Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2006, 11:13 PM   #31
BSOD
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7,539
Send a message via AIM to Trivium Nate
Default Re: Here's one for the Firefox Fanboys

I remember this
__________________

Trivium Nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 07:50 AM   #32
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: Here's one for the Firefox Fanboys

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathstar
Read this : (click the pic)

I've posted that before on CF lol
__________________

LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 10:35 AM   #33
In Runtime
 
xguynameddavex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 442
Default Re: Here's one for the Firefox Fanboys

Bull, just bull.

Why is it that when i run internet explorer, and then run firefox, in task manager firefox takes up less memory?

Hmm... says somethin about the system requirements.
__________________
AMD 4200 X2, 2 GB Corsair XMS, BFG Gforce 7800GS,ASUS A8N32, 250 GB Maxtor 7200 SATA 3.0, Lite-on DVDR/RW CDR/RW, Logisys Yin Yang Case, RAIDMAX 470 Watt PSU.
XGuy Named DaveX - AIM it up.
xguynameddavex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 11:45 AM   #34
Site Team
 
root's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,999
Default Re: Here's one for the Firefox Fanboys

fire fox does eat memory...


Quote:
ie sucks, way too many popups, and opera is just retarded, always freezes, and is slow as hell
You clearly didn't read that and take notice did you?

Way too many popups hey...

Firstly disable the popup blocker on Firefox, and then enable to popup blocker on internet explorer then tell me which is better...

what's that... you say it wouldn't be a fair test... that's exactly what I thought...
if you get popups in IE. then turn on the popup blocker... it's very simple!

Slow as hell...
I believe the article linked to sources and test results to say otherwise...

(and what's up with firfox taking so damned long to load?)

Quote:
ie sucks... ...opera is just retarded
Yes... because they are fair arguments that actually mean something!!!

Firefox sucks... because i said it does...
/me smacks head against desk one last time before I quietly die...

To be fair though that article did have a lot of stupidity about it as well...

the first fact about I.e being the most com patible (or campatible with the most sites). just because a lot of people use front page or dreamweaver that codes with bad techniques it doesn't make IE any better...

if we were both shooting and I moved my target closer and hit more, it wouldn't make me a better aim would it?

(kind of an abstract analogy I know).

the guy said he wasn't an MS/IE fan boy... but he blatently is...

at the very end he sits there and says he uses a browser that's actually based on IE!
why doesn't he just cut out the middle man and actually use IE!

He says about how great opera is, yet he sticks with his IE based browser...

the fact is that there is never going to be a fair comparisson is there!
__________________
I didn’t fight my way to the top of the food chain to be a vegetarian…
Im sick of people saying 'dont waste paper'. If trees wanted to live, they'd all carry guns.
"The inherent vice of capitalism is the unequal sharing of blessings; The inherent vice of socialism is the equal sharing of miseries."
root is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 12:30 PM   #35
Golden Master
 
MikeReiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,053
Send a message via AIM to MikeReiner Send a message via MSN to MikeReiner Send a message via Yahoo to MikeReiner
Default Re: Here's one for the Firefox Fanboys


Firefox uses the most eh?..

Once you open like 5 tabs on both opera and firefox, their memory usage is hardly different, if at all. IE is much lower on usage, but be fair damn it.. it doesn't have tabs.. you'd have to open like 5 windows.. and I feel as though i've infected my PC with opening IE enough as it is.

Note: all 3 of the browsers were closed, opened, and directed towards www.computerforums.org, and that was the amount of memory they each used to get there.

after rebooting my pentium3 PC and starting firefox.. 7 seconds... if thats too much for someone, even if on a PC that old.. they have no patience and should be smacked.
MikeReiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 12:40 PM   #36
In Runtime
 
xguynameddavex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 442
Default Re: Here's one for the Firefox Fanboys

__________________
AMD 4200 X2, 2 GB Corsair XMS, BFG Gforce 7800GS,ASUS A8N32, 250 GB Maxtor 7200 SATA 3.0, Lite-on DVDR/RW CDR/RW, Logisys Yin Yang Case, RAIDMAX 470 Watt PSU.
XGuy Named DaveX - AIM it up.
xguynameddavex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 12:46 PM   #37
Golden Master
 
MikeReiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,053
Send a message via AIM to MikeReiner Send a message via MSN to MikeReiner Send a message via Yahoo to MikeReiner
Default Re: Here's one for the Firefox Fanboys

Quote:
Originally Posted by xguynameddavex
just incase you didn't know, if you bring a window into focus and press "ctrl+print screen'" and then paste into paint or whatever you use, you'll find that only the window you had in focus will be copied, the rest of your desktop will be left out.
MikeReiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 01:16 PM   #38
In Runtime
 
xguynameddavex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 442
Default Re: Here's one for the Firefox Fanboys

Really?? sweet tip dude thanks, but i wanted to make sure people knew that both pages were displaying the same page and not loading or anything, and that no other programs were loaded that could affect the result.
__________________
AMD 4200 X2, 2 GB Corsair XMS, BFG Gforce 7800GS,ASUS A8N32, 250 GB Maxtor 7200 SATA 3.0, Lite-on DVDR/RW CDR/RW, Logisys Yin Yang Case, RAIDMAX 470 Watt PSU.
XGuy Named DaveX - AIM it up.
xguynameddavex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 01:33 PM   #39
Golden Master
 
MikeReiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,053
Send a message via AIM to MikeReiner Send a message via MSN to MikeReiner Send a message via Yahoo to MikeReiner
Default Re: Here's one for the Firefox Fanboys

Ah, I see. well, glad that tip might be useful in some form.
MikeReiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 03:40 PM   #40
In Runtime
 
h25520062's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 418
Send a message via AIM to h25520062 Send a message via MSN to h25520062 Send a message via Yahoo to h25520062
Default Re: Here's one for the Firefox Fanboys

This fourm makes me mad every time i post somthing someone gives me a bad rep wtf.
__________________

h25520062 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0