Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2009, 07:33 PM   #1
Golden Master
 
Tommy Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 8,463
Send a message via Yahoo to Tommy Boy
Default This I don't understand.......

I borrowed my boss' Garmin Streetpilot c330 GPS for my trip to Charlotte. I tried it on the way home from his house and it worked pretty well until I got to the cross roads where I turn onto my road. The gps had my address as being north of the road I was on (turning left) instead of where I really live which is south (turning right), so it was giving me the wrong directions. I figured it needed updated and I read in the user manual that you can purchase map updates. So I figured, how much can they cost? A few bucks for a map update?

Nope, I was wrong......70 bucks!!!

You buy a $400 GPS and they have the balls to charge you 70 bucks for a map update!!! It should update itself!

Complete BS......

/rant
__________________

__________________
When all else fails...Ham Radio!

I still have the same old HP DV9700T laptop I've had for years...still kickin'
Tommy Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 07:58 PM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
FlightSimBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,114
Send a message via AIM to FlightSimBoy
Default Re: This I don't understand.......

Yep, complete BS. Not only should they update it for free for common courtesy, they should update it for safety. I'd hate to be in an emergency and have no clue where I'm at because my GPS doesn't work, or lost in some bad neighborhood where everyone is pointing a gun at someone.
__________________

__________________
My Computer: eMachines T5226 - Intel Pentium D Dual Core @ 3 GHz - Diamond Viper Radeon HD3870 OC Edition with 1 GB GDDR3 VRAM - 4 GB PQi Turbo DDR2-533 RAM - Corsair 650W PSU with 52A on single rail - TSSTcorp DVD-DL+-RW combo drive - Lite-on 52x CD-RW burner - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeGamer - Logitech z5300e speakers - WinFast TV Tuner - Vista Ultimate 64-Bit. eBay name: Flightsimboy304
FlightSimBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 09:03 PM   #3
Daemon Poster
 
PokerDegenerate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,465
Default Re: This I don't understand.......

I agree with ya there but some of them do offer free updates. Mine does that to me too tho sometimes Ill be cruising down the road and it will say take right here and all there is to the right is a huge friggen field. but if you go by it just says recalculating and ends up bringing you to the next street up. Well as far as mine goes...
__________________
Raidmax Smilodon Extreme Black Case -|-AMD Phenom II x4 955 BE @ 3829.50 Mhz (18.5 x 207, vcore 1.424, NB 2600 mhz, HT link 2200 mhz) -|- Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V -|- Gigabyte MA790XT-UD4P Mobo -|- G. Skill 6Gb (3 x 2Gb) DDR3 1333 RAM 7-7-7-18-2t -|- WD Caviar 7200 RPM 1 TB HDD -|- OCZ GameXtreme 700W -|- Radeon 4870 1Gb @ 780/1050 -|- Asus VW202NR 20" wide-screen -|- Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit -|- Saitek Cyborg Keyboard -|- Razer Lachesis Mouse
PokerDegenerate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 09:04 PM   #4
Golden Master
 
Tommy Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 8,463
Send a message via Yahoo to Tommy Boy
Default Re: This I don't understand.......

Quote:
Originally Posted by PokerDegenerate View Post
I agree with ya there but some of them do offer free updates. Mine does that to me too tho sometimes Ill be cruising down the road and it will say take right here and all there is to the right is a huge friggen field. but if you go by it just says recalculating and ends up bringing you to the next street up. Well as far as mine goes...
Yeah, that's what this one does too.
__________________
When all else fails...Ham Radio!

I still have the same old HP DV9700T laptop I've had for years...still kickin'
Tommy Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 06:01 PM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
tom-knox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,451
Send a message via MSN to tom-knox
Default Re: This I don't understand.......

Ours has told us to take right turns whilst we've been driving over river-crossing bridges. They can get a bit funny sometimes.
__________________
New laptop:
2.1 Ghz Core 2 Duo processor :: nVidia GT150m :: 15.6" HD LCD :: 4gb RAM :: 320gb HDD

New player: iPhone 4 32gb
tom-knox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 06:06 PM   #6
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: This I don't understand.......

That's why I use a map.
JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 06:13 PM   #7
Golden Master
 
ArrizX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16,073
Send a message via MSN to ArrizX
Default Re: This I don't understand.......

Quote:
Originally Posted by JogaBonito1502 View Post
That's why I use a map.
You still need to buy updated maps.
__________________
. ()()()()
./l ,[_\_\ ],
l---L ()lllllll()-
()_) ()_)--o-)_)
ArrizX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 06:20 PM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
FlightSimBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,114
Send a message via AIM to FlightSimBoy
Default Re: This I don't understand.......

^ Agreed, but you can pick up paper maps for 3 or 4 dollars, if not free. A lot better than 70 haha
__________________
My Computer: eMachines T5226 - Intel Pentium D Dual Core @ 3 GHz - Diamond Viper Radeon HD3870 OC Edition with 1 GB GDDR3 VRAM - 4 GB PQi Turbo DDR2-533 RAM - Corsair 650W PSU with 52A on single rail - TSSTcorp DVD-DL+-RW combo drive - Lite-on 52x CD-RW burner - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeGamer - Logitech z5300e speakers - WinFast TV Tuner - Vista Ultimate 64-Bit. eBay name: Flightsimboy304
FlightSimBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 06:24 PM   #9
Golden Master
 
Tommy Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 8,463
Send a message via Yahoo to Tommy Boy
Default Re: This I don't understand.......

Yeah, well I'm taking a map too, I would never travel without a regular map.
__________________
When all else fails...Ham Radio!

I still have the same old HP DV9700T laptop I've had for years...still kickin'
Tommy Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 06:43 PM   #10
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: This I don't understand.......

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArrizX View Post
You still need to buy updated maps.
I use the maps app on my iPod. Updates itself doesn't it?
__________________

JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0