Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2007, 12:14 PM   #1
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default how to join copper...

i need to know some methods of joining copper together. im making a light at school and it has copper bits. i just need to join some tall copper bit to a copper base, pretty random i know and im failing at the minute. does anyone know of any methods and/or have some good links? oh and if you have suggestions for a different base thats cool. its got some random bits which will be copper and the light will go in between some how. i just need to write about the joining methods
__________________

__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 12:28 PM   #2
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Re: how to join copper...

You could probably solder them, they do that for copper piping, so it might work.
__________________

Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 12:29 PM   #3
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: how to join copper...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffaz
You could probably solder them, they do that for copper piping, so it might work.
cheers ill get writing about that now. my teacher suggested one idea which was to create holes in the base and slot the things in and bend them at the bottom. i dunno if that has a name.... im pretty crap with stuff like this
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 01:16 PM   #4
Golden Master
 
mammikoura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,459
Send a message via MSN to mammikoura
Default Re: how to join copper...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffaz
You could probably solder them, they do that for copper piping, so it might work.
yeah I was thinking of the same thing.
__________________
0_o
mammikoura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 01:20 PM   #5
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: how to join copper...

ok i attempted to write about soldering. its just basically a big flame gun thing (dont know the name) instead of a soldering iron and then the solder isnt it?
any other ideas aswell?
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 01:49 PM   #6
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Re: how to join copper...

the big flame gun thing is a blow torch
Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 01:58 PM   #7
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: how to join copper...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffaz
the big flame gun thing is a blow torch
lol cheers. it was at the back of my mind i just couldnt think of it.
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 02:00 PM   #8
88
Fully Optimized
 
88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,775
Send a message via MSN to 88
Default Re: how to join copper...

i don't think you can solder two chunks of copper and expect them to hold together. It works to join two pipes but that's different.
__________________
Killing under the cloak of war is no different than murder

Kein Alkohol ist auch keine Lsung!
88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 02:01 PM   #9
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Re: how to join copper...

Quote:
Originally Posted by dude_se
lol cheers. it was at the back of my mind i just couldnt think of it.
I hate it when that happens, its always something simple aswell
EDIT
Have a look here
http://www.cda.org.uk/Megab2/costeff/pub98/index.htm
Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 02:40 PM   #10
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: how to join copper...

Quote:
Originally Posted by 88
i don't think you can solder two chunks of copper and expect them to hold together. It works to join two pipes but that's different.
so it wont work at all as long as its a method i can write about it and just say that its not a very good one to use..
__________________

__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0