Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2008, 09:21 AM   #1
Baseband Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 62
Exclamation Help!!!!!

I really need to know this bit of information: Can the "Acer - Aspire Desktop with AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor 6000+" (Model: AM5100-U5302A | SKU: 8918914), use an ATI Radeon X1600 Pro / 512MB GDDR2 / AGP 8x / DVI / VGA / TV Out / Video Card? *whew*. Glad that's over. Please tell me IMMEDIATELY. If the answer to my question is no, is there a way I could change whatever I need to change to make it work?

Got to the following websites to see more info:

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...?EdpNo=1964110

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1214004486919
__________________

JoeBro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 10:10 AM   #2
Site Team
 
celegorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,713
Send a message via AIM to celegorm
Default Re: Help!!!!!

No. You need a PCI Express video card. That computer does not support AGP.
__________________

__________________
"as a fanboy i refuse to admit it and will pull countless things out of my butt to disprove it"

Team Thelegorm! Total Kills: 21 (i iz in uor profile, editsing your sigz)
celegorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 11:12 AM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
spywarebanisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,135
Default Re: Help!!!!!

why get an agp card? arent they more expensive? get a 8600gt. they are probably the most cost effective cards out there. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...8600gt&x=0&y=0

if you do deicde, make sure you have a strong enough power supply. try to get a 8600gt with no power connector as those require less power. XFX
__________________
amd athlon x2 4800+ 2.5ghz / 4gb ddr2 800mhz mushkin/ ZOTAC 8600gt 256mb / 320gb HDD 7200RPM / 250 watt psu
spywarebanisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 12:54 PM   #4
Baseband Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 62
Default Re: Help!!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by celegorm View Post
No. You need a PCI Express video card. That computer does not support AGP.
Aren't PCI video cards much slower though? And is an ATI Radeon X1250 a PCI?
JoeBro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 01:39 PM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
ssc456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,279
Send a message via MSN to ssc456
Default Re: Help!!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeBro View Post
Aren't PCI video cards much slower though? And is an ATI Radeon X1250 a PCI?
ok PCI is slower PCIeX16 is alot faster

ALOT
__________________
He who has never failed has never attempted anything worth succeeding at.

Dont Eat Animals, Its Not Good For Them And They Dont Like It!
ssc456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 01:43 PM   #6
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: Help!!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssc456 View Post
ok PCI is slower PCIeX16 is alot faster

ALOT
yes, about 4 times faster. Best cards are pci-x16
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0