Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2008, 12:35 AM   #21
Fully Optimized
 
Jesusfrk611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: US
Posts: 2,193
Default Re: I used a MAC for the first time ever today...

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ-CHRIS View Post
Should run practically everything.
You just have to make sure you download the PPC version and not the x86 version of Linux if using a Power PC CPU.

For the one mouse button, if it's a desktop, get a PC USB mouse and the second button will work like it does on Windows. If on a laptop, the same thing, but it might get a little annoying to carry around a mouse if you are on the go. Ctrl+click actually isn't that hard to remember once you get used to it. I'm also a big Ctrl+C user, and had to get used to Apple key+C for copy on my Mac. Kinda weird since there is still a Ctrl key on the Apple keyboard.

For OSX, it not for everyone. I decided to get a used Apple to see what all the hype was about. I'm not overly impressed, but it's alright, something to get used to. I'm not a convert or anything since Windows still supports a majority of the programs I use, while Mac doesn't. For buying Apple hardware to run Windows, why bother? It will cost you more than to just get a PC that is actually made for Windows.
__________________

Jesusfrk611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 01:19 AM   #22
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: I used a MAC for the first time ever today...

Quote:
Originally Posted by superman22x View Post
No, no misconception, trust me, this mouse had one button.
New macs too, they were no more then 2 years old, proly new at teh beggining of the year.
Then they came with a mighty mouse, which has around four buttons. You can't seem them, but they're there.

For Macbooks, you simply place two fingers on the touchpad to simulate a right click.
__________________

__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 09:03 AM   #23
Fully Optimized
 
ace777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,110
Default Re: I used a MAC for the first time ever today...

or put you fingers like a w and wiki wiki wiki like there is no tommorow, and yes macs still use a one button mouse set up our scholl bought macs last year and all had the one touch set up.




lolz
__________________
2.4 Ghz celeron, 1.25 PNY pc 2700 RAM,PNY VERTIGO 5200 FX , 40 GB HDD
900Mhz 256 RAM , MX 4000, 30 GB HDD
1.9Ghz dual core AMD Athlon 2 GB 384 VRAM 320 Gb HD
2.3 tricore phenom,2 GB RAM , EVGA 9600 GSO,250 GB SSD
2.6 X4 620, 4GB RAM, 9600 GSO, 500 GB HDD/I'm part of The Project
ace777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 09:48 AM   #24
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: I used a MAC for the first time ever today...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ace777 View Post
macs still use a one button mouse set up
http://www.apple.com/mightymouse/design.html

Quote:
Alas the fate of the one-button mouse in today’s multibutton world. Who has time for intuitive, elegant design when there is so much clicking to do? Thanks to a smooth top shell with touch-sensitive technology beneath, Mighty Mouse allows you to right click without a right button. Capacitive sensors under Mighty Mouse’s seamless top shell detect where your fingers are and predict your clicking intentions, so you don’t need two buttons — just two fingers. Click on the left side to use Mighty Mouse in its simplest, single-button form. Click on the right to access contextual menus within applications and edit, copy, label or download from your mouse. It’s simple sleight of hand.
__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 04:59 PM   #25
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: I used a MAC for the first time ever today...

I haven't used a Mac personally but from everything I've saw and read online and heard from others, I wouldn't mine having one. On the other hand, I'm fine with Windows right now so I don't feel the need to change.
LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 05:03 PM   #26
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: I used a MAC for the first time ever today...

2 button mice work perfectly fine on a Mac. I don't like them either to be honest, but thats a very bad reason for not liking them. Sorry.
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 05:18 PM   #27
Golden Master
 
superman22x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to superman22x Send a message via Yahoo to superman22x
Default Re: I used a MAC for the first time ever today...

Quote:
Originally Posted by 01001010 View Post
No, trust me, it was ONE button. Unless they had the buttons hidden on the bottom of the mouse where no one would be able to use them, which, after the fake delete button, I wouldnt be surprised... But it was one button, the whole thing clicked instead of just a button, and there was no dot thing like on the might mouse. I've used those little dot things before, and I dont like them either.
__________________
“Adults are just obsolete children and the hell with them.” - Dr. Suess
superman22x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 05:34 PM   #28
Golden Master
 
worshipme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,603
Default Re: I used a MAC for the first time ever today...

Quote:
I'll probably buy a mac someday. They're nice machines. But I'd probably either run Ubuntu or XP on it. Not really compelled to ever use Mac OSX.
Then there's no point in buying one. You have no freedom on the hardware side of things. All the drivers come from Apple for a start which I wouldn't feel comfortable with, and you need specific MAC hardware. The 8800GT and HD 3870 have just been released for the MAC yet the PC got them ages ago.
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE @ 4.0GHz + TU120E lapped - MSI 770-CD45 AM3 - 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1333MHz - Sapphire HD 4870 - Samsung Spinpoint 500GB 7200RPM 16MB cache HDD - Tagan TG600-BZ Piperock - (Currently open test bed) - Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit.
worshipme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 05:51 PM   #29
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: I used a MAC for the first time ever today...

superman22x, yep, they come default with 1 mouse button, but you can easily fit even a Microsoft mouse, and it'll work with 2, instead of having to press the Apple button instead.
__________________

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0