Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2008, 03:26 AM   #1
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default I got pwnt

It all started when I was playing a game. I can't quite remember all the details even though it happened just now; I'm just glad I got it over with. Well...It wasn't really while I was playing a game. I was talking to DJ-Chris and he was saying how he had a lot of portable stuff. Well, I decided to get the portable Pidgin, to save space you know. Well...I went to plug in my flash drive and BSOD! Then well, I restarted...my Netgear agent ran BSOD! Restarted again...and it worked fine. So I told Chris about the BSODs. Btw, these restarts were automatically. Then I decided to test the USB port, BSOD! I got the same 3 BSODs another time when I was trying another USB port. Well, I talked to Chris and we decided that I needed to update drivers. Well, I was updating and BSOD! So, it restarts. Then it says I'm missing Intel Chipset drivers (the one is was upgrading). I was like, SHIT! So, I decided to do a system repair. Well, when I went to do it, it just reformatted my C drive. So there we go...30 minutes of reformatting (good thing I keep music and movies on D drive). Once that was done, my computer started updating some drivers...this took about 30 minutes. Then I decided to add my anti-viruses/firewalls. Well this took a little, but then came Spy-bot - Search & Destroy. After checking for all bots (1 hour of checking), I proceeded to install Firefox, Thunderbird, and the driver for my wireless adapter. I got the mozilla items installed pretty well, but the driver just wouldn't install. After my 6th try, it worked! Now comes the 100 or so Windows updates...Oh god I'm not ready. Good thing is that my USBs are working! I just need to get the link for Pidgin again...And that's my story. Hopefully I'll never have to do this again. Once, I get Pidgin on my flash-drive, I'll get some programming environments on here and voila! Nothing more. It's been a long night. Been doing this since 11 or so.

On the good news...what did you guys think of the France/Italy game? I think if Ribery hadn't gotten injured we might have had a different score. Spain is going to beat Italy though. No Pirlo no win. Portugal is going to take it all the way.

Brasil plays Argentina later this week. It's almost do or die. Brasil lost to Paraguay on the World Cup qualifiers. If we keep losing we're not qualifying! That would suck. Brasil has qualified like every World Cup!

One more thing: Is SP3 for XP out yet? I haven't gotten...and I really don't want to install these bugillion updates...
__________________

JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 05:20 AM   #2
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: I got pwnt

I Think you can torrent it,as it's not *Officially* out yet according to google.
__________________

__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 05:52 AM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
ssc456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,279
Send a message via MSN to ssc456
Default Re: I got pwnt

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neodude112320 View Post
I Think you can torrent it,as it's not *Officially* out yet according to google.
thats awfully strange as i def havent torrented it and im running SP3 ? i remember getting it from microsoft website.

http://www.softwarepatch.com/windows...ce-pack-3.html

dunno why its not on microsofts website, had it been pulled back again?

i did a new build like a month ago went to update and there was only 1 update. SP3 ?
ssc456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 06:09 AM   #4
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: I got pwnt

Oh ok,I Dont know why it's not on microsoft's website then....

Is it worth downloading?
__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 06:14 AM   #5
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: I got pwnt

Yeah, It's out. There is nothing *REALLY* noticable, but i'd get it.
j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 06:20 AM   #6
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: I got pwnt

Found it
__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 11:50 AM   #7
Fully Optimized
 
Jesusfrk611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: US
Posts: 2,193
Default Re: I got pwnt

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neodude112320 View Post
Yes, that's what I downloaded and it worked fine. It's been up for awhile now actually (the final release that is). I had tried SP3 the first time and it messed up my system though, so I went reading around and it said to install it in Safe Mode. So if you install it Joga, do it in Safe Mode just in case it wants to mess up your system so you don't have to go though a bunch of restore crap again.
Jesusfrk611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 02:56 PM   #8
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: I got pwnt

Ehh...I'm too lazy for that atm. Spent like 4 hrs getting everything back on my comp...
JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 03:57 PM   #9
Golden Master
 
freestyler105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,883
Default Re: I got pwnt

It happens. That's why once you get a clean install done with important apps installed you really should make an image of the hard drive.
__________________
C2D E6600 | 4GB DDR2-800 | 9800GTX+ | Asus P5B-E | 150GB Raptor | 320GB 7200.10 | 750W Xigmatek PSU
freestyler105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 04:33 PM   #10
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: I got pwnt

Well...I'm not putting games such as Warcraft III & Steam on this machine for a while. I'll just leave it like this. I doubt I'll play much this upcoming year.
__________________

JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0