Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2008, 02:12 PM   #11
Omnipotent One
 
Atomic Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 11,161
Send a message via AIM to Atomic Rooster Send a message via Yahoo to Atomic Rooster
Default Re: how much

Wow the drama in this thread.

I have only one question. Why didn't you just buy a new fuse for it before putting it up on eBay? It will sell faster and probably get a better price if it were fully functioning.
__________________

Atomic Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2008, 02:50 PM   #12
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: how much

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antdemo View Post
yer yer you don't seem to think well before you speak.
whats that supposed to mean ?
__________________

__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2008, 04:04 PM   #13
Site Team
 
T-MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,058
Default Re: how much

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomic Rooster View Post

I have only one question. Why didn't you just buy a new fuse for it before putting it up on eBay? It will sell faster and probably get a better price if it were fully functioning.
Damn good question.
__________________
1st Puter - Intel Pent D 3.4GHz, 2 GIG Ram, GeForce 9800GT, Windows 7 Home.
2nd Puter - AMD Athlon Dual Core 2.69GHz, 2 GIG Ram, GeForce 7600GT, XP Home.
Lappy - Intel Dual Core 1.73GHz, 2 GIG Ram, Vista Home Premium.
Piss off George Monks = gmcrepair? YES, YES it was.
Yeah he likes to boost his count.
T-MAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2008, 08:32 PM   #14
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: how much

Seriously man,a fuse isnt all that expensive....
__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 05:56 AM   #15
Site Team
 
root's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8,004
Default Re: how much

he didn't put a fuse in it because he bough it from a flea market,

on friday he had a thread asking if it was worth £25 for him to buy it.

and the answer is yes, it's worth £25.

I'd have thought it'd have gone for a lot more. but then I guess it would if it was in working order.

Antdemo what you have failed to realise is that this is not a practise amp, it's a stage level monoblock amp, a little box of power that whoever buys will want to use and rely on.

tin foil fuses are pretty much not something that can be relied on.

tell me why, your intended audience (gigging musicians) are going to want to buy something that you're saying is unrelieable to add to their stage rig?


really, best advice, if you do want to make some money on ebay, then get it sorted.
__________________
I didn’t fight my way to the top of the food chain to be a vegetarian…
Im sick of people saying 'dont waste paper'. If trees wanted to live, they'd all carry guns.
"The inherent vice of capitalism is the unequal sharing of blessings; The inherent vice of socialism is the equal sharing of miseries."
root is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 06:08 AM   #16
xxcobraxx
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England
Posts: 6,224
Default Re: how much

I did'nt bother buying a fuse because I did'nt know the fuse was broke till I got home +_ it means another 40min walk and I aint got the time.

Baascailly I went out bought somne stuff got home, things never worked, I had a route around inside, saw it was the fuse, put foil around to test if it would switch on, it did, then I was happy, slapped it on ebay.

Happy now?

If you lived where I live I doubt you'd get up and walk 40min just to get a fuse and walk back and put it in, like I say, its a 2min job buying one and installing it, I highly doubt it would effect the cost. I've my last amp with know fuse, I'd of got the same with or without the fuse.

__________________
Liveleaker
IAntDemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 08:31 AM   #17
Site Team
 
root's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8,004
Default Re: how much

you're missing the point...

as a musician, I would like something like this. a 150W amp, I'd gladly pay around a hundred quid for second hand, (that's the absolutle top limit including delivery).

A broken amp that I may or may not be able to rely on that has already blown a fuse, where it's uncertain if this is due to electrical fault in the amp or just some kind of power surge, well I might take a chance and spend £20 or £30 on it.

but not bothering to take the time to have a walk into town and spend 70p you may well have lost out on £70.

you were asking a few days ago how to make money on ebay, well the answer is quite simply to ensure that what you are selling is the best that can be sold.

everyone knows that there are a few tricks on ebay.

the sold as seen no returns trick just means broken.

I saw an auction the other day for someone selling something sold as seen, when a seller asked if it powered on, he wrote a reply saying that his time was too valuable to test it.
but like I say, it could be the difference of a lot of money.

assuming that you've not lost out on £70, even if you halve that are you really saying that your time is worth £50 or more an hour?
__________________

__________________
I didn’t fight my way to the top of the food chain to be a vegetarian…
Im sick of people saying 'dont waste paper'. If trees wanted to live, they'd all carry guns.
"The inherent vice of capitalism is the unequal sharing of blessings; The inherent vice of socialism is the equal sharing of miseries."
root is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0