Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today

Old 10-23-2013, 08:46 AM   #11
BSOD

Default Re: How Did You Become Interested In Computers & Tech?

I've been playing games from the age of 5. Then I learnt how to type web addresses. then Facebook. Then got interested in networking and researched. I hated IT at school 9 years ago. And look at me now - choosing it for advanced studies. LOL

Daserg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 06:27 PM   #12
Baseband Member

Send a message via AIM to bessonberry Send a message via Skype™ to bessonberry

it was back in the early 2000s. probably 2001. i started playing a video game (red alert 2), and i joined one of the communities that was spammed in game, they were very techy and into computer things, and that's where it all started with me.

bessonberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 07:19 PM   #13
Wizard of Wires

My mother swore up and down my first words were, " Plug it in ". That was 61 years ago. I grew up in a house that had a TV and radio repair shop in the back. I used to buy junk bags of parts and get schematics out of Popular Electronics magazine. I had projects all over the house. Amazingly they all worked.
Fast forward a few years and Uncle Sam wanted to use my ass as target practice for the cong. I joined the Navy instead. Electronics school in Memphis then fine tuning that with a visit to MIT. 6 years later back to MIT to get my degree while serving out my reserve time. I have never been so drunk in my life.
I have seen crude vacuum tube circuits go to transistors and micro chips. Then on to fitting millions of them on a single chip with a purpose. A microprocessor.
And look at us now. It's been an interesting journey and it isn't over yet.
setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 08:13 PM   #14
Baseband Member