Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2004, 04:25 AM   #1
lcd
Solid State Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Default help lcd

Hi guys i am new to this forum!
I want to ask you something and i believe that
if anyone knows it will be one of you!
The problem is that i have a tv-out and i wondered
can i buy an expensive big screen television and use
it as a monitor..?
I know that it might sound stupid but i think that it would
be great if it works!
{I imagine myself lying on my bed and decide to turn on my
pc and work from there...the idea is not to put it on the desk
and work in front of it on 1m.}
thanks!
__________________

lcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2004, 06:27 AM   #2
Site Team
 
root's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8,003
Default Re: help lcd

yes, you can, but you'll find the resolution sucks (and text i almost unreadable, as TV's only use something like 500 lines (actualy I think it might even be less than that)
__________________

root is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2004, 06:55 AM   #3
Site Team
 
David Lindon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 15,233
Default Re: help lcd

It should be OK, you just have to stand well away from it!
__________________
[url=http://www.LNXPS.NET]LNXPS.NET - The XPS Library]
David Lindon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2004, 07:09 AM   #4
lcd
Solid State Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Default

That is the question...
I will probably stand about 3m from it and i suppose if i buy
lcd tv wouldn't it be like a big lcd monitor but bigger....?
ain't the resolution going to be good cause if i won't be able to
read and see good there will be no use...
lcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2004, 09:50 AM   #5
lcd
Solid State Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Default

this is the tv that i chose :
http://www.sonystyle.com/is-bin/INTE...7FS120&Dept=tv


it has a s-video detector....what do you think?
lcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2004, 07:22 PM   #6
Guru
 
Lord Kalthorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Britain
Posts: 13,293
Send a message via MSN to Lord Kalthorn
Default

I'm sure its brilliant as a TV; but as root said the Resolution is not good at all. I think it is probably less and you probably won't be able to see font under 30 from 3m away.
__________________
A Knight is sworn to Honour. His heart knows only Virtue. His blade defends the helpless. His might upholds the Weak. His word speaks only truth. His wrath undoes the Wicked.
Lord Kalthorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2004, 08:10 AM   #7
lcd
Solid State Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Default

How much the resolution should be...?
lcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2004, 03:10 PM   #8
Guru
 
Lord Kalthorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Britain
Posts: 13,293
Send a message via MSN to Lord Kalthorn
Default

Best to have 1024 by 800; but on a TV that big I'd expect 1500 by 1200 - thats about what a monitor of the size would have.
__________________
A Knight is sworn to Honour. His heart knows only Virtue. His blade defends the helpless. His might upholds the Weak. His word speaks only truth. His wrath undoes the Wicked.
Lord Kalthorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2004, 03:03 PM   #9
lcd
Solid State Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Default

thanks man!!!
lcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 05:35 AM   #10
lcd
Solid State Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Default

HI!It's me again!
Do you know a program like TVTool that supports not only nvidia
chipsets cause mine is ATI Radeon...
__________________

lcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0