Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2007, 10:35 PM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
FlightSimBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,114
Send a message via AIM to FlightSimBoy
Unhappy I'm so STUPID! <<RANT ABOUT COMPUTER>>

Ok, well... Earlier, I was sitting around messing with my computer. Then I decided I was going to upgrade my GPU drivers. Ok, standard monthly procedure for me. Well, this time it was different. I install the drivers. "ATi Catalyst 7.11 Requires a system reboot." Ok, normal.. So, I reboot...

Computer starts, but no display... I try again... nothing.. I try one more time... nothing.. Right about now, I was thinking "oh, shit, I fried my graphics card"

So, I go and remove my ATi card and see if onboard works. Yep, onboard video works, and I was messing around on it to see what happened. Can't find anything wrong, the ATi drivers appeared to be OK.

So, I pop my card back in.. new problem.. the computer beeps at me... beep. beep. beep. No pauses in the beeps, just 3 of them. So, I pull my card out again.. Same thing, three beeps. And to top that off, the CPU fan is spinning at full RPM and the PSU sounds like its under heavy load. I immediately turn the PC off, and sit for the next few minutes deciding what to try next.

So, I turn to my now 8 year old eMachines PC because I needed help. I looked up the BIOS codes for eMachines PC's. I have a Pheniox BIOS, but the beep code list didnt match up for some reason. Then I search some different terms. This tells me to try clearing the CMOS. I tried that by moving the jumper AND removing the battery... Ok, I feel pretty confident here. Power Up.

Beep. Beep. Beep.

So, now, I am really scared.. This computer is only 6 months old, it shouldnt have blown up on me yet. So, I pop the card out again and clean the gold contacts with alcohol. Put it back in.. three beeps...

I was just about to give up. Then I noticed that one of the clips on one of the RAM slots was popped out more than the ones on the other slot. So, I push on the RAM stick a little.. **SNAP*SNAP**

Well... I turn the PC on... YYYYYYEEEEEESSSSSS IT LIVES!!!

How the RAM got knocked loose, I have no idea. I probably did it when I was putting the side back on the case.

So, now, I'm sitting here thinking about how stupid that was. I noticed the clip earlier, I just didn't do anything about it for some odd reason.

But, hey, now she runs great. I had to re-sync the clock, but thats about it.

Oh, yeah, another thing, the card did need a little cleaning, the fan was a little dusty, and there were some fingerprints on the contacts.

</RANT>
__________________

__________________
My Computer: eMachines T5226 - Intel Pentium D Dual Core @ 3 GHz - Diamond Viper Radeon HD3870 OC Edition with 1 GB GDDR3 VRAM - 4 GB PQi Turbo DDR2-533 RAM - Corsair 650W PSU with 52A on single rail - TSSTcorp DVD-DL+-RW combo drive - Lite-on 52x CD-RW burner - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeGamer - Logitech z5300e speakers - WinFast TV Tuner - Vista Ultimate 64-Bit. eBay name: Flightsimboy304
FlightSimBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 10:59 PM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
Juice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,946
Send a message via AIM to Juice Send a message via MSN to Juice
Default Re: I'm so STUPID! <<RANT ABOUT COMPUTER>>

Haha, hate when that happens. Just reseat everything.
__________________

__________________
Juice
P4 2.4GHz, 1.5Gb, 40Gb.
PowerBook G4 867MHz, 1Gb, 60Gb.
Juice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 11:03 PM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
FlightSimBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,114
Send a message via AIM to FlightSimBoy
Default Re: I'm so STUPID! <<RANT ABOUT COMPUTER>>

Well, hey, lets just say that I learn from experience. So, next time something like this happens, the first thing I'm checking is the RAM.
__________________
My Computer: eMachines T5226 - Intel Pentium D Dual Core @ 3 GHz - Diamond Viper Radeon HD3870 OC Edition with 1 GB GDDR3 VRAM - 4 GB PQi Turbo DDR2-533 RAM - Corsair 650W PSU with 52A on single rail - TSSTcorp DVD-DL+-RW combo drive - Lite-on 52x CD-RW burner - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeGamer - Logitech z5300e speakers - WinFast TV Tuner - Vista Ultimate 64-Bit. eBay name: Flightsimboy304
FlightSimBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 11:30 PM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
A True Folder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,789
Default Re: I'm so STUPID! <<RANT ABOUT COMPUTER>>

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlightSimBoy View Post
Well, hey, lets just say that I learn from experience. So, next time something like this happens, the first thing I'm checking is the BEEP CODES IN THE MANUAL.

