Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2007, 09:19 PM   #1
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Angry How to waste cash

Well yesterday, I did some PC shopping. I went to tmy fav used local store and grabbed a 512MB DDRII667 for my laptop and I bought a Socket 7 board with a K6-2 500. He left the board for free with the CPU. I was preety happy. Now, I was still looking for someone to accept my crap I had sitting in the back of the car. On our way to my sis's place, there was another PC shops, but there, I can buy HDMI cable for 20 bucks, caps and all sort of things that bats The Source's butt. Extra cheap stuff....until it comes to computing.

I asked the lady for a S462 motherboard and heatsink (To fit my AMD Athlon XP 2000+). She gives me a board with dead caps. No probs. I can fix it. Guess what...SHE ASKED 10 DANG BUCKS! She was telling me those are for P4s....err...Socket 462? P4? Err, no. That's the second time I got there and both clerks can't even understand what the he!! I'm talking about. All other shops knows that. Anyways, for 20 bucks, no tax, I end up with that board, and the Thermaltake Volcano 6Cu heatsink.

So, today, I try to fix the POS. Two cap legs broke, rendering the board irreparable. All the soldering dissolved for some reason. Tried applying more and it made the board a bit flaky. Not only that, but I see the greenish color on the blue mat on the board (Gigabyte). Not only did I had to change caps, but volt regs also. Now, I know that if I try to return it, I'll never get another one What a waste of cash. Now, I've got to cross fingers that when I find a 4700uf, 6.3V cap for my MSI board, it will power on. A VIA KT133 with a 2000+ doesn't really fit.

So, I am sitting here, with the 3 mobos I bought from Ebay, and since I did a local pickup, he gave me 3 defective DVD Burners. I ended up fixing one, but the two others were self-destructing themselves! The boards? None started, but it was expected. The P4PE-X didn't had the green LED on, and the two others wouldn't even turn off upon the power switch. So, I'll have to desoler the caps. So now, I have wasted...32 bucks. Well, sort of. 12 bucks for caps and a refurbished DVD burner (I fixed it) isn't bad and 10 bucks for the TT volcano...meh. Still...10 bucks wasted.


Not only that, but I looked at a 486...and they were asking 200 for it...no HDD. Wow, what a rip off! So, I'll go there to buy bits and pieces, but for computing, my local PC shop OWNS.
__________________

lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 09:58 PM   #2
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: How to waste cash

that sucks to have peeps like that "yeah, p4's are socket 939 and 940, its all interchangeable"
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 10:07 PM   #3
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: How to waste cash

Yeah well I corrected her, saying it was for AMDs. Some people just don't know how to know their stuff...and that's what ticks me off.
lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 10:23 PM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
esa193's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,210
Send a message via AIM to esa193
Default Re: How to waste cash

the guy at pcrichards said that a p4 512 ram was top of the line and more then enough to run windows vista and play all next gen games = /
__________________
antec 900, q6600, 4G, 500G, 160G, 9800gtx, 780i, 47in 1080ptv, 5.1 surround sound

MacArthur wrestling pwns!
esa193 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 10:27 PM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
Juice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,946
Send a message via AIM to Juice Send a message via MSN to Juice
Default Re: How to waste cash

Well that sucks.
__________________
Juice
P4 2.4GHz, 1.5Gb, 40Gb.
PowerBook G4 867MHz, 1Gb, 60Gb.
Juice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 10:33 PM   #6
Golden Master
 
Cabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,912
Send a message via AIM to Cabbs
Default Re: How to waste cash

That sucks man, just be glad you waste a ton of cash.
__________________
=Like anime? Come to AnimeAppeal.com!=
||DFI UT P35||Q9550@3400 Mhz||Geil 4GB RAM||Radeon 5770||
Cabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 10:52 PM   #7
Daemon Poster
 
jo5h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,030
Default Re: How to waste cash

Quote:
Originally Posted by esa193 View Post
the guy at pcrichards said that a p4 512 ram was top of the line and more then enough to run windows vista and play all next gen games = /
haha thats funny
__________________
AMD 64 X2 Dual Core 3800+
Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe
Corsair CM2 X 512 x 2 A-6400
Nvidia 7600 GS 256 MB PCI-E 16x
jo5h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 11:01 PM   #8
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: How to waste cash

I'm 99% sure you can use a higher voltage cap.
DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 11:07 PM   #9
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Re: How to waste cash

i got a socket A board you could have if you payed shipping, im in the states but it shouldnt be too much. im not sure if it still works though, it worked great for my old 1.2 t-bird, ran great, its an asus from a prefab with 2 ram slots(SD though). if your interested shoot me a pm.
Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 07:13 AM   #10
Fully Optimized
 
spywarebanisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,135
Default Re: How to waste cash

Quote:
Originally Posted by jo5h View Post
haha thats funny
lmfao! r u serious?!
__________________

__________________
amd athlon x2 4800+ 2.5ghz / 4gb ddr2 800mhz mushkin/ ZOTAC 8600gt 256mb / 320gb HDD 7200RPM / 250 watt psu
spywarebanisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0