEED WOW NOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,315
Send a message via AIM to NEED WOW NOW
Default Re: intel is 32nm

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bringdapain View Post
My AMD experiences umm... were bad. They overheat for the same speed intel can preform very cooly.
Because of the on board memory controller, it should run hotter. Add the heat a FSB creates to a CPU and you get an AMD temperature on their CPU.
__________________

__________________
AMD is Happy!
Intel is Pissed!
Europe is $1.45 Billion Dollar's Richer!
NEED WOW NOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0