There you go mate, I fixed it for you.

__________________
E8600@ 4.25GHz, 1.325V | Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme + Scythe Slipstream 120 | Asus Rampage Extreme| 4GB Corsair 2000MHz 8-8-8-24 @ 1600 6-7-6-24| ASUS 9800GTX| Pioneer 18X SATA DVD-RW | 320GB + 500GB WD SATAII | Antec True Power Trio 650W | Thermaltake Sonata | Vista Ultimate x64 SP2/Win7 Ultimate
A True Folder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 11:39 PM   #5
Golden Master
 
Cabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,912
Send a message via AIM to Cabbs
Default Re: I'm so STUPID! <<RANT ABOUT COMPUTER>>

This brings back memories of the time I took apart my PC for the first time. This was about 3 or so years ago with a Compaq that had a Socket A Athlon 1.4 Ghz and 256 MB RAM. I was bored, so I decided to see what the CPU looked like.

First things first, gotta remove the heatsink. There are no handles on the clip, so I had to resort to using needlenose pliers. Having to use a lot of my weight on the motherboard scared me, but I got it off eventually.

After admiring the socket A goodness, I put it all back together. Turned it on, but no display and a red blinking light. I freaked out because I though I broke something. I was even more afraid of my dad getting pissed at me.

After a few hours of thinking and pacing, the RAM was just slightly out of place. Re-seated it and away I went.

Point is, we all make stupid mistakes
__________________
=Like anime? Come to AnimeAppeal.com!=
||DFI UT P35||Q9550@3400 Mhz||Geil 4GB RAM||Radeon 5770||
Cabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 11:41 PM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
FlightSimBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,114
Send a message via AIM to FlightSimBoy
Default Re: I'm so STUPID! <<RANT ABOUT COMPUTER>>

Hey, true folder.. um.. eMachines PC's dont come with mobo/ bios manuals... because emachines are cheep ass PC's
__________________
My Computer: eMachines T5226 - Intel Pentium D Dual Core @ 3 GHz - Diamond Viper Radeon HD3870 OC Edition with 1 GB GDDR3 VRAM - 4 GB PQi Turbo DDR2-533 RAM - Corsair 650W PSU with 52A on single rail - TSSTcorp DVD-DL+-RW combo drive - Lite-on 52x CD-RW burner - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeGamer - Logitech z5300e speakers - WinFast TV Tuner - Vista Ultimate 64-Bit. eBay name: Flightsimboy304
FlightSimBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2007, 12:40 AM   #7
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Re: I'm so STUPID! <<RANT ABOUT COMPUTER>>

hey, someone on here couldnt get there SATA HDD to work, though it was drivers. ended up he unplugged the power cable to get somewhere in his case and forgot to plug it back in
Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2007, 02:49 AM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
A True Folder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,789
Default Re: I'm so STUPID! <<RANT ABOUT COMPUTER>>

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlightSimBoy View Post
Hey, true folder.. um.. eMachines PC's dont come with mobo/ bios manuals... because emachines are cheep ass PC's
Don't let that hold you back, try teh interwebs

Bios Central

__________________
E8600@ 4.25GHz, 1.325V | Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme + Scythe Slipstream 120 | Asus Rampage Extreme| 4GB Corsair 2000MHz 8-8-8-24 @ 1600 6-7-6-24| ASUS 9800GTX| Pioneer 18X SATA DVD-RW | 320GB + 500GB WD SATAII | Antec True Power Trio 650W | Thermaltake Sonata | Vista Ultimate x64 SP2/Win7 Ultimate
A True Folder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2007, 03:26 AM   #9
BSOD
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 315
Send a message via MSN to bobert
Default Re: I'm so STUPID! <<RANT ABOUT COMPUTER>>

hahaha. i no now , if computer doesnt turn on. check ram clips
__________________

bobert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0