Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2004, 09:51 PM   #1
Beta Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1
Default I Think I Have A Virus Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hey guys,
I have a problem, I think I have a virus or a trojan on my comp. every time I open up internet explorer I don't get sent to my usual homepage (cox.net.nova/ or something to that effect) instead, I get sent to "http://www.icanfindit.net/?aid=533" and in my internet settings for the homepage it says "http://4-counter.com/?b=abc" it won't let me download almost anything and every time I run spybot it says spyware is detected and I delete it and it comes back after I open explorer about two times...I don't even go to a site just set the homepage to msn.com and it goes there about two or three times then goes back to sending me to "http://www.icanfindit.net/?aid=533."

Please contact me with any info you have on what this is how i got it and how to get rid of it. Thank you all for your time and wisdom

-contacat me at (thegeneral00069@cox.net)
__________________

thegeneral00069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2004, 09:19 AM   #2
Guru
 
Lord Kalthorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Britain
Posts: 13,293
Send a message via MSN to Lord Kalthorn
Default Re: I Think I Have A Virus Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by thegeneral00069
Hey guys,
I have a problem, I think I have a virus or a trojan on my comp. every time I open up internet explorer I don't get sent to my usual homepage (cox.net.nova/ or something to that effect) instead, I get sent to "http://www.icanfindit.net/?aid=533" and in my internet settings for the homepage it says "http://4-counter.com/?b=abc" it won't let me download almost anything and every time I run spybot it says spyware is detected and I delete it and it comes back after I open explorer about two times...I don't even go to a site just set the homepage to msn.com and it goes there about two or three times then goes back to sending me to "http://www.icanfindit.net/?aid=533."

Please contact me with any info you have on what this is how i got it and how to get rid of it. Thank you all for your time and wisdom

-contacat me at (thegeneral00069@cox.net)
Wipe all of your System Restore Points. They keep backups of System Files and the Trojan wil just come back from there.
__________________

__________________
A Knight is sworn to Honour. His heart knows only Virtue. His blade defends the helpless. His might upholds the Weak. His word speaks only truth. His wrath undoes the Wicked.
Lord Kalthorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 10:14 PM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
crazyman143's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,946
Default

it could be that spybot s&d isn't good enough to catch the spyware that's causing the problem? try another spyware program
crazyman143 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 10:21 PM   #4
Beta Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1
Default

i had the same exact problem.
i usually just use msn.com as my homepage, and then all of the sudden i have this mess called zestyfind.com on there. plus i was getting popups out of nowhere, and my computer slowed down to a halt.
it turns out my comp was hijacked, and basically being used as an email server.
so i deleted and deleted, but it would all just come right back, but i found an answer. it might work for you too.
heres what you should try
turn off your system restore feature and then boot your comp in safe mode, and then run an antivirus program. some viruses are already running by the time your computer is done booting up, so when you run your A/V in normal mode it will find the virus, but not repair it.
then after youre done with that, boot up in normal mode and run A/V again, and after that run a spyware program like ad-aware. thats a good one.
after that you can turn your system restore back on.
hope that helps
blatant3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 01:21 AM   #5
BSOD
 
bluto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,542
Send a message via ICQ to bluto
Default Re: I Think I Have A Virus Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by thegeneral00069
Hey guys,
I have a problem, I think I have a virus or a trojan on my comp. every time I open up internet explorer I don't get sent to my usual homepage (cox.net.nova/ or something to that effect) instead, I get sent to "http://www.icanfindit.net/?aid=533" and in my internet settings for the homepage it says "http://4-counter.com/?b=abc" it won't let me download almost anything and every time I run spybot it says spyware is detected and I delete it and it comes back after I open explorer about two times...I don't even go to a site just set the homepage to msn.com and it goes there about two or three times then goes back to sending me to "http://www.icanfindit.net/?aid=533."

Please contact me with any info you have on what this is how i got it and how to get rid of it. Thank you all for your time and wisdom

-contacat me at (thegeneral00069@cox.net)
do this,how the hell and why are you here with this to spread ?

http://housecall.trendmicro.com/hous...start_corp.asp
bluto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 04:39 AM   #6
Guru
 
Lord Kalthorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Britain
Posts: 13,293
Send a message via MSN to Lord Kalthorn
Default

Lol - thats not too polite.
__________________
A Knight is sworn to Honour. His heart knows only Virtue. His blade defends the helpless. His might upholds the Weak. His word speaks only truth. His wrath undoes the Wicked.
Lord Kalthorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 10:33 PM   #7
BSOD
 
bluto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,542
Send a message via ICQ to bluto
Default Re: I Think I Have A Virus Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Kalthorn
Lol - thats not too polite.
Maybe not.but this member either had and/or didn't use virus protection or should have got some and not surfed the web with a virus active.

bluto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 06:12 PM   #8
In Runtime
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 227
Send a message via AIM to Itsme Send a message via MSN to Itsme
Default Re: I Think I Have A Virus Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

thegeneral00069, I don't know if you have figured this out or not, but if not here's my advice:
There is one main reason why it could be coming up: The virus (if that is what it is) is in the startup folder, and evry tim eyou start up your computer the install file runs (and no, you usually can't delete it because it has protection). This is what you can do:
-Hit Windows+r (windows is the little flag key; and om assuming you are on a win system)
-type msconfig

You can change this, but could you tell me what OS you have?
Itsme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 06:16 PM   #9
In Runtime
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 227
Send a message via AIM to Itsme Send a message via MSN to Itsme
Default Re: I Think I Have A Virus Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

thegeneral00069, I don't know if you have figured this out or not, but if not here's my advice:
There is one main reason why it could be coming up: The virus (if that is what it is) is in the startup folder, and evry tim eyou start up your computer the install file runs (and no, you usually can't delete it because it has protection). This is what you can do:
-Hit Windows+r (windows is the little flag key; and om assuming you are on a win system)
-type msconfig
-click the startup tab (probably the farthest to the left)
-look through the list and un-click everything that has to do with the virus/spyware. It will probably have something to do with whatever page you were being redirected to, so you should look for anything that looks like it says something about "icanfindit" or whatever. Also, you said that spybot found it and deleted it. run spybot again and look at the name of the stuff you are deleting...i dunno what its called, but thats what you'll find out. once you have the name from spybot, go back to msconfig and un-click anything that has to do with that name.\


That usually will work. After you do that, run spoybot again and delete everything one last time. Hopefully it is fixed



If this doesn't work, could you tell me a bit about your comp? Especially could you tell me what OS you have?

Thanks,
Itsme
Itsme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 06:31 PM   #10
Guru
 
Lord Kalthorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Britain
Posts: 13,293
Send a message via MSN to Lord Kalthorn
Default

Good Advise; can't improve on that.
__________________

__________________
A Knight is sworn to Honour. His heart knows only Virtue. His blade defends the helpless. His might upholds the Weak. His word speaks only truth. His wrath undoes the Wicked.
Lord Kalthorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0