Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2009, 09:42 PM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
_-..zKiLLA..-_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,952
Send a message via AIM to _-..zKiLLA..-_
Cool Intel

So as a few of you know i work at Intel, yeahyeahyeah
Well most of the computers i actually work with and i am on are actually P4's. Not kidding, My system happens to be a dual xeon with server mobo, but its not that amazing to work on to be honest, and not to mention how slow the internet is there. Im sure there is important people streaming stuff but seriously its intel? they should all be using AT LEAST c2d. But P4? seriously

/rant

But other then all the really old hardware and exceptionally slow interwebz the job is pretty chill, what i actully do is i VNC into a virtual machine (somewhere in another state i believe) and then that vm connects to a htpc board that sits in front of me and i run video tests on a tv that also sits in front of me, everything from TSI tests (which is streaming video test, what i do is remote desktop to another computer that is hooked up to the test board via a fatass cable then run the test) to Impairment tests (where i remote desktop to another computer that is hooked up to this impairment box that basically fucks with the packets that come in and out of the streaming tests, and that basically tests the boards ability to maintain a picture under a bad stream signal) My boss' are pretty badass to be honest, i can text my girlfriend and pretty much surf the web while i wait for test content to download, its real chill. But yeah, there is my experience so far
__________________

__________________
My beast lappy: Acer netbook, 1.6ghz atom dual core, 2gb ddr3
My PSN: Kalikid_420
_-..zKiLLA..-_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 09:47 PM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
Grantofhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,762
Default Re: Intel

Sounds great. Can you get me a job ?
__________________

__________________
RD-PC -//- i7 950 // Evga x58 SLI // 3x2 OCZ PC3-12800 // 2x Evga GTX470 // Corsair HX850 // SilverStone TJ07
Grantofhell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 09:53 PM   #3
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: Intel

Quote:
Originally Posted by _-..zKiLLA..-_ View Post
Well most of the computers i actually work with and i am on are actually P4's. Not kidding, My system happens to be a dual xeon with server mobo, but its not that amazing to work on to be honest, and not to mention how slow the internet is there. Im sure there is important people streaming stuff but seriously its intel? they should all be using AT LEAST c2d. But P4? seriously
Most office computers don't need that much power. That's plenty enough for what you do.
__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 10:04 PM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
_-..zKiLLA..-_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,952
Send a message via AIM to _-..zKiLLA..-_
Default Re: Intel

Quote:
Originally Posted by 01001010 View Post
Most office computers don't need that much power. That's plenty enough for what you do.
Ehh not when its bogged down, the computer that i remote to do the Impairment tests literally takes like 15 minutes to log on. Its horrible.
__________________
My beast lappy: Acer netbook, 1.6ghz atom dual core, 2gb ddr3
My PSN: Kalikid_420
_-..zKiLLA..-_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 10:12 PM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
Grantofhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,762
Default Re: Intel

It kills me when I do work for any of my friends. From a quad back to the Cretaceous Era. They all run on singles (Celerons and S478 P4's) with like 512MB of RAM.

I feel your pain.
__________________
RD-PC -//- i7 950 // Evga x58 SLI // 3x2 OCZ PC3-12800 // 2x Evga GTX470 // Corsair HX850 // SilverStone TJ07
Grantofhell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 10:23 PM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
_-..zKiLLA..-_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,952
Send a message via AIM to _-..zKiLLA..-_
Default Re: Intel

Yeah man it sucks. Im not really sure whats the deal with my work comp because it says 3.6Ghz dual xeon and 2gigs of RAM so you think it would be pretty speedy. The Bios ( :P ) says its at 3.6 but CPU-z says like 2 somethin (cant really remember but it was way off)
__________________
My beast lappy: Acer netbook, 1.6ghz atom dual core, 2gb ddr3
My PSN: Kalikid_420
_-..zKiLLA..-_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 11:20 PM   #7
Fully Optimized
 
Grantofhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,762
Default Re: Intel

C1E? After all, That's Intel's heat reduction processor instruction set.
__________________
RD-PC -//- i7 950 // Evga x58 SLI // 3x2 OCZ PC3-12800 // 2x Evga GTX470 // Corsair HX850 // SilverStone TJ07
Grantofhell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2009, 05:26 AM   #8
Site Team
 
berry120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 3,425
Default Re: Intel

Quote:
Ehh not when its bogged down, the computer that i remote to do the Impairment tests literally takes like 15 minutes to log on. Its horrible.
You sure that's to do with the speed of the processor and not some network IO problem, bloated installs, fragmented filesystems or something else?

I've got a P4 machine at home running XP used for office work and gaming (though we're talking about games a few years old, not hugely intensive stuff!) and it's perfectly snappy. On the other hand I've used several core 2 duos and even quads that have been as sluggish as anything because they've been terribly set up...!

If your talking about a machine that's heavily loaded with multiple users on a regular basis then yes, I agree it's underpowered (though I wouldn't then class that as a normal workstation.) If it genuinally is a normal workstation though used for someone to remotely log into once in a while, a P4 should be fine - heck even the old 1Ghz PIII machine we've got manages XP / internet / office without any issues or lag, and it doesn't take more than a few seconds to log in!

I'd be more worried if you were running Athlons
berry120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2009, 06:12 AM   #9
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: Intel

Wait, so your streaming video over VNC? Haha, that's probably why the connection is so slow :P
j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2009, 12:57 PM   #10
Fully Optimized
 
bullzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: US
Posts: 3,283
Send a message via Yahoo to bullzi Send a message via Skype™ to bullzi
Default Re: Intel

Quote:
Originally Posted by j03 View Post
Wait, so your streaming video over VNC? Haha, that's probably why the connection is so slow :P
Yea no kidding. You'd think Intel would come up with a slightly better way

Congrats on the job bro, sounds pretty bitchin so far.
__________________

__________________
-Desktop- Dual Monitor, Q8200 2.34Ghz, 8GB, 1TB, XFX 6850, 7 Ultimate
-ASUS UL50- SU7300, 4GB, 500GB, G210M, 7 Home Premium 64, XP Pro
-HP NC6400- Core Duo 1.86Ghz, 2.5GB, 64GB SSD, x1300, XP Pro
bullzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0