Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2008, 05:19 PM   #1
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default How I got my E8400 machine from my grandfather...

First off, I wasn't looking forward to that at all. In fact, it really suprised me. I am waiting for the 6400+ to arrive and I still need to finish shipping. I hope by tonight, all will be done.

Anyways, let's get on.

First, I was told by bullzi a trade for an AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+, for my AMD system. I was glad to have that CPU for the trade of these items. Now, later that night, I have my mother pulling in the driveway. She has my grandpa's PC, and my Dell Keyboard.
I asked her what was wrong with it. She told me it's now mine. First I was wondering...did he lose his vision? (He has eye problems) Nope. One of his daughter apparently bought a new PC for him, using HIS credit card.

Well, I asked what was the problem and the tech apparantly told her that it was "losing it's memory". I then knew it was bad RAM. Swap it with another kit and done. It's working.

Now, today, I've went and saw his PC. For 514.96, she got him a CompaQ, a wireless mouse, 2yrs warranty. I told him to return that bag of crap (You got to see specs...they're pretty bad compared to what I had built him. (See below)) and he didn't want to. Of course, it's near impossible to return that PC anyways, since the box is not there anymore.

So, in theory, she had it planned out. I didn't test the RAM, and with the problems he's been experiencing, I knew it was bad RAM...but never had a time to look into it, due to that damn school (Yes, it's enraging for what she wanted to do).

What she had planned out is that since the machine didn't work well, she'll take it to the shop (which is Staples BTW), then, whether good or not, she bought a new PC, fooling my grandfather saying that the other one is bad. So, that worked well, but when she was going to leave, my grandfather told her that the PC goes to me, not her. There's when the plan took a dump.


So now, I have a completely working PC, and the 6400+ is coming. My plan, for now, is to use the 6400+ machine, and set aside the E8400...maybe upgrade my mother's PC.


So that's all. The specs? Here:

This PC
C2D E8400
2GB RAM Kingston DDRII-800
250GB HDD
ASUS P5E-VM DO Intel Q35
DVD Burner w/Lightscribe
Antec Minuet case
300W PSU
Vista Home Premium

The CompaQ
Pentium Dual Core E2180
2GB RAM DDRII-800
250GB HDD
DVD Burner w/Lightscribe
Some board with a G31 chipset
CompaQ Stock case
Stock PSU
Vista Home Premium
__________________

lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 05:22 PM   #2
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: How I got my E8400 machine from my grandfather...

Wow....free E8400 eh? That's pretty good. Although I feel sorry for your grandpa. He got screwed.
__________________

JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 05:30 PM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
A True Folder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,789
Default Re: How I got my E8400 machine from my grandfather...

300W psu??

Sure that isn't the problem??

Good score anyway, you'll have to overclock it to see if you can hit 4.0GHz, what is the cpu VID?
__________________
E8600@ 4.25GHz, 1.325V | Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme + Scythe Slipstream 120 | Asus Rampage Extreme| 4GB Corsair 2000MHz 8-8-8-24 @ 1600 6-7-6-24| ASUS 9800GTX| Pioneer 18X SATA DVD-RW | 320GB + 500GB WD SATAII | Antec True Power Trio 650W | Thermaltake Sonata | Vista Ultimate x64 SP2/Win7 Ultimate
A True Folder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 05:31 PM   #4
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: How I got my E8400 machine from my grandfather...

true but then why would an oldish person want that much power
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 05:33 PM   #5
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: How I got my E8400 machine from my grandfather...

Quote:
Originally Posted by muz View Post
true but then why would an oldish person want that much power
I've seen some hard-core grandpa gamers around lol.
JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 05:52 PM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to ߧ∩H♠H䎀
Default Re: How I got my E8400 machine from my grandfather...

That's pretty wild have fun with the new CPU. My pap can't even turn a computer on.
ߧ∩H♠H䎀 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 06:00 PM   #7
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: How I got my E8400 machine from my grandfather...

Yeah well, it is still an unexpected arrival.
Quote:
Originally Posted by A True Folder View Post
300W psu??

Sure that isn't the problem??

Good score anyway, you'll have to overclock it to see if you can hit 4.0GHz, what is the cpu VID?
Sure because I was wrong. It's a 420W. It ran well on 400W, with an 8500GT.
Can't OC to 3.3GHz. RAM is a real piece of garbage. I need some nice OCZ 4GB kit.
The VID is at 1.16 if I remember well.
Quote:
Originally Posted by muz View Post
true but then why would an oldish person want that much power
He wanted something that he won't have outdated in years. I gave him that.
lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 06:11 PM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
A True Folder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,789
Default Re: How I got my E8400 machine from my grandfather...

excellent VID if it is indeed 1.16, should overclock well.

True that Kingston ram isn't the best overclocker but you can leave the memory unlinked and just oc the cpu.

Have you got a batch number for the cpu?
__________________
E8600@ 4.25GHz, 1.325V | Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme + Scythe Slipstream 120 | Asus Rampage Extreme| 4GB Corsair 2000MHz 8-8-8-24 @ 1600 6-7-6-24| ASUS 9800GTX| Pioneer 18X SATA DVD-RW | 320GB + 500GB WD SATAII | Antec True Power Trio 650W | Thermaltake Sonata | Vista Ultimate x64 SP2/Win7 Ultimate
A True Folder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 06:21 PM   #9
Golden Master
 
worshipme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,603
Default Re: How I got my E8400 machine from my grandfather...

Q746a Ftw!
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE @ 4.0GHz + TU120E lapped - MSI 770-CD45 AM3 - 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1333MHz - Sapphire HD 4870 - Samsung Spinpoint 500GB 7200RPM 16MB cache HDD - Tagan TG600-BZ Piperock - (Currently open test bed) - Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit.
worshipme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 06:22 PM   #10
Daemon Poster
 
Fanatic4Christ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,351
Default Re: How I got my E8400 machine from my grandfather...

hahahahahahah she got screwed over i bet she was PISSED when he was like o your not getting my old one rofl lmao i love when this stuff happens to people, they try to screw other people over and get screwed over in the process, and yeah... his new computer blow's
__________________

__________________
Jesus died for me and you.
AMD Athlon II 250 3.6ghz | ASRock N68C-S | Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 3850 PCI-E 512MB | SteelSeries Siberia USB Soundcard | Western Digital 250GB | LOGISYS 575watt PSU | Crucial 2GB ram DDR3
Fanatic4Christ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0