Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2007, 08:21 AM   #11
Fully Optimized
 
bullzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: US
Posts: 3,283
Send a message via Yahoo to bullzi Send a message via Skype™ to bullzi
Default Re: How to power a car amp with an ATX PSU

Quote:
Originally Posted by setishock View Post
For testing I suggest putting a switch on the green and one of the black leads. Toggle or rocker would do fine. Just dress up the connections with shrink boot. Just skin back the insulation somewhere along the line between the psu and the motherboard plug and attach the switch That way you can kill the psu right quick if need be and it looks better.
yep i agree, that would be a good addition, i just didnt have a rocker switch i could put on
__________________

__________________
-Desktop- Dual Monitor, Q8200 2.34Ghz, 8GB, 1TB, XFX 6850, 7 Ultimate
-ASUS UL50- SU7300, 4GB, 500GB, G210M, 7 Home Premium 64, XP Pro
-HP NC6400- Core Duo 1.86Ghz, 2.5GB, 64GB SSD, x1300, XP Pro
bullzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 08:22 AM   #12
Fully Optimized
 
bullzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: US
Posts: 3,283
Send a message via Yahoo to bullzi Send a message via Skype™ to bullzi
Default Re: How to power a car amp with an ATX PSU

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArrizX View Post
I cant wait to try it, now I just need a PSU.

So, I have a 1300wrms amp... How many watt psu should I get for something that. Because its not average..
hmm well your gonna need somethin with a lot of amps, and you might have to get a cap. to run it good if your running subs with it... im not exactly sure how big, but i'd say a good 500-600 watt psu w/ cap. should do it
__________________

__________________
-Desktop- Dual Monitor, Q8200 2.34Ghz, 8GB, 1TB, XFX 6850, 7 Ultimate
-ASUS UL50- SU7300, 4GB, 500GB, G210M, 7 Home Premium 64, XP Pro
-HP NC6400- Core Duo 1.86Ghz, 2.5GB, 64GB SSD, x1300, XP Pro
bullzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 04:29 PM   #13
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: How to power a car amp with an ATX PSU

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArrizX View Post
I cant wait to try it, now I just need a PSU.

So, I have a 1300wrms amp... How many watt psu should I get for something that. Because its not average..
watts= v times amps
at 12 volts that is 108 amps
so with a 30 amp psu you could run it at 1/4 volume, I'd go no higher than 1/8 to be safe.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0