Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2008, 11:44 AM   #1
BSOD
 
goeatspam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 55
Post How old do you have to be to take the A+ test?

I have all the book from when my dad got his certification, and I have been studying it. The only problem is I don't know if Im wasting my time or not because im only 14.
Is there a set age that you need to be to get certified?
Is there any prerequisites?
__________________

goeatspam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 11:45 AM   #2
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: How old do you have to be to take the A+ test?

Yeah, good question. I'm 15, and i'd find it interesting.
__________________

j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 12:06 PM   #3
Omnipotent One
 
Atomic Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 11,161
Send a message via AIM to Atomic Rooster Send a message via Yahoo to Atomic Rooster
Default Re: How old do you have to be to take the A+ test?

There is no age minimum for A+ certification that i know of.
Atomic Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 12:09 PM   #4
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 810
Default Re: How old do you have to be to take the A+ test?

There no minimum age. And there are no prerequisites.
The test does cost money though. So make sure you have it when you take it.
__________________
MSI K9N2GM-FIH motherboard AMD Phenom Agena 9600(2) Crucial Ballistix Tracer 1GB PC2 6400 Thermaltake 430W PSU
160GB Segate Barracuda HDD 19" Wide Screen Hanns-G
Raidmax Tornado ATX Case OS- Gentoo
Toshiba A135 -Vista Pentium Dual Core 1.6 ghz. 1.5gb ram
www.localtechnet.net - Support me, click the ads!!
Austinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 12:13 PM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
Computer Head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,841
Default Re: How old do you have to be to take the A+ test?

To my knowledge there is no age requirement. However, each test costs ~$160 and there are two that need to be taken for the A+. Network+ (if you are interested) is one test that costs a little over $200. (USD)
__________________
A+, Network+
Official "Birthday Man" of CF.

http://www.yourpcforums.org
Computer Head is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 02:57 PM   #6
BSOD
 
goeatspam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 55
Default Re: How old do you have to be to take the A+ test?

yeah, I have the book for network plus, and all of the cd guides also.
its good to know that there is no restrictions, thankyou.
goeatspam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 04:26 PM   #7
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: How old do you have to be to take the A+ test?

I'm taking Network Preparation to get the Net+ certification, but I'm not going to take the A+. Waste of money IMO. People are getting better at computer hardware by the days, but Networking is still something obscure to most people.
JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 05:52 PM   #8
Daemon Poster
 
CrackerJacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 987
Send a message via Skype™ to CrackerJacker
Default Re: How old do you have to be to take the A+ test?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JogaBonito1502 View Post
but Networking is still something obscure to most people.
Agreed. I've talked to a lot of people in businesses and most say that the A+ pretty much means nothing now and days. And some say they don't care about certificates, they mainly test you and see how your real current Knowledge and how you perform in real situations...

But there is no requirements... There was a 16 yr old that had it...
__________________

__________________
USAF KC-135R Crew Chief
i7 2770 @ 3.4ghz, Geforce GTX 560 ti, 8GB DDR3 1600, SSD 120gb, cup holder
I would imagine if you could understand Morse Code, a tap dancer would drive you crazy
CrackerJacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0