Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2017, 12:52 PM   #11
Fully Optimized
 
Wallaby Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 2,055
Default Re: I will be away for a while

Sounds like a bad cable to me. Try and replace the Sata cable.
__________________

__________________
I'm lost. I've gone to look for me. If i should return before i get back, Please ask me to wait.
Wallaby Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 01:07 PM   #12
Fully Optimized
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4,584
Default Re: I will be away for a while

I think it's just bad connections. I rocked the plugs in the sockets and it worked. Explains the random errors.

Also explained why Windows wanted me to reactivate because my system changed. One of the components wasn't detected. It wouldn't let me reactivate but to reinstall. After I cleared the connections Windows saw it back to normal and allowed me to activate.
__________________

__________________
I came on a Celeron!
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 01:35 PM   #13
Fully Optimized
 
Smart_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 3,448
Default Re: I will be away for a while

Weird, Windows I thought deactivates if the main components; mobo and CPU, changed only, not supporting ones like drives and such. I disconnected tons of stuff with no problem. Maybe the first time the activation did not automate (not sure if that was a real English word) with the internet connection or it was disconnected.
__________________
My main rig (click here).
Smart_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 02:37 PM   #14
Fully Optimized
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4,584
Default Re: I will be away for a while

You may be right SG. My PC crashed just from idling when I left the room.

It could be the board after all. It's 6 years old but it's supposed to be a durable made board.
__________________
I came on a Celeron!
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 05:27 PM   #15
Fully Optimized
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4,584
Default Re: I will be away for a while

Ok, here what I found so far. My disk drive was corrupted and fixed by Scan Disk. The system file checker showed corrupted system files and created a log. According to the log it's a mess so I put in the W10 disk to do the repair.

The key was not recognized and aborted. Sheez. It was a DLed file and put on disk to install over W7. I'll have to install W7 and then W10.

To hell with W10. W7 it is as I have the OEM disk.

Here we go and laterz.
__________________
I came on a Celeron!
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 06:40 PM   #16
Fully Optimized
 
Wallaby Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 2,055
Default Re: I will be away for a while

I have been having issues with my w7. My weather system keeps shutting down and locking up and bad data for rain. Don't do it on w10. Haven't figured out wth is happening. I hardly go to that disc anymore staying with 10. Never thought i would say that.....
__________________
I'm lost. I've gone to look for me. If i should return before i get back, Please ask me to wait.
Wallaby Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 06:48 PM   #17
Fully Optimized
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4,584
Default Re: I will be away for a while

I'm back with W7 and staying with it. W10 is awfully nice I can tell you that in comparison.

Now I'll be busy installing stuff I need now that I got the net. Laterz.
__________________
I came on a Celeron!
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 10:09 PM   #18
Fully Optimized
 
Smart_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 3,448
Default Re: I will be away for a while

Good luck man. In such cases, I make a safe-fail image of Win7 then upgrade to Win10 and see if it works well and make an image of it. If something wrong happens, the Win7 image is there with all the software packages ready.
__________________
My main rig (click here).
Smart_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 10:17 PM   #19
Beta Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 4
Default Re: I will be away for a while

A few years ago when Windows 10 was new, I had a free upgrade from Windows 8. After a few weeks on Windows 10, my computer crashed. Installed back Windows 8 and haven't got a problem since.
__________________
Chaory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 11:00 PM   #20
Fully Optimized
 
Smart_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 3,448
Default Re: I will be away for a while

Yeah, Win10 started really bad.
__________________

__________________
My main rig (click here).
Smart_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